Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

Quote from: Orior on May 11, 2025, 06:05:12 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 11, 2025, 05:57:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 11, 2025, 04:51:21 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 11, 2025, 12:08:41 PMSavage effort put in by both sets of players in that cauldron. You can't help but have huge respect.I don't think at any stage did I think Armagh are the team to win this though. Perfect day and no real 2 point threat. Maybe a returning Rian will help that later in the year.

Just a note on the "supporters" around me. The Donegal bucks with their repeated English soccer style chants about a former Armagh player and his ongoing legal case, similar style chants about another returned player and his alleged lifestyle choices, repeated shouts of "orange bastids", and "bring back the RUC" for some reason. The Armagh bucks in front of me barely looked in the direction of the pitch and instead it was just an opportunity for a social gathering and a chat with mates. Wasted tickets imo.

I had a crowd of Lurgan fans behind me on the hill. Good singing when Soupy came on but someone from the same group was throwing bottles of coke with the top off. I can pm you a photo of said group if you so desire. (Not sure which club they were from)

Just out of interest, how do you know they were from
Lurgan

A) One of them of yelling he was from Lurgan
B) Plus the accents

Pretty conclusive then haha

Norm-Peterson

Quote from: RedHand88 on May 11, 2025, 04:52:23 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 11, 2025, 12:08:41 PMSavage effort put in by both sets of players in that cauldron. You can't help but have huge respect.I don't think at any stage did I think Armagh are the team to win this though. Perfect day and no real 2 point threat. Maybe a returning Rian will help that later in the year.

Just a note on the "supporters" around me. The Donegal bucks with their repeated English soccer style chants about a former Armagh player and his ongoing legal case, similar style chants about another returned player and his alleged lifestyle choices, repeated shouts of "orange bastids", and "bring back the RUC" for some reason. The Armagh bucks in front of me barely looked in the direction of the pitch and instead it was just an opportunity for a social gathering and a chat with mates. Wasted tickets imo.

I had a crowd of Lurgan fans behind me on the hill. Good singing when Soupy came on but someone from the same group was throwing bottles of coke with the top off. I can pm you a photo of said group if you so desire. (Not sure which club they were from)

They won't be from any club, i can guarantee you that.

I don't understand why you would think that? Club players are involved in brawls on a weekly basis all around Ireland yet you don't seem to think they are capable of misbehaving on a terrace? At the recent Ulster finals I went to the gangs of youth were actually wearing club gear which throws your point up in the air.

Norm-Peterson

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 11, 2025, 12:19:31 PM

Yeah would agree with that. Few Donegal "fans" deserved slaps the way they were going on although I'll be the first to admit Armagh have plenty of assholes going to games too.

Armagh people don't have much room to complain about comments when some of them make "Londonderry" jibes at games.

Norm-Peterson

Quote from: armaghniac on May 11, 2025, 05:10:25 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 11, 2025, 04:52:23 PM

They won't be from any club, i can guarantee you that.

Where do these louts get tickets? There are plenty of regular people who had trouble getting tickets. a lot of people at the semi final would not have been able to get a ticket.

They get tickets because they are most likely club members like the rest of you. Club members can be thugs too contrary to belief here.

Lurgan

B) Plus the accents

Why would anyone go to a game to shout out where they're from, strange behaviour.

Quote from: balladmaker on May 11, 2025, 08:05:40 PM

Lurgan

B) Plus the accents

Why would anyone go to a game to shout out where they're from, strange behaviour.

I think he was as high as a kite.

Quote from: Norm-Peterson on May 11, 2025, 07:45:55 PM

Yeah would agree with that. Few Donegal "fans" deserved slaps the way they were going on although I'll be the first to admit Armagh have plenty of assholes going to games too.

Armagh people don't have much room to complain about comments when some of them make "Londonderry" jibes at games.
Genuinely have never ever heard that from an Armagh person. Anyone saying that is nothing but an arsehole.

Quote from: Orior on May 11, 2025, 09:38:46 PM

Lurgan

B) Plus the accents

In all fsirness the big population centres- mostly Armagh, Keady and especially Lurgan seem to produce their fair share of wankers st games.

mup

Armagh not able to take their beating yesterday. The scenes at the end marred what was a great game.

Champion The Wonder Horse

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 11, 2025, 10:17:38 PM

Genuinely have never ever heard that from an Armagh person. Anyone saying that is nothing but an arsehole.

Heard it from Armagh folk long before I heard it from anyone else. Only ever heard it song by Armagh and Tyrone folk.

Did ye hear Jacqui Hurley saying about ugly scenes ruining the Ulster Final 'yet again'. McGinley quietly put her right, but should have asked her for an explanation.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 11, 2025, 10:17:38 PM

First heard Tyrone ones at it after 1993 going up the hill at Clones in response to: "there'll never be a Sam in Tyrone"... I never liked that L'Derry response... tho the Sam chant is well defunct... 4

onefineday

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 11, 2025, 11:54:44 AMI honestly don't get  this group stage thing

Galway/Armagh battled through their province , tough games. And are  rewarded the same as Derry, who lost in  the Ulster preliminary round.

All three teams get 1 home, 1 away and  1 neutral game

Derry are fresher than both  teams, and are well rested

Really, where  is the incentive to win your provincial title?

Galway, as  the provincial winner in the group , should get 3 home games. Armagh 2. Dublin /Derry 0, and have to play each  other in a neutral venue

From this group , Derry (and Dublin) have probably an easier schedule than Armagh , who narrowly missed out on the Ulster title.

A load of bollox (can't let @Rossfan down)

You just have to look at them as separate competitions.
The much derided group system, which is the fairest system we've ever had unfortunately comes to an end this year.

This was the first time that every team in the Sam Maguire series started off with 3 games against relatively similar levels of opponents, granted some groups will be easier than others, but that's because we reward the provincials too much and because we probably don't have 16 teams capable of competing.
The group stages meant that Kerry in particular (and Dublin) no longer had the luxury of a straight passage to a quarter final.

They complained about lack of jeopardy, and the same commentators complained about making teams play for 3 weeks in a row - missing the point that this was the jeopardy!
Winning a group guaranteed a week off, coming second got you a home game against a third placed team - definite rewards there for finishing 1st above second and second above third.
All that said, a couple of simple tweaks could easily have solved the twin objectives of hugely increasing jeopardy and avoiding dead rubbers.

Reduce the number of third placed teams qualifying to 3 or even 2.
That would see the 4 group winners and the best (or two best) second placed teams go straight into the quarters. The next runners up with the worst records would then play off against the best 3rd placed teams for those quarter final spots.

To give more reward for provincial wins, give them 2 games at home, same with the next 4 teams in the rankings.
1st seeds are provincial winners and all other seedings are based on league position, that increases the importance of the league.

To me, something along the lines above could have been an excellent competition, much fairer than what we are reverting to, give a better reward for provincial winners and increase the relevance of the league, but, media frenzy prevailed.....

I'd well believe that Orior.  By no means am I saying Donegal fans were the only set up to no good. And when you add up all that behaviour and those riling comments, then you get scenes like you get in that shop after the game. Inevitable, but also embarrassing.

I must say, it was a much better experience getting out of Clones this year.  The Guards seemed to have it all running a bit better.

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 11, 2025, 10:19:12 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 11, 2025, 09:38:46 PM

Lurgan

B) Plus the accents

In all fsirness the big population centres- mostly Armagh, Keady and especially Lurgan seem to produce their fair share of wankers st games.

every area has them. Not long ago i seen a bunch of lads from south armagh battering the heads of each other in the toilets at CP