Who will win the Div 2 final

Monaghan
7 (77.8%)
Roscommon
2 (22.2%)

Total Members Voted: 9

Voting closed: March 29, 2025, 01:27:35 PM

Dunneroyal

Quote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Roscommon 0-25 Monaghan 2-14
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
by all accounts very entertaining games.  Cabana win was a surprise to me , vey happy with how Meath went. And while Roscommon will be out biggest game so far I'm a slight bit optimistic that we can edge out a result. We do and then promotion is definitely on the cards
Hon the royal

JPO

Did Down manage to catch even one ball from a kickout? I think not

Take a laxative or go for a walk ::)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
by all accounts very entertaining games.  Cabana win was a surprise to me , vey happy with how Meath went. And while Roscommon will be out biggest game so far I'm a slight bit optimistic that we can edge out a result. We do and then promotion is definitely on the cards

Big win for Cavan would have been in big trouble had they lost.   Meath v Monaghan should be feisty encounter when they meet and possible decider to see who finishes 2nd?

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 16, 2025, 08:22:19 PM
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18

Big win for Cavan would have been in big trouble had they lost.   Meath v Monaghan should be feisty encounter when they meet and possible decider to see who finishes 2nd?

Is there any traditional rivalry between Meath and Monaghan?

Local Derby if my geography is correct

cavanmaniac

Wasn't at the game but by the sounds of it two late goals for Cavan swung it, neither of them orthodox, but we'll take anything after the poverty of our opening two rounds. Had a feeling we'd muster some sort of a gallop this weekend. Big one now away to Dermot McCabe's Westmeath.

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 16, 2025, 08:28:14 PM
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18

It's a very short border between the Counties, there wouldn't be that much of a rivalry.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: rodney trotter on February 16, 2025, 08:48:35 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 16, 2025, 08:28:14 PM
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18

It's a very short border between the Counties, there wouldn't be that much of a rivalry.

I know Tommy Rooney from Off The Ball went to school in Monaghan and he's a Meath man. He must be the exception.

There was a bit of a strange one at Ros v Mon. The ref awarded a penalty to Monaghan after the Mon player had pointed. The decision was baffling because the defender's contact was minimal and didn't affect the Mon player in any way.The penalty was saved. Naturally the ref is not going to award Monaghan the point that he denied them but all came right with the world when in the immediate aftermath Monaghan managed to turn the ball over to regain possession and score a point. Natural order was restored to the game despite the ref's disruptive intervention.

Dunneroyal

Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18

yes if I agree with that.
Hon the royal

ardtole

I think Meath v Roscommon in Navan this week could be a cracker. I don't think Roscommon will win 7/7, maybe this will be the week they slip up.

Westmeath manager Dermot McCabe has questioned the "crazy" intensity of Gaelic football under the new rules and "strange" two-pointers after their 3-18 to 3-17 defeat to Cork.

He feels the extra decisions around every aspect of the game, including the popular solo and go, are "hugely unfair" on referees.

Remarkably, the Lake men have averaged 24 points per game but remain winless from their three outings in Division 2.
"It's a tough game now. On my watch, it was at 41 minutes (the second half) and that was at quite high intensity for the month of February, which is crazy," said McCabe.

"I don't know how lads, who have to be at work in the morning, are going to survive that."
Westmeath have excelled at kicking two-pointers from the likes of Luke Loughlin and the McCartan brothers, Danny and Sam, but McCabe remains unconvinced of their benefit to the game.
"The two-pointers are just strange. I can't understand them, to be honest. It's getting more and more like 11-a-side basketball. There's just set-up and structures that have to be done to create and prevent scores."
McCabe also highlighted the dark arts around kick-outs.
"We're missing a good bit of experience as regards fielders so lads are really trying to step up and get it to ground.

"I felt at times it was close to a line-out. A lot of Cork players were blocking runners. That seemed to be allowed so I'm interested is that the format going forward?
"Can I practice during the week that I'm going to stop five jumpers in order to get my jumper up? Because that appeared to be what was allowed.
"My biggest difficulty with the rules is consistency. I saw a programme during the week and the ref has 500 decisions to make. The new rules have probably turned that into 700 decisions.
"They have to be consistent and that's a difficult thing for the refs to do. It's hugely unfair on the refs."
Against the prevailing consensus, McCabe is sceptical of the solo-and-go rule change.
"Everyone seems to be in favour of the solo and go but the question has to be asked, is that immediate? Is that within four steps? Was he touched within four steps?

"There's an additional four or five decisions on one of the rules. If he throws it to a man, he's allowed to take four steps so you can gain eight steps.
"They're all decisions a ref has to make in a split second with lots of people communicating to him and shouting to him. I just think it's unfair on referees."
McCabe hopes to have absent midfielders Ray Connellan and Brian Guerin back for "the latter stages of the League" as he relies on some talented prospects to come good.

"We don't like moral victories but every lad tried his hardest.
"The lads are stepping up. We're one of the youngest teams in all the divisions of the National League and they're giving us everything.
"We could've got something out of definitely two of the three games. Them couple of late scores are just hard to take."

Maybe football team management is not for him.
As for Ros it's 3 games and 6 points, several new lads tried out with some success and a few returnees also tried out with some success .
2 more wins should get promotion.

Diarmuid Murtagh on fire these days, Keith Doyle winning kickouts.

Butchering goal chances, slow build ups, not great defensively, Carroll doing to much up the field stuff are concerns.

Overall happy enough BUT....it's Division 2 which seems to be a no defending shoot out zone.
Meeting meaner and more cynical Division 1 defences later in the year will be a new tougher challenge.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

JPO

Dermot McCabe should instruct all the underage coaches in Westmeath to start teaching the kids the basics of Gaelic football instead of the shite like he and most managers are spreading abot tactics and systems. Teach the kids how to field a high ball and teach them how to kick the ball.His players obviously cant do it? They wouldnd be exhausted after games if they kicked it instead of running about all over the field handpassing all the time. Football will take years to come back and only will when the present coaches and players have left the scene. They have ruined our game.

Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
Copa Cabana did very well. I hope the cocktails were as good as the fuball.