Controversy over ref decision

Started by Macraz, September 30, 2025, 10:18:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Macraz

Recent hurling match - time was almost up and free was awarded to team 1 point down.
Free was taken and hit post but ref blew whistle in error thinking ball had gone dead.
Referee gave a retake due to his error and team equalised to bring game to extra time and subsequently won.
Supporters and mentors on team who subsequently lost were calling for the ball to be thrown in on the 21.
Is there a specific rule in the GAA rule book on this or what was the correct course of action?

johnnycool

Quote from: Macraz on September 30, 2025, 10:18:00 AMRecent hurling match - time was almost up and free was awarded to team 1 point down.
Free was taken and hit post but ref blew whistle in error thinking ball had gone dead.
Referee gave a retake due to his error and team equalised to bring game to extra time and subsequently won.
Supporters and mentors on team who subsequently lost were calling for the ball to be thrown in on the 21.
Is there a specific rule in the GAA rule book on this or what was the correct course of action?

I don't think there's any such thing in the rules about the ball going "dead" and the referee can blow it up anytime they think is appropriate considering injury time etc.

He was well within his rights to allow the original free and even when it hit the post and the referee blew the whistle the game was over.

He shouldn't have allowed the retake.

Plain of the Herbs

Because the referee was observing that rule that where there is a margin of one point with time up, it is the duty of the referee to make a draw of it.

I've never looked in the rulebook, but it must be there - it happens all the time. Always has.

Consistency in refereeing is dreaming. You can't get Consistency between the 55th and 60th minutes of a match.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on October 01, 2025, 06:17:53 PMBecause the referee was observing that rule that where there is a margin of one point with time up, it is the duty of the referee to make a draw of it.

I've never looked in the rulebook, but it must be there - it happens all the time. Always has.

Consistency in refereeing is dreaming. You can't get Consistency between the 55th and 60th minutes of a match.

Try it and get back to me lol
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Zooming around

Quote from: Macraz on September 30, 2025, 10:18:00 AMRecent hurling match - time was almost up and free was awarded to team 1 point down.
Free was taken and hit post but ref blew whistle in error thinking ball had gone dead.
Referee gave a retake due to his error and team equalised to bring game to extra time and subsequently won.
Supporters and mentors on team who subsequently lost were calling for the ball to be thrown in on the 21.
Is there a specific rule in the GAA rule book on this or what was the correct course of action?

The correct decision here would have been a hop ball on the 21.
The ref can't give a retake of the free just because he made a mistake.

johnnycool

Quote from: Zooming around on October 07, 2025, 09:10:10 AM
Quote from: Macraz on September 30, 2025, 10:18:00 AMRecent hurling match - time was almost up and free was awarded to team 1 point down.
Free was taken and hit post but ref blew whistle in error thinking ball had gone dead.
Referee gave a retake due to his error and team equalised to bring game to extra time and subsequently won.
Supporters and mentors on team who subsequently lost were calling for the ball to be thrown in on the 21.
Is there a specific rule in the GAA rule book on this or what was the correct course of action?

The correct decision here would have been a hop ball on the 21.
The ref can't give a retake of the free just because he made a mistake.

He's well within his rights to blow the whistle when he likes. Even with the ball hitting the post and he blew the whistle the game was over, end of.

Not sure why he felt the need to allow the free to be retaken, let along a throw ball on the 20 metre line.

Zooming around

Quote from: johnnycool on October 07, 2025, 01:30:23 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on October 07, 2025, 09:10:10 AM
Quote from: Macraz on September 30, 2025, 10:18:00 AMRecent hurling match - time was almost up and free was awarded to team 1 point down.
Free was taken and hit post but ref blew whistle in error thinking ball had gone dead.
Referee gave a retake due to his error and team equalised to bring game to extra time and subsequently won.
Supporters and mentors on team who subsequently lost were calling for the ball to be thrown in on the 21.
Is there a specific rule in the GAA rule book on this or what was the correct course of action?

The correct decision here would have been a hop ball on the 21.
The ref can't give a retake of the free just because he made a mistake.

He's well within his rights to blow the whistle when he likes. Even with the ball hitting the post and he blew the whistle the game was over, end of.

Not sure why he felt the need to allow the free to be retaken, let along a throw ball on the 20 metre line.


My reading of it is that he blew the whistle because he taught the ball had gone dead. Not sure it was for full time. For full time, you're right, he can blow it whenever he likes but I don't think that's the case here.