Started by Baling Twine, July 07, 2025, 03:19:19 PM

Snapchap

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on October 02, 2025, 07:42:30 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on October 02, 2025, 02:07:12 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 02, 2025, 01:43:53 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on October 02, 2025, 01:10:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 02, 2025, 12:35:22 PM
Quote from: Baile BrigĂ­n 2 on October 02, 2025, 12:02:31 PMThere is nitpicking and then there is this

Nonsense. If one of them was to say "Northern Ireland" rather than "the north of Ireland" or "the six counties" half the lads on this board would be freaking out. Language matters.

To qoute yourself: "Nonsense".

A quick google throws up examples of each of the three candidates saying "Northern Ireland" in just the past week. Care to quote some of the posts from "half the lads on this board" who have been no doubt been "freaking out" about it?

Do you want be to get you the OED definition of hyperbole? Or would you object because it has the word "English " in the title.

Grow up you absolute bore.

Jeez. A page back, you were suggesting an article was too long for someone other than yourself to read, and now you're offering to define the phrases you use for me. Aren't we blessed to have someone with such breathtaking arrogance intelligence among us?

Oh don't worry, I do understand hyperbole. So while I undertand the hyperbole of "half the lads" and "freaking out", the central point you were making was that there would be numerous objections to the terms the candidates would use to refer to the north. It's quite clear there hasn't been any.

Your second, and wider point was that her use of language ("the Ukraine") is a matter of significance, yet not only has it not been an election issue, but in reality, outside of this board, who has even noticed?

It is a matter of significance and if she is elected you can be sure it will become an issue if she starts prattling about 'the Ukraine' on the international stage.

A presidential candidate, who uses a term for a European country that is offensive to the people of that country. A country that also happens to be in an existential war against the brutal imperial power next door. She needs to cop on.

Total ignoramus.

What about a potential president (the current front runners in fact, who tells a journalist asking difficult questions to "f**k off and leave me alone"? Would that candidate be suitable for the office? Or would she also be too much of "a total ignoramus"?

Quote from: Snapchap on October 02, 2025, 08:05:21 PMWhat about a potential president (the current front runners in fact, who tells a journalist asking difficult questions to "f**k off and leave me alone"? Would that candidate be suitable for the office? Or would she also be too much of "a total ignoramus"?

Depends on when she was asked to be honest. If it was at a press conference then it wouldn't be okay but if the journalist ambushed her out of work or at her home she's more than entitled to tell them to f**k off.

Quote from: trileacman on October 02, 2025, 08:12:27 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on October 02, 2025, 08:05:21 PMWhat about a potential president (the current front runners in fact, who tells a journalist asking difficult questions to "f**k off and leave me alone"? Would that candidate be suitable for the office? Or would she also be too much of "a total ignoramus"?

Depends on when she was asked to be honest. If it was at a press conference then it wouldn't be okay but if the journalist ambushed her out of work or at her home she's more than entitled to tell them to f**k off.
Yeah no fan of Humphries but would agree with that.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 02, 2025, 08:15:58 PM

Yeah no fan of Humphries but would agree with that.

ambushed, what if they called to her constituency office and knocked on the door and she told them to f**k off!!!

DaleCooper

More journalists should be told the same

Still cant say that, she not supposed to be Conor McGregor you know.

Snapchap

She was asked a legitimate question about her failure to seek planning permission by two journalists from The Ditch who called at her constituency office. Absolutely nothing wrong with that. Was her response ("f**k off and leave me alone") a presidential one? Or the response of what 'Banks of the Bann' might call an "ignoramus"?

Even though I take serious issue with some of Michael D's virtual pro-Russian lefty values, I'd give him a 10/10 in his role as president, he's cultured, has personality, intelligence, character and a vibrant articulation. By comparison this trio of candidates, from a presidential perspective, are placed somewhere between barnacles and limpets.

Quote from: Main Street on October 03, 2025, 12:01:57 AMEven though I take serious issue with some of Michael D's virtual pro-Russian lefty values, I'd give him a 10/10 in his role as president, he's cultured, has personality, intelligence, character and a vibrant articulation. By comparison this trio of candidates, from a presidential perspective, are placed somewhere between barnacles and limpets.

Such as?

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 03, 2025, 06:29:47 AM
Quote from: Main Street on October 03, 2025, 12:01:57 AMEven though I take serious issue with some of Michael D's virtual pro-Russian lefty values, I'd give him a 10/10 in his role as president, he's cultured, has personality, intelligence, character and a vibrant articulation. By comparison this trio of candidates, from a presidential perspective, are placed somewhere between barnacles and limpets.

Such as?

I think Catherine Connolly is very much similar in many ways to Higgins. I totally disagree with the ascertain that being anti war is pro Russian, having concerns with having another arms race etc. is not pro Russian.

Connolly and Higgins have long standing records taking anti war stances and anti IMC stances long before Russias invasion of Ukraine. They are consistent in their views, unlike others.

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 03, 2025, 09:49:32 AM

Such as?

I think Catherine Connolly is very much similar in many ways to Higgins. I totally disagree with the ascertain that being anti war is pro Russian, having concerns with having another arms race etc. is not pro Russian.

Connolly and Higgins have long standing records taking anti war stances and anti IMC stances long before Russias invasion of Ukraine. They are consistent in their views, unlike others.

Agreed. As long as they call out both American and Russias war mongering then I've no issue.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 03, 2025, 09:52:28 AM

Such as?

Agreed. As long as they call out both American and Russias war mongering then I've no issue.

it's not limited to Russia and America, I haven't seen any comments that deny the rights of the Ukrainians or others to defend themselves. not enough efforts were made to prevent or stop this invasion imo (notwithstanding Putin could/can/has ignored efforts). The Ukrainians have been let down by everyone.

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 03, 2025, 09:58:15 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 03, 2025, 09:52:28 AM

Such as?

it's not limited to Russia and America, I haven't seen any comments that deny the rights of the Ukrainians or others to defend themselves. not enough efforts were made to prevent or stop this invasion imo (notwithstanding Putin could/can/has ignored efforts). The Ukrainians have been let down by everyone.
They're the main proponents obviously and the US especially either facilitate, turn a blind eye or actively encourage most conflicts on the planet.

But 100% agree.

One of the Burkes removed from a Connolly event last night.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Snapchap on October 02, 2025, 10:44:06 PM

She was asked a legitimate question about her failure to seek planning permission by two journalists from The Ditch who called at her constituency office. Absolutely nothing wrong with that. Was her response ("f**k off and leave me alone") a presidential one? Or the response of what 'Banks of the Bann' might call an "ignoramus"?

It sounds like the response of an ignoramus to me. Anything else?