The UK Labour Party

Started by lurganblue, November 04, 2025, 11:59:47 AM

I see ToryLite and Chancellor Rachel Reeves are beginning the process of preparing everyone for bad news, with her pre budget speech. It looks like tax rises are on the cards.  Yet another manifesto promise about to be broken.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c74jvm17d79o

*I didnt see another specific thread on these jokers, apologies if I missed it.

Trying to fix 14 years of Tory rule will have many more speed wobbles.. If they're given time that is.

playwiththewind1st

I am starting to think that it doesn't really matter who is in power any more.
Somehow or another, i had expected things to change a bit in July 2024, after everything we had to put up with from 2010-2024, but Starmer & Reeves are both completely incompetent & neither of them are up to the job.
The Western political & economic model is clearly not working any longer & social cohesion has completely disappeared, under the influence of neoliberalism.
I am just wondering....how are the UK state finances still a completely busted flush, after everything that wasn't nailed down being privatised since 1979; the North Sea oil revenue bonanza; the era of austerity & then all the benefits & savings Brexit was to generate?

Saffrongael

Quote from: JoG2 on November 04, 2025, 12:01:37 PMTrying to fix 14 years of Tory rule will have many more speed wobbles.. If they're given time that is.

They don't have the support of the left of the party who want endless spending, look how they got in when trying to tackle the welfare bill (and it was only footering round the edges).
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

The economy is in bad shape. There is too much debt.

Debt is spiralling, public spending and people's dependence on it is forever rising.
There is only one option, balance the books.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/282647/government-debt-uk/

Saffrongael

Quote from: RedHand88 on November 04, 2025, 01:24:17 PMDebt is spiralling, public spending and people's dependence on it is forever rising.
There is only one option, balance the books.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/282647/government-debt-uk/

But their (Reeves and Starmer) own party won't allow them to.
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Saffrongael on November 04, 2025, 12:48:53 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 04, 2025, 12:01:37 PMTrying to fix 14 years of Tory rule will have many more speed wobbles.. If they're given time that is.

They don't have the support of the left of the party who want endless spending, look how they got in when trying to tackle the welfare bill (and it was only footering round the edges).

Is it just me but should there not something be done about the huge profits some companies are making in the UK, maybe increase the tax levels on profit at a certain % of revenue.

The reason for inflation the last few years was not over demand by the consumer it was greed by the energy companies and supermarkets taking huge profits.

BigGreenField

The uk govt missed the opportunity of a lifetime to invest when rates were zero, Osborne went down the austerity route and this was a big driver of brexit.

They need to invest (which is different than spending) now but it'll cost a lot more , taxes need to go up particularly on property!to pay for it, the alternative is a 3rd world economy in 25 years time with a London tax haven for the rich.

We are relatively lightly taxed on an overall basis, we won't like it but taxes need to go up in some form (I'd also tax the crap out of oversized suv's)

I'd also say some elements of "welfare" need to go up - the weakest need looked after and everyone should feel they have a stake in government spending.

Quote from: BigGreenField on November 04, 2025, 01:36:58 PMThe uk govt missed the opportunity of a lifetime to invest when rates were zero, Osborne went down the austerity route and this was a big driver of brexit.

They need to invest (which is different than spending) now but it'll cost a lot more , taxes need to go up particularly on property!to pay for it, the alternative is a 3rd world economy in 25 years time with a London tax haven for the rich.

We are relatively lightly taxed on an overall basis, we won't like it but taxes need to go up in some form (I'd also tax the crap out of oversized suv's)

I'd also say some elements of "welfare" need to go up - the weakest need looked after and everyone should feel they have a stake in government spending.
Fully agree on welfare rates but the really should only go up if the number of people on it comes down and it's only going one way at the minute. PIP claims are through the roof, there are 50,000 DLA cars on the roads in the north etc. etc. and I don't see how you reverse that trend.

Quote from: johnnycool on November 04, 2025, 01:36:43 PM

Is it just me but should there not something be done about the huge profits some companies are making in the UK, maybe increase the tax levels on profit at a certain % of revenue.

The reason for inflation the last few years was not over demand by the consumer it was greed by the energy companies and supermarkets taking huge profits.

The UK has a very progressive tax system. What people don't understand is that if you tax these companies to the hilt they will just leave.

playwiththewind1st

There was recently a court case whereby a certain Derek Lammey was up on a charge, relating to the UVF show of strength at Pitt Park. It was said in court that he hadn't had a job in his life & had been on benefits the whole time. So you can be a full-time UVF hood & the state basically pays you to do so?
Another recent story was the NI woman with a DLA BMW. How the feck do you get a top end luxury car whilst on benefits?
The problem with the welfare state is that it's not a safety net; it's a lifestyle choice for many & there's no incentive to work.
Because there are so many people not in work, the tax base is shrinking & that's part of the reason for the mess. However, the Labour government folded at the first sign of trouble when it proposed welfare reforms, so it looks like working people & pensioners will have to put up with increased taxes, to fund those who won't work.

Saffrongael

We probably need to have a discussion what qualifies you as "disabled" and if you need twice as much money as someone seeking work (on Universal Credit).

Health related welfare spending will be £100b a year by 2030 - 10 million working age people "disabled" in the UK.

Higher taxes will leave those on lower wages with a decision to make, will I continue to work or "go on the sick" and be as well or better off.

Quote from: playwiththewind1st on November 04, 2025, 02:05:18 PMThere was recently a court case whereby a certain Derek Lammey was up on a charge, relating to the UVF show of strength at Pitt Park. It was said in court that he hadn't had a job in his life & had been on benefits the whole time. So you can be a full-time UVF hood & the state basically pays you to do so?
Another recent story was the NI woman with a DLA BMW. How the feck do you get a top end luxury car whilst on benefits?
The problem with the welfare state is that it's not a safety net; it's a lifestyle choice for many & there's no incentive to work.
Because there are so many people not in work, the tax base is shrinking & that's part of the reason for the mess. However, the Labour government folded at the first sign of trouble when it proposed welfare reforms, so it looks like working people & pensioners will have to put up with increased taxes, to fund those who won't work.

Was this yer one on the BBC website earlier?
I was nearly going to put it in the WTF thread.

Reading the initial story it was how she cried the day she picked up her car as she hadnt driven in 12 years - bit of a feel good story here I thought...

She decided to pay extra for a luxury BMW  :-X  :-X

If she could afford to pay extra, it is strange why she hadnt driven for 12 years.

As she says, 'We should all have a choice, just because Im disabled - why can I not have a choice and drive what I want'.

Wouldnt it be great if we could all just drive what we wanted? Unfortunately some of us have to work to pay for the entire cost of our cars or borrow to be able to afford them.

This is the reason the UK is absolutely fucked long term.

Sense of entitlement is off the charts

Quote from: RedHand88 on November 04, 2025, 02:04:21 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 04, 2025, 01:36:43 PM

The UK has a very progressive tax system. What people don't understand is that if you tax these companies to the hilt they will just leave.

Tesco would leave?

BP, Centrica and National Grid PLC, EDF who are all foreign owned would leave the UK?

I don't buy that shite.