Rory Gallagher

Started by toby47, August 14, 2024, 03:34:36 PM

How would you feel about Rory Gallagher being appointed

Best case scenario - best man for the job!
7 (8.6%)
Would be happy enough - But would prefer someone else
4 (4.9%)
Don't think it's right - But would still go to games & support team etc
22 (27.2%)
Disgrace - Wouldn't support derry for as long as he's in charge
48 (59.3%)

Total Members Voted: 81

Voting closed: August 17, 2024, 03:34:36 PM

tyrone08

Quote from: ElJeffe on January 10, 2025, 05:53:44 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on January 10, 2025, 03:59:15 PMNot sure what to think about it all.

I have heard the stories about RG from neighbour's of his years before it broke on the news. Just because he wasnt found guilty doesnt mean he is innocent, there is a huge difference.

Many of the examples about players guilty of assaults were well before burns took over however now that he has stepped in he needs to continue it especially with the recent armagh player.

Its probably about time the gaa took a stand on players with criminal convictions as its not a good look for the organization and we need to be setting examples for the younger players on however it needs to be across the board.

What .... ????
Just because he wasnt found guilty doesnt mean he is innocent, there is a huge difference.

Forgive me but this would be my belief.. he is innocent until proven guilty. That's our legal system and is mostly around the world ... you want to say he is not innocent? How does that work ??? Explain ....
Would that not be defamatory?

Well the court system has to prove beyond all reasonable doubt that someone is guilty. Domestic abuse is extremely hard to prove as there are no witnesses its often one word against another.

If i hit my wife but there was no witnesses then i am guilty wither convicted or not.

We can reasonably be sure OJ simpson did it but if got off.

I am sure we all know ones or have read about ones committing crimes but have gotten off on a technicality, this doesnt mean they didnt do it.

I rather seen him intervene in a number of issues in the rulebook, the endless appeals. The playacting now in fball,the a man can take the head off u with a bad tackle at head level. and get a yellow, Somebody pushes somebody off lightly around the head,and they get a red. The constant grappling on the throw up. The lack of sportsman in the game, and mouthing trying to get players send off. The inconsistency of refs from game to game. The massive payments especially at club level outside managers get, on teams who never win a championship.

Sportacus

Yer man is damaged goods to say the least. Why any club would bother is beyond me, guaranteed deep division straight away. It's easy to pick apart on precedents etc, but I support Jarlath on this one.

tiempo

We don't know what drove RG to behave as he allegedly did, was he himself abused as a child, this stuff is best left to the professionals, the courts, care bodies and the like, 80% of suicides in Ireland are men, what are the underlying reasons, Jarlath has abused his largely ceremonial position creating an onward chain of events that are outside his control, involving a man and his children, begorrah soundbites and DV initiatives are one thing, but singling RG out is a gross overreach into the domain of someone's personal life, bringing it to national attention from his lofty and secure position

I'm not an RG supporter or apologist but JB has used a bully boy tactic in throwing his weight around, showing a lack of leadership and tact

JB cuts a seriously impressive figure with an incredible resume but he needs to take off the rose tinted glasses, the GAA and its future incarnation cannot solve all Irelands ills and cannot cover all eventualities, especially those already through the courts and the GAA organisational safeguarding processes

Whishtup

If hear that he was cleared of any wrongdoing in court, so move on, I'll go mad. What happens in court is not reality. There are people in the North who have been involved in planning and executing hundreds of murders in my area who have been 'proven' innocent in court. It's a serious issue and needs to be addressed. Same with Kyle Hayes and I'm sure others. They should not be in the position of role models.  Young people need to uderstand that there is a consequence to their actions even if the get off with the charge. GAA have an opportunity to be clear on what they expect from their role models. They are the face of the GAA. Don't talk to me about courts.

So in short, social media wins the day.

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: Whishtup on January 10, 2025, 08:26:49 PMIf hear that he was cleared of any wrongdoing in court, so move on, I'll go mad. What happens in court is not reality. There are people in the North who have been involved in planning and executing hundreds of murders in my area who have been 'proven' innocent in court. It's a serious issue and needs to be addressed. Same with Kyle Hayes and I'm sure others. They should not be in the position of role models.  Young people need to uderstand that there is a consequence to their actions even if the get off with the charge. GAA have an opportunity to be clear on what they expect from their role models. They are the face of the GAA. Don't talk to me about courts.

Why is being good at football or hurling make you a role model? If we got rid of every player who wasn't fit to be a role model we'd have plenty of clubs failing to field. It's really getting silly now.

Whishtup

Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on January 10, 2025, 08:52:28 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on January 10, 2025, 08:26:49 PMIf hear that he was cleared of any wrongdoing in court, so move on, I'll go mad. What happens in court is not reality. There are people in the North who have been involved in planning and executing hundreds of murders in my area who have been 'proven' innocent in court. It's a serious issue and needs to be addressed. Same with Kyle Hayes and I'm sure others. They should not be in the position of role models.  Young people need to uderstand that there is a consequence to their actions even if the get off with the charge. GAA have an opportunity to be clear on what they expect from their role models. They are the face of the GAA. Don't talk to me about courts.

Why is being good at football or hurling make you a role model? If we got rid of every player who wasn't fit to be a role model we'd have plenty of clubs failing to field. It's really getting silly now.
That's a ridiculous comment. Fairly standard stuff that Managers of any team should be a role model. Or a county player. If that's not the goal what are we at? Don't underestimate the influence that these people have over young people.

Seems some people are more influenced by their actions off the pitch than on it.

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: Whishtup on January 10, 2025, 09:01:51 PM

That's a ridiculous comment. Fairly standard stuff that Managers of any team should be a role model. Or a county player. If that's not the goal what are we at? Don't underestimate the influence that these people have over young people.

It's not really, players play, managers mange. I'll try and guide my kids in lift in what is right and wrong not a fella who is good at kicking a ball about. I know plenty of lads who played county football who you most certainly wouldn't say are role models but I'm going off point so il just leave it, agree to disagree

Kids tend to idolise county players though. It doesn't matter whether they should or shouldn't- they do. Then in a lot of cases they get older and realise being good at football doesn't make you a good person..

Agreed. Players train hard to become the best they can be, not to be role models.

Dubh driocht

The GAA has signed up to a commitment to address domestic violence, specifically violence against women and girls. The victim in the RG case has made statements that have been supported by at least one independent witness...although many others on this forum have said they know the victim's statements are true. Some on this forum have suggested there are more than one victim.
Meanwhile there are children here who have to be the priority. So Jarlath is 100% right to draw the Naas club's attention to the GAA commitment. And he wasn't the only one reminding them.
So...Phoenix law can bluster all they want...as they do..Jarlath should tell them; see you in court.

What's old Dermo doing these days saying he got a conviction for GBH and avoided another by paying g compensation. He got any club involvement  these days.? Burns has overstepped his remit and some people just can't see it due to their dislike of Gallagher. It the start of opening up way too many cases down the line. If he been convicted, we all be saying yes bar him. In relation to the witness, was that incident not near 22/23rs ago. I don't understand  why the family didn't take that further at the time.

tiempo

Quote from: Dubh driocht on January 10, 2025, 11:48:32 PMThe GAA has signed up to a commitment to address domestic violence, specifically violence against women and girls. The victim in the RG case has made statements that have been supported by at least one independent witness...although many others on this forum have said they know the victim's statements are true. Some on this forum have suggested there are more than one victim.
Meanwhile there are children here who have to be the priority. So Jarlath is 100% right to draw the Naas club's attention to the GAA commitment. And he wasn't the only one reminding them.
So...Phoenix law can bluster all they want...as they do..Jarlath should tell them; see you in court.

Jarlath is using a Novemeber 2024 commitment as cover for a legacy case that has been dealt with, what new information or allegations have come to light since November

By interfering he has confirmed his personal bias against Gallagher, Jarlath has abused his position, a position he long coveted and has on a pedestil, but that he thinks he can use to target individuals within the organisation

If Jarlath or anyone has concerns over a risk to children (or women or men) they should contact the relevant authorities, I don't think the 2024 DV initiative references children, instructs people to take matters into their own hands or to pursue personal vendettas