Is Kerry Football over-rated?

Started by From the Bunker, July 03, 2007, 09:47:30 PM

Kerry football cannot be over-rated as by and large its the best. 34 AI titles and 70+ provincial titles at senior level. Brilliant club structures. OK - no underage AI titles in 10 years (oh to have such a "famine"!) but they always bring through 3 or 4 guys every year cos they never have a really bad underage team. Standard and depth of club football sees to that. They won the AI last year and still brought through a few lads to start the last day. KK are the same in hurling.

Whoever beats Kerry will almost certainly win it out this year.

Over-rated let the facts decide, of course if you take out all the "easy" All Ireland's when all the other great provincial champions were just brushed aside we were probably very overated. But we can only play whats put in front of us. We have lost 19 Senior AI finals as well by the way.

All-Ireland titles: 68

Senior: 34 - 1903, '04, '09, '13, '14, '24, '26, '29-32, '37, '39-41, '46, '53, '55, '59, '62, '69, '70, '75, '78-81, '84-86, '97, '00, '04, '06

Under 21: Nine - 1964, '73, '75-77, '90, '95, '96, '98

Minor: 11 - 1931-33, '46, '50, '62, '63, '75, '80, '88, '94

Junior: 14 - 1913, '15, '24, '28, '30, '41, '49, '54, '63, '67, '83, '91, 94, 2006

NFL titles: 18 - 1928-31, '59, '61, '63, '69, '71-74, '77, '82, '84, '97, 2004, 2006

Munster titles: 171

Senior: 72 - 1892, 1903-05, '08-10, '12-15, '19, '23-27, '29-34, '36-42, '44, '46-48, '50, '51, '53-55, '58-65, '68-70, '72, '75-82, '84-86, '91, '96-98, 2000, '01, '03, '04, '05, '07

Under 21: 24 - 1962, '64, '66-68, '72, '73, '75-78, '83, '87, '88, '90-93, '95-99, 2002

Minor: 39 - 1931-33, '36-38, '40, '41, '45-51, '54, '57, '58, '62, '63, '65, '70, '75, '78-80, '82, '88-90, '94, '96-98, 2001, 2002, '03, '04, '06

Junior: 37 - 1913-15, '24, '26-28, '30, '31, '34, '36, '38, 41, '46, '47, '49, '54, '56, '58-61, '63, '65, '67-69, '83, '85, '91, '94, '95, '97, '00, 2002, '03, '06

....and the wan Hurling title from 1891 which is wan more than Ulster has ever won ;)
(Low blow KM but feck it you are supposed to be an arrogant animal so feck them all)

Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 03, 2007, 10:50:38 PM
Underage success doesnt necessarily mean success in the future, look at Laois or Down. Sometimes I think underage success can have a negative affect, young players seem to take success for granted and expect it at senior level, when that doesnt happen they seem to lose interest.
Are Kerry over-rated? Definitely not, their record speaks for itself. We have become so used to Kerry winning that we tend to blame the other teams. Take Mayo last year, they took a lot of criticism. The simple fact is Kerry were so much better and they will be again this year. I think they are a joy to watch. If Sam cant come to the Kingdom of Mourne then I prefer to see him in the Kingdom of Kerry.

well said 5ive times, thats exactly how i feel about it. kerry in full flow are a joy to watch. in this day and age with all the hype (mainly with the premiership where they can hype up blackburn v fulham) brazil at soccer, kerry at football and new zealand at rugby are worth every penny. pure pleasure

QuoteIts a Mayoman starting it this time magickingdom. I think the Northern disease is spreading !

oh no!!

Kerry WERE A great side down the years - but now they're just a good side like a lot of others - Cork played them off the field on Sunday and got no reward - so lets not talk a pile of rubbish -

QuoteKerry WERE A great side down the years

We haven't gone away you know.

Quote- but now they're just a good side like a lot of others - Cork played them off the field on Sunday and got no reward -

Can you list some of those others? This should be interesting.

A lot of other good sides have not played in 5 All Ireland finals since 2000 (6 if you include the replay) including the last 3 in a row, winning 6 quarter finals in a row, winning 3 of them AI finals and a few National Leagues and doubles thrown in for good measure. If thats not great enough for you we will just have to take this winning craic more seriously and start racking up a few two and three in a rows again. You have been warned  8)

Cork did not play us off the field, they did dominate us for periods of the game like what happens every team in every game, but we were 6 points up then took the foot off and let Cork back into it and then pushed on for a win by two points. Most people even from Cork said kerry were deserving winners, so away and shite with you.

Frank Casey

For thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory. Even the bible recognises kerry's greatness.
KERRY 3:7

Fishead_Sam

Kerry are far from overrated, they are the only team that have got to more AI Finals than Mayo  ;) in the last 11 years, they also have played in 3 All-Irelands in a row, last year thru the backdoor, they have won 2 All-Irelands, 2 Leagues & 2 Munster titles in 3 years, Kerry over-rated, unfortunatly not.

What they have acomplished is simply stunning and could never be over-rated. they are the best footballing county by a long way.

What a record. 34 AI titles and 4 of them coming in the past 10 years.  The really impressive thing about Kerry, and the Kilkenny's of this world is the longevity of their success and the hunger to win more. Even more impressive is the way Kerry can take defeats in their stride (Meath 2001, Armagh 2002, Tyrone 2003/05) and come back to win again and again.  You never hear the words 'one last push' with Kerry teams - they expect to be competing at the top year in year out, not just for 2/3 years.

Quote from: Frank Casey on July 04, 2007, 06:57:08 PM
For thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory. Even the bible recognises kerry's greatness.

excellent first post frank, welcome to the board...

Quote from: stew on July 04, 2007, 08:53:09 PM
What they have acomplished is simply stunning and could never be over-rated. they are the best footballing county by a long way.

super 465 post stew

Quote from: Armamike on July 04, 2007, 09:09:50 PM
What a record. 34 AI titles and 4 of them coming in the past 10 years.  The really impressive thing about Kerry, and the Kilkenny's of this world is the longevity of their success and the hunger to win more. Even more impressive is the way Kerry can take defeats in their stride (Meath 2001, Armagh 2002, Tyrone 2003/05) and come back to win again and again.  You never hear the words 'one last push' with Kerry teams - they expect to be competing at the top year in year out, not just for 2/3 years.

and what about the defeats? anyone remember kerrys defeat to meath (and the ole chants of the meath supporters at the end)? it was as bad as the defeats that kerry inflicted on mayo (note no ole chanting) yet kerry came back from it. kerry were taken apart that day but look at the respective paths the two counties have gone since. tell me is kerry football over-rated? it deserves all the plaudits it gets and then some...

I am no kerry lover (although I have a few kerry friends - great folks)
but to me they have the most talented county full of players which is reflected in their county panel

tactics are required by other counties to beat Kerrys pure natural football.
Jack OConnor countered the tactics with plans of his own and by instilling a harder brand of football in Kerry county side

Pat OShea is a cute wee hoor and wont be want lacking in attempting tactics

Over rated  - most def not

Quote from: hardstation on July 04, 2007, 10:10:48 PM
Why is this being discussed?

is this a trick question

will I win a prize for answering? ;)

Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 04, 2007, 12:21:08 AM
Over-rated let the facts decide, of course if you take out all the "easy" All Ireland's when all the other great provincial champions were just brushed aside we were probably very overated. But we can only play whats put in front of us. We have lost 19 Senior AI finals as well by the way.

All-Ireland titles: 68

Senior: 34 - 1903, '04, '09, '13, '14, '24, '26, '29-32, '37, '39-41, '46, '53, '55, '59, '62, '69, '70, '75, '78-81, '84-86, '97, '00, '04, '06

Under 21: Nine - 1964, '73, '75-77, '90, '95, '96, '98

Minor: 11 - 1931-33, '46, '50, '62, '63, '75, '80, '88, '94

Junior: 14 - 1913, '15, '24, '28, '30, '41, '49, '54, '63, '67, '83, '91, 94, 2006

NFL titles: 18 - 1928-31, '59, '61, '63, '69, '71-74, '77, '82, '84, '97, 2004, 2006

Munster titles: 171

Senior: 72 - 1892, 1903-05, '08-10, '12-15, '19, '23-27, '29-34, '36-42, '44, '46-48, '50, '51, '53-55, '58-65, '68-70, '72, '75-82, '84-86, '91, '96-98, 2000, '01, '03, '04, '05, '07

Under 21: 24 - 1962, '64, '66-68, '72, '73, '75-78, '83, '87, '88, '90-93, '95-99, 2002

Minor: 39 - 1931-33, '36-38, '40, '41, '45-51, '54, '57, '58, '62, '63, '65, '70, '75, '78-80, '82, '88-90, '94, '96-98, 2001, 2002, '03, '04, '06

Junior: 37 - 1913-15, '24, '26-28, '30, '31, '34, '36, '38, 41, '46, '47, '49, '54, '56, '58-61, '63, '65, '67-69, '83, '85, '91, '94, '95, '97, '00, 2002, '03, '06

....and the wan Hurling title from 1891 which is wan more than Ulster has ever won ;)
(Low blow KM but feck it you are supposed to be an arrogant animal so feck them all)

I agree that the above stats Senior AI wise are (Really) impressive. But Munster Hurling is not strong for nothing. Really Kerry have only one real challenge in Munster every year, Cork. This is no fault of their own but it puts them in the Celtic/Rangers model when counting titles within the provence. For a proud county to go so long without under 21, minor and Club All-Irelands says something about the other emerging counties and possibly the strenght of underage in Cork. Also only one u-21 Munster title in the last 8 years. Counting Junior titles always borders on the joke side as different counties have different rules for player qualification and some counties like Galway don't even bother with it! Still at Senior you cannot argue the record speaks for itself! And Senior will always be the BENCHMARK!

twotwocharlie: Did you mean to say "f**k Kerry"

It carries a much greater depth of meaning when you type it correctly. I blame the education system.