All Ireland Club Championships 2024

Started by SouthOfThe Bann, July 31, 2024, 10:32:30 AM

SaffronSports

There we go. Cork's Kilmurry win Munster junior beating Furies of Kerry.

Genuine question, would those teams win senior titles in any other counties? I reckon they'd reach the latter stages of a few counties.

I think there's some dodginess with Kilmurry too in fairness. They were in last year's Munster junior final and won Cork at a bit of a canter ;D

SaffronSports

Quote from: gallsman on December 07, 2024, 07:34:25 PMI think there's some dodginess with Kilmurry too in fairness. They were in last year's Munster junior final and won Cork at a bit of a canter ;D

Near sure the commentator said that's their third Munster final in a row

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 07, 2024, 05:56:16 PMKerry long by, taking the piss,they got 64 club teams, 8 Senior? What's in Fermanagh senior championship with just over a 1/3rd the no.of the clubs compared to Kerry.

8 Senior in fermanagh too.

8 intermediate.

And 4 junior.

You'd have good odds on Kilmurry winning that today.

Cork teams through to all hurling semi finals I think, 4 outta 6
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: SaffronSports on December 07, 2024, 07:39:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 07, 2024, 07:34:25 PMI think there's some dodginess with Kilmurry too in fairness. They were in last year's Munster junior final and won Cork at a bit of a canter ;D

There you have it. I think there have been some reorganisations in Cork over the last few years, but that's still a bit mad.

Gael85

Quote from: Truthsayer on December 07, 2024, 02:39:49 PMThe state of this:
Munster Intermediate Club Football Championship Final
Full Time
Austin Stacks 7-8(29)
Aherlow  0-2(2)

GAA needs to address what Kerry (and Cavan) are putting forward as Intermediate and Junior teams.
Top 8 in Kerry are senior apparently... a joke.
County like Tyrone is top 16... (not sure about other counties).

Clare, Limerick,Tipp and Waterford senior champions would be better off entering Munster Intermediate.  Intermediate winners into Munster junior. Might make games a bit more competitive.

Quote from: gallsman on December 07, 2024, 06:12:07 PMThey can structure their championship whatever way they want. It's pretending that the first team outside the top 8 is "intermediate" in some way comparable to other counties. Same for junior.

Yeah they should be able to do whatever they want internally but should not be allowed to have their 9th best team go
into Munster intermediate. If they want to keep their system as is their junior champions should go into Munster intermediate. Their premier junior or whatever the lowest comp is called should go into Munster junior.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Will do a separate post on the Kerry structure (for the 500th time!) but for now, fair play to Kilmurry on their win. Much the better team tonight.

For those wondering why they are in a third Munster Junior final, they won the old Junior A in Cork in 2022, lost Munster Final to Fossa.
Lost the Premier Junior (new grade) final in Cork to St Finbarrs 2nd team last year and lost Munster Final to Listowel.

Won the Premier Junior this year and now won Munster. Unusual one but just a factor of the Cork restructuring.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: gallsman on December 07, 2024, 07:54:48 PM

There you have it. I think there have been some reorganisations in Cork over the last few years, but that's still a bit mad.
If a B team (or a district or combined team) win a County Title then the last standing Club side in the County enters the Provincial Club Championship.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: Gael85 on December 07, 2024, 08:27:08 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 07, 2024, 02:39:49 PMThe state of this:
Munster Intermediate Club Football Championship Final
Full Time
Austin Stacks 7-8(29)
Aherlow  0-2(2)

GAA needs to address what Kerry (and Cavan) are putting forward as Intermediate and Junior teams.
Top 8 in Kerry are senior apparently... a joke.
County like Tyrone is top 16... (not sure about other counties).

Clare, Limerick,Tipp and Waterford senior champions would be off entering Munster Intermediate.  Intermediate winners into Munster junior. Might make games a bit more competitive.

This I sort of agree with actually - utterly pointless the Waterford and Limerick intermediate champions going up against Kerry and Cork. In Hurling, Kerry's Senior champions enter the Munster Intermediate, Intermediate champs enter the Munster Junior. I think a similar approach in football would be more even.

The problem of course is that every county in Munster has Senior clubs that are competitive enough. Rathgormack lost by 1 to Crokes 2 weeks ago for example. So if you try to put the Waterford IFC winners into Junior, the Waterford JFC winners will have no Munster and will kick up. But I do think it would make sense. Just won't happen, like a lot of stuff in GAA!

Quote from: Rossfan on December 07, 2024, 08:42:06 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 07, 2024, 07:54:48 PM

If a B team (or a district or combined team) win a County Title then the last standing Club side in the County enters the Provincial Club Championship.

They won Cork Junior A in 22, and were runners up in Premier Junior in 23, before winning Premier Junior this year. Either a reorg within Cork or they changed which grade winners would compete in Munster.

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on December 07, 2024, 08:39:50 PMWill do a separate post on the Kerry structure (for the 500th time!) but for now, fair play to Kilmurry on their win. Much the better team tonight.

For those wondering why they are in a third Munster Junior final, they won the old Junior A in Cork in 2022, lost Munster Final to Fossa.
Lost the Premier Junior (new grade) final in Cork to St Finbarrs 2nd team last year and lost Munster Final to Listowel.

Won the Premier Junior this year and now won Munster. Unusual one but just a factor of the Cork restructuring.
Have seen your previous posts and fair play for the way it's run, think the divisional teams are a brilliant idea and would love to see them tried in Armagh because I know theres lads at smaller clubs who would love to play against the best players and would be well able to.

No matter how you slice it though, the 9th ranked team shouldn't be going to Munster intermediate.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 07, 2024, 09:28:55 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on December 07, 2024, 08:39:50 PMWill do a separate post on the Kerry structure (for the 500th time!) but for now, fair play to Kilmurry on their win. Much the better team tonight.

Have seen your previous posts and fair play for the way it's run, think the divisional teams are a brilliant idea and would love to see them tried in Armagh because I know theres lads at smaller clubs who would love to play against the best players and would be well able to.

No matter how you slice it though, the 9th ranked team shouldn't be going to Munster intermediate.

I doubt you'd find anyone that will disagree with the last line Armagh18 - that's why Kerry are making changes so that there will be 10 Clubs in Senior championship by 2026. I think it should have been done for next year but anyway.

People seem to forget that Kerry had 11 Senior clubs up until I think 2014 or 2015 and along with the 9 divisional teams there were 20 team in the SFC. So 12th rank team was going into Munster Intermediate. There were still 4/5 Kerry winners and 2 runners-up before this.

Anyway, everyone agrees change is needed and it's coming. The reason it didn't happen well before now is the narrow minded attitude of Croke park and their "one size fits all" approach to county championships. There's 100 years of history of Divisional teams in Kerry in the County championship and we're not sacrificing that as it works and works well for us. So when Croke park tried to pressurise Kerry (and Cork) then it was a reduction in club numbers that followed. It could have been worse only that Kenmare district divisional team dropped out of the championship, but sin scéal eile!

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on December 07, 2024, 10:50:10 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 07, 2024, 09:28:55 PM

I doubt you'd find anyone that will disagree with the last line Armagh18 - that's why Kerry are making changes so that there will be 10 Clubs in Senior championship by 2026. I think it should have been done for next year but anyway.

People seem to forget that Kerry had 11 Senior clubs up until I think 2014 or 2015 and along with the 9 divisional teams there were 20 team in the SFC. So 12th rank team was going into Munster Intermediate. There were still 4/5 Kerry winners and 2 runners-up before this.

Anyway, everyone agrees change is needed and it's coming. The reason it didn't happen well before now is the narrow minded attitude of Croke park and their "one size fits all" approach to county championships. There's 100 years of history of Divisional teams in Kerry in the County championship and we're not sacrificing that as it works and works well for us. So when Croke park tried to pressurise Kerry (and Cork) then it was a reduction in club numbers that followed. It could have been worse only that Kenmare district divisional team dropped out of the championship, but sin scéal eile!
Even the 12th ranked team for a county with the pick and tradition Kerry have is probably too strong for an intermediate provincial. How many clubs are in Kerry?

Could Kerry and Cork not both stick to 16 senior teams and send team 17 into intermediate?