Tír Eoghain v An Mhí (AI Quarter Final '07)

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, July 19, 2007, 02:21:28 PM

tintin25

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2007, 12:45:18 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 06, 2007, 12:38:14 PM
What is the score with Justin McMahon?  Should he be on the team, and if so where? 

I'd say he should definitely be given a full chance nrico, but that's the key question: where? I might be inclined to try him on the half-forward line before anywhere else at this stage -- he can take defenders on, and he can take his points (from distance).

If Justin McMahon was deemed good enough he'd have been starting. He obviousley isn't good enough to make the 1st 15....yet. As a neutral I can't believe the fickleness of some of the Tyrone supporters. Ya's lost a match....big deal. Meath were just the better team on the day.

irunthev

On the subject of trainer / fitness coach for Tyrone. The name Martin Kennedy could be worth making a note of.

Shadylimp

Just seen this message on hoganstand. glad to see there are some sensible people out there.                                          '' i wonder how many of the people who are calling for harte to go were actually at the match? or at any of the lague matches, or remember the lean days such as 96 against meath? alright some decisions were confusing regarding team selection but considering mickey harte sees theses lads three time a week and not just on RTE every few weeks he's in the best position to judge. some of the criticism is shocking, its that badly thought through. calling for club players who have never made it through county trials in the aftermath of an all ireland 1/4 final shows just why we have become possibly the most hated set of supporters outside of dublin. well done. ''     milo , omagh tyrone , 06/08/2007 at 13:44
'Oh honey I didn't get drunk. I just went into a strange fantasy world'

Maximus Marillius

Is Shadylimp Mickey harte in disguise...or worst still the Real Slim Shady? :o ???

Lets not be too downhearted here Tyrone folks.

If you take Dooher and Cavo out of that team the average age would be around 25-26 = prime. Don't forget Armagh and Kerry did just fine with a much older squad this past few years.

Plus points from 2007 - or 15 reasons to be cheerful

1. Mulgrew - class act and finally justifying some of the hype.
2. McCaul - good debut, will be big player in 2-3 years
3. Another USFC title
4. Got to within 3 points of an AI SF having never manged to play McGuigan, Dooher and SON together all year (or Dooher and SON for 70min)
5. Great day out beating Donegal
6. MH finally seems to have learned that Cormac McGinley is NOT the answer at FB - gives us a McKenna and NFL to either stick with Joey or find someone new.
7. Written off for 2008 - thanks everyone, this will be useful.
8. No embarrassing beatings by Kerry / Dublin etc
9. Blooding / Devlopment of other new lads - CC, Justy, Gormley, Tommy etc
10. Carlin starting to look the part
11. MH staying on for final year
12. Areas for devleopment identifed and will be addressed
13. Beating Dubs under floodlights was great craic
14. Stayed up in Div 1 despite being poor in the league
15. If we got so far playing badly with key injuries........................................

Roll on 2008. If SON, Dooher and McGuigan are in the fold at 100% we will be hard to beat

Without doubt Tyrone will be back, but there will need to be a  rethink again about tactics. Mickey sort of alluded to it himself on that Des Cahill programme. Teams are becoming much more direct now, and moving the ball quicker with the feet, apart from the likes of Donegal and Sligo. That means that the ball is getting into the danger area a lot quicker, and teams with good full forward lines will start causing damage again. Tyrone's swarm defence will have to happen even further up the pitch now if it is to be successful, because when teams kick 40 yard foot passes, high or low, an extra line of people to run through becomes redundant.

I have no doubt that Harte will come up with something though.

neutral

Listen Muff for brains, I believe extended loyalty has been shown to these players on certain days and undoubtedly they are number 1 in their positions within Tyrone,  but on Saturday I believe Justin Mc Mahon would have been better in the half back line in the 2nd half than Phillp or Davy, thats not to say I dont respect them, or appreciate what they have done for Tyrone, but if you believe you must keep men on when they are off colour then you'll never make a manager. Would any of these men rather be taken off early and still be preparing for a semi final this morning.  Of course they would.  To hear you you would think its about egos.  Mickey has to prove hes capable of leaving out the big names when off form not just the smaller guys, because he is ruthless on them.  I want to see a reversion to the panel of 30 because Mickey himself proved that it wasnt needed - not for football reasons but when the shit hits the fan he aint going to use them anyway.    Also to criticse men who havent yet had the chance, shows you are afraid of changing the status quo.  What have you to lose?

Quote from: tyroneman on August 06, 2007, 02:20:33 PM
2. McCaul - good debut, will be big player in 2-3 years

This is a fundamental flaw in the Tyrone mindset. McCaul made a couple of good runs forward and caught the eye in doing so. But at the funadamental job of defending, which he's supposed to be there for, he was woeful. surely tyrone have enough ball playing "defenders" who can neither tackle nor mark in jordan, harte, etc?

what tyrone need to unearth are defenders interested in defending instead of moving fireman gormley from piller to post in every single game cos noone else can mark a decent forward.

neutral

You do care Uladh you really do!  What you are saying is we need more Justine Mc nultys and ciaran Mc keevers' in our team.  Ill tell Mcikey Harte your concerns.

neutral

and by teh way Ornageman, ye were crying looking Geraghty back 3 weeks ago.  Are ye glad ye got your way? FFS

Wee Roddy

Well said Uladh. It is defenders we need. D McCaul is an excellent defender and will prove to be one in years to come. Ricey has lost a yard to be a top class corner back and Davy and Philly do not tackle, they crowd. Justin McMahon is not the answer as he can not tackle either. Joe McMahon is a good defender but do you see Darren Fay or Graham Canty soloing up to the 45 and kicking it into the goalkeepers hands, and low and behold it end up being put down the field to the position he vacated, ending in a goal. Perhaps it is time to look at out and out who are big. McCarron, Colm McGurk, perhaps young Swift from Killyclogher. All specialist man markers. We have a perception that if someone can carry a ball they must run with it. I have no doubt that Stehen Brae and Shane O'Rourke are brillant ball carriers but they can score. It is beyond the realms of possibility that Sean Cavanagh could be played somewhere in the full forward line were he would be an areial option as well as a scoring forward.
Anyway i was speaking to Conro Gormley yesterday and he is none to happy aboput being switched from pillar to post either.

neutral

Conor should have been in line for an all star this year only he was covering the whole lot,  hes a modern day Moynihan. 

Why blame Geraghty ? Wherev do you thik it all went wrong on Saturday ?

Quote from: orangeman on August 06, 2007, 04:59:11 PM
Why blame Geraghty ? Wherev do you thik it all went wrong on Saturday ?

Be quicker to say where it went right.

Wasn't it our year, wasn't to be.

I won't fault any of the players as they promised us to the promised land in 2003 and took us back in 2005. Maybe 2008 ;)