Age Appropriate Dress

Started by Louther, March 26, 2025, 04:01:09 PM

Anytime I see someone with Turkey teeth or hair plugs I think you're cheating man, juicing!

Wear replica football tops regularly, have a fair collection of rando tops, retro and mystery Jersey purchases. Only the insecure give off about them - as they can't carry it off ;D

AustinPowers

Quote from: general_lee on March 28, 2025, 08:25:39 AMWith the amount of gen z gimps running about with their burst fades, nose piercings and RUC moustaches kitted out like I was circa 1995, or the smicks who wear their North Face shorts in all weathers, I have embraced the whole not caring what I wear or what others think of what I wear approach. I think I stopped following fashion trends about ten years ago. I now opt for good-fitting, long-lasting comfortable clothes. Hoodies, tracksuit bottoms, GAA club gear, comfortable trainers. Chinos and shirts for work. Nicer chinos and shirts for going out.

What are burst fades?

Lol at the RUC moustache! Is that what they're  called or  just your own description ? Very apt. And they do look silly

As MR2 said , the hair thing doesn't bother me. It did a bit at first (started losing it early 30's), but  it's a handy 10 minuets in the barbers and no combing or styling  until the next visit. It's great. I couldn't be having a transplant and having to go back to  all that shite.

I could comment on the turkey teeth but  jibbajabba would probably shout at me again  if I did  :-[

Quote from: illdecide on March 28, 2025, 09:08:46 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2025, 08:58:17 AM
Quote from: GraceO'Malley on March 28, 2025, 07:00:21 AMFemale perspective here on the Turkey hair, I know for men losing their hair is a big deal but actually I find it attractive and sexy (lucky for my husband!). There's something about Turkey hair that just doesn't look natural, it looks like brushed out pubic hair or something. On the other hand if it makes you happy go for it - how we feel about our appearance impacts our mental health too.
Replica football jerseys should only ever be worn to a match of said team.
Exercise gear(especially tracksuits) should only be worn for exercise purposes or around the house.
It's hard for men, there's not a lot of choice out there when it comes to clothes or for some it can be very bewildering too.

Didn't realise my wife was posting on here!

Hair was thinning mid 20's, didn't give it a second thought, week before I was married I had my last visit to the barbers, a really neat short cut and there after I cut my own hair, she was horrified because the wedding and all but nah, it had to go, never looked back.

Young ones today have to deal with social media and that must be the the main factor for the Turkey teeth/hair boom. the pressure to look better, not that I'm on dating sites the must common one now is looking for a man 6 foot minimum!

Men are more and more having to live up to the social demands than woman have had to deal with for hundred of years more, we don't seem to be developing confident people who are happy in their own skiN.

That said rep tops need to be used for going to the game be it club or county, and soccer tops need to be put in the bin if you are over 18 ;) 

I'd be single nowadays, 5'6, bald and no shinny teeth! be great  ;D  be a millionaire now 

Right, i'm confused. Can I wear my Armagh top to the games or not?.
I've just got a mental picture of a wee fat round bald man now...lol

To the game only.  But no stopping off anywhere on the way home, where you could be seen. It's the same with the trackies. Coaching ok, but dont go straight from there to Tesco.  Must nip home to change  ;D

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2025, 09:58:39 PMI collect them. All types. Only time I'd wear one is during 5-a-side and can pretend to be Butragueño, Schillaci, Platini or Charlie Nicholas.

Nothing wrong with that so long as you don't go FKW.

Quote from: GraceO'Malley on March 28, 2025, 07:00:21 AMFemale perspective here on the Turkey hair, I know for men losing their hair is a big deal but actually I find it attractive and sexy (lucky for my husband!). There's something about Turkey hair that just doesn't look natural, it looks like brushed out pubic hair or something. On the other hand if it makes you happy go for it - how we feel about our appearance impacts our mental health too.
Exercise gear(especially tracksuits) should only be worn for exercise purposes or around the house.
It's hard for men, there's not a lot of choice out there when it comes to clothes or for some it can be very bewildering too.

Hair was thinning mid 20's, didn't give it a second thought, week before I was married I had my last visit to the barbers, a really neat short cut and there after I cut my own hair, she was horrified because the wedding and all but nah, it had to go, never looked back.

Young ones today have to deal with social media and that must be the the main factor for the Turkey teeth/hair boom. the pressure to look better, not that I'm on dating sites the must common one now is looking for a man 6 foot minimum!

Men are more and more having to live up to the social demands than woman have had to deal with for hundred of years more, we don't seem to be developing confident people who are happy in their own skiN.

That said rep tops need to be used for going to the game be it club or county, and soccer tops need to be put in the bin if you are over 18 ;) 

I'd be single nowadays, 5'6, bald and no shinny teeth! be great  ;D  be a millionaire now 

For years I wasn't confident or hap out in my own skin. Tried to fit in etc. now I just think feck it, I'll do my hair how I want, wear what I want and sod anyone who doesn't like it

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: tonto1888 on March 28, 2025, 10:05:46 AM

For years I wasn't confident or hap out in my own skin. Tried to fit in etc. now I just think feck it, I'll do my hair how I want, wear what I want and sod anyone who doesn't like it

100% this. Am too old to give a shite what anyone else thinks of me appearance or otherwise. Nor do I give two shites about what anyone else looks like or how they want to live their lives.

Louther

Lot of good information here  ;D  ;D

Continue with the tracksuit bottoms so.

Personally, I'd draw the line with vests or those sleeve less training tops. Got one a few years back as part of club gear parcel but it never seen the light of day.

Quote from: illdecide on March 28, 2025, 09:08:46 AM

Right, i'm confused. Can I wear my Armagh top to the games or not?.
I've just got a mental picture of a wee fat round bald man now...lol

Not fat but yeah everything else spot on  ;D
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Louther on March 28, 2025, 11:32:54 AMLot of good information here  ;D  ;D

Continue with the tracksuit bottoms so.

Personally, I'd draw the line with vests or those sleeve less training tops. Got one a few years back as part of club gear parcel but it never seen the light of day.

Friend was in  Australia a  few years back , and  brought  me back  an Aussie rules sleeveless  jersey. Oh, great , I thought. Put it on , I looked like a tit. That was the end  of that. 

The Aussies can  get away with wearing them , with their tanned bodies  and warm climate, but Us Irish can't. Even the Irish wearing them in Australia can't  carry it off.

Only time you get away with a sleeveless top is either running or on the beach. And it should be 20 degrees +.
 It is not an option at any other time.

thebuzz

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 28, 2025, 12:18:50 PMOnly time you get away with a sleeveless top is either running or on the beach. And it should be 20 degrees +.
I wear them as pyjamas. Wife beater vests  I hear them being called. 😀😀

Quote from: thebuzz on March 28, 2025, 12:52:05 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 28, 2025, 12:18:50 PMOnly time you get away with a sleeveless top is either running or on the beach. And it should be 20 degrees +.

A John McClean special
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2025, 01:01:12 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on March 28, 2025, 12:52:05 PM

A John McClean special

GraceO’Malley

She must be a GAA, style loving Derry woman too then  ;)

Yea it's sad we are all feeling the pressure to have perfect hair and teeth, it only serves to make us all look the same when it's actually the quirks and imperfections that often make people attractive to others.

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 28, 2025, 09:32:55 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 27, 2025, 11:54:33 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 27, 2025, 10:42:19 PMIs there a  male cosmetic surgery/sunbeds/botox etc thread?

Maybe  there's a few been to Turkey for a new set of gnashers?

Would be interesting to hear  the amount of boyos  who are into that kind of stuff

Mans had some success with his music thread, but has now lost the run of himself

MODSSSSS!!

You're right. I apologise   :-[

I needed taking  down a peg or two.

Ach don't mind me. I'm still bitter over boyzone & westlife