Who will win the Div 1 final

Kerry
2 (40%)
Mayo
3 (60%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Voting closed: March 29, 2025, 01:26:17 PM

Quote from: cornerback on February 17, 2025, 11:15:18 AMI thought the 2nd Armagh 15 always beat the 1st Armagh 15 in training...  ;)
Now the second team is getting injured too lol

Quote from: 5times5times on February 17, 2025, 10:22:05 AMBefore Forker the numpty done what he did, Armagh had reeled Donegal back to 2pts.

Look at the comparison in squads. People now have Dng as AI Champs, and Armagh back Div2...

From AIF, Armagh were missing the following lads yday who didnt see the pitch either yday, or at all this yr.. I count 12....

McKay
Burns
3x Oneills
McElroy
2x Mackins
Grugan
Nugent
Kelly
McGrane

Donegal's fitness levels seem to be way ahead of anyone else at the minute and they were at home. They also seem to be building real depth in their panel.
Armagh will find it difficult to reach the heights of last year again, and discipline is seemingly an issue so far this year. They destroyed Tyrone a couple of weeks ago, but Tyrone rolled over so it was all too easy. Donegal didn't roll over and Armagh struggled for the whole game.
Realistically, Armagh are not as bad as they showed yesterday, but also with all their players available it's debatable if they'd have beaten that Donegal team yesterday who looked impressive.

Quote from: mackers on February 17, 2025, 11:36:37 AM
Quote from: cornerback on February 17, 2025, 11:15:18 AMI thought the 2nd Armagh 15 always beat the 1st Armagh 15 in training...  ;)
Who said that? I dunno why but every Armagh loss seems to attract bellends to the board.
I know what people are saying about the players that are missing and of course this is right but my concern is how many will be returning soon.  It's a relatively short season and there's a few long term injuries there.
Yeah worrying enough, but McCormack and McMullen have put their hands up so far. Could do with Rian back for sure.

Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2025, 11:00:36 AMMaybe both will improve once they get first choice players back but Tyrone v Mayo yesterday looked every bit like the two sides that will be dropping down to Div 2 .

Among the live games this weekend it was by far the worst with neither side overly keen to embrace the new rules at all.

Tyrone have already beaten Derry, though Derry have improved a lot since that game I feel.
There are 3 relegation candidates for the 2 spots imo, Derry, Tyrone and Mayo.
Derry have still got Dublin, Donegal, Armagh to play away from home and a home game against Mayo (I think).
We need to pick up at least an away win and beat Mayo at home to have a chance of staying up - which is no easy ask given the players we have out (McKinless for the year, McLuskey, Loughlin, Gilmore), but at least we have McGrogan returning.

But yeah, Tyrone and Mayo looked awful yesterday, however, Tyrone still have the errigal players to return.

APM

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 16, 2025, 08:32:29 PM
Quote from: APM on February 16, 2025, 08:28:29 PMModerators asleep at the wheel here!

Donegal by far the better team, but playing with the wind, it was set up nicely for a great second half following a bright start.

But it was ridiculous from Forker. I'm sure he knows it, but he's not 18 any more.

Playing with a man down very difficult with the new rules.

There a few people saying that playing with a man down is actually no disadvantage

Can defend and attack with same amount of people because you can leave 2 up in each instance instead of 3.

That's what Wooly Parkinson was preaching on Twitter anyways.

Correct me if wrong.

Honestly think given the speed of the game and more open nature it is a disaster to be a man down as it means your attack suffers badly as you rob the forward unit to shore up defence. Transition from defence to attack becomes tougher and slower.

That said I see the point, with Rafferty much more involved than Patton, it shouldn't have had as big an impact.  Armagh generally took the wrong options and kind of lost the plot after the sending off.

What was most frustrating was that yesterday's game was nicely poised going into the last 20 minutes for a great finish before Forker's moment of madness. Armagh had played none and they were right in the game.

He is captain of the all Ireland Champions and Murphy hadn't played football in 1000 days. Leaving aside the sending off he had nothing to gain from getting involved and it let the Murphy and Donegal know that they had got inside their heads.

Quote from: APM on February 17, 2025, 12:22:26 PM
Quote from: APM on February 16, 2025, 08:28:29 PMModerators asleep at the wheel here!

Donegal by far the better team, but playing with the wind, it was set up nicely for a great second half following a bright start.

But it was ridiculous from Forker. I'm sure he knows it, but he's not 18 any more.

There a few people saying that playing with a man down is actually no disadvantage

Can defend and attack with same amount of people because you can leave 2 up in each instance instead of 3.

Correct me if wrong.

Honestly think given the speed of the game and more open nature it is a disaster to be a man down as it means your attack suffers badly as you rob the forward unit to shore up defence. Transition from defence to attack becomes tougher and slower.

That said I see the point, with Rafferty much more involved than Patton, it shouldn't have had as big an impact.  Armagh generally took the wrong options and kind of lost the plot after the sending off.

What was most frustrating was that yesterday's game was nicely poised going into the last 20 minutes for a great finish before Forker's moment of madness. Armagh had played none and they were right in the game.

He is captain of the all Ireland Champions and Murphy hadn't played football in 1000 days. Leaving aside the sending off he had nothing to gain from getting involved and it let the Murphy and Donegal know that they had got inside their heads.
Yeah absolutely, should have totally ignored Murphy, Forkers a hardy buck but he isnt going to bully that sow. Forker roasted him in Clones in '22 and should have stuck to football, would have been a great battle and every chance we get something from the game.

A moment of madness from Forker.  I thought he had left that behind him. Somehow we had managed to make it a 2 point game, and we had played none.

Armagh had so many below power performances it was always going to be tough. I know it all ends up in a zone, but I dont think leaving young Conaty to stop Paddy McBrearty is a good idea, but yet we left it like that on numerous occasions in the 1st half.

Good to see Murphy back, and he will certainly be useful for Donegal in the final quarter of the big games.  Some quality shooting on display by Donegal and as usual McHugh is a joy to watch. 

cornerback

Quote from: mackers on February 17, 2025, 11:36:37 AM
Who said that? I dunno why but every Armagh loss seems to attract bellends to the board.
I know what people are saying about the players that are missing and of course this is right but my concern is how many will be returning soon.  It's a relatively short season and there's a few long term injuries there.

Jaysus, bit touchy are ye?? Fecking relax ye douchebag!

It was said several times on here during the Armagh's run last year that the 2nd 15 beat the 1st 15 in in-house games... it was often talked about that one of Armagh's strengths was in the replacements being of the same standard as the lads in the first 15 with no drop off.

Not that it should need said, my comment was a joke hence the emoji.  Of course any team will suffer with an extensive injury list.

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 17, 2025, 12:27:24 PM

Correct me if wrong.

Yeah absolutely, should have totally ignored Murphy, Forkers a hardy buck but he isnt going to bully that sow. Forker roasted him in Clones in '22 and should have stuck to football, would have been a great battle and every chance we get something from the game.

Yep, Forker did a number on Murphy that day and I'm sure that played some role in Murphy's building frustration and doubts about continuing, although the circus that culminated in the appointment of poor Paddy Carr was the ultimate decider.

Madness from Forker yesterday though, especially given the circumstances. I'm sure he's as embarrassed as hell today.

And it's all performative nonsense anyway. The pushing and shoving crap I mean.

Quote from: J70 on February 17, 2025, 01:09:44 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 17, 2025, 12:27:24 PM

Correct me if wrong.

Yep, Forker did a number on Murphy that day and I'm sure that played some role in Murphy's building frustration and doubts about continuing, although the circus that culminated in the appointment of poor Paddy Carr was the ultimate decider.

Madness from Forker yesterday though, especially given the circumstances. I'm sure he's as embarrassed as hell today.

And it's all performative nonsense anyway. The pushing and shoving crap I mean.
Ah yeah just daft from Forker altogether and I'm sure he feels like a clown. According to the GAA social he'll likely get 2 game ban which is a dose as well and we'll miss him.

Pure stupidity from Forker, no need whatsoever. The O'Neills are missed big time. Once again McConville is thrown into a lost cause. I would like to see what he is made of. Turbitt non extistent in a big game once more. Rafferty looks like he would be really good outfield. Are the O'Neills returning?

Quote from: JPO on February 16, 2025, 07:51:48 PMAll the weekend games were similar. Passing back and across on the edge of the arc. The new rules arent working. Football as boring as ever. Kerry in the first half against Dublin being the exception. The commentary on BBC for the Down Meath game would put anyone off football for life. Chrissy McKaigue using the modern coach speak made me feel sick....High risk kickouts, excellent skill execution, high selection of shooters, high press, etc,etc.This man is coaching this poison into young players so theres little hope for the game I'm afrah beat Down because the were able to catch a few balls from kickouts and cold hit a few 2 pointers. Down didnt catcg one single ball from a kickout the entire game. Of course theres no money to be made from simple analysis.You need the lingo to be a modern coach.       

I only saw about 90s of this game but had the pleaseure of watching young Murdoch from Burren fetch a kick out in the bit I saw of the first half.
Are you sure you didn't miss many more?

Quote from: Applesisapples on February 17, 2025, 02:24:02 PMPure stupidity from Forker, no need whatsoever. The O'Neills are missed big time. Once again McConville is thrown into a lost cause. I would like to see what he is made of. Turbitt non extistent in a big game once more. Rafferty looks like he would be really good outfield. Are the O'Neills returning?

Oisin was there with the team on Sunday anyway.

Truthsayer

Is some social media pile-on Forker. Not so much here but on Facebook getting wild touch from ones on bout his job etc etc nasty aul shite from keyboard warriors...
It was a split second stupid hit... Murphy wasn't even injured. I've met him a few times... sound lad as most of them are.

GAA live next weekend:

Sat
5pm: Armagh v Mayo (F) - TG4
7.30pm: Dublin v Derry (F) - BBC iPlayer
7.30pm: Armagh v Mayo (LF) - TG4
7.30pm: Tipp v Cork (H) - RTÉ 2

Sun
1.45pm: Kilkenny v Limerick (H) - TG4
1.45pm: Tyrone v Kerry (F) - TG4 player
3.45pm: Galway v Donegal (F) - TG4

I'd swop Galway v Donegal if I were a scheduler, that will be arse boxing of the highest order now!