All Ireland Final Armagh v Galway 28 July 2024

Started by Dougal Maguire, July 14, 2024, 05:37:51 PM

Saffrongael

Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2024, 11:28:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 29, 2024, 11:20:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2024, 11:15:58 PMI'm told that for the first time since 1888 none of the AI winning players in Hurling or Football have a Provincial Senior Medal😲

Tony Kelly, O'Donnell never won?
I don't think Clare won one this Century....?

Clare haven't won Munster since 1998
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Truthsayer

Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2024, 11:15:58 PMI'm told that for the first time since 1888 none of the AI winning players in Hurling or Football have a Provincial Senior Medal😲
True but before 1997 hurling and 2001 football it wasn't possible to have an All Ireland medal without winning the province first...

Quote from: J70 on July 29, 2024, 01:34:43 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on July 29, 2024, 12:51:10 PMDonegal were Divison 2 Winners.. They won in old days of 1a/1b 2a/2b. Think Armagh and maybe some of the Glenn players for Derry and St Brigids players for Roscommon would be the only ones (If you include club All_Ireland medals)

A few of our 1992 team would have played Division 3 in the 80s. Not sure if they topped their group though, and I think at that point qualifiers from all the divisions went into the one knockout series anyway.

Don't think we've dropped below Division 2 since those days.

Armagh are probably the first to actually have Div 3 medals to win an All-Ireland.
Some teams have won All-Irelands from Div 3, such as Kerry in 1969 (who also won the league) but the divisions were geographically based then.

The concept of a Div 3 final with a trophy and medals is a relatively new concept. Previously the most a Div 3 winner would get was a place in the league 1/4 final.

Congratulations to all the good Armagh lads on here, a lot of lads from Armagh involved down they years in my club over here who were all great fella's and had a couple of club trips to Armagh as a child so always had a soft spot for them.

Finding it very difficult shake this glumness off, god knows whats the players are going through.

I was close enough to the Galway warm up and it was very noticeable Sean Kelly was struggling, he needs to look after himself but he'll under pressure from the club has they've aspirations of going vey far this winter. In fairness his replacement D'Arcy had a great game and is another player who's continued to surprise me.

Finnerty a big loss, assume he'd have taken the free Walsh missed given he took the earlier one from a similar distance. Heaney certainly not a like for like replacement and Finnerty's natural scoring threat was clearly missed.

It will be a tough one to shake off, a huge opportunity missed and they don't come around too often. Hope Conroy gives another year, his performances suggest he's more then capable. I wonder will Joyce regret not giving O'Curraoin more game time, his free taking is outstanding and is capable of scoring from well over 50m but the lad is still not 21 yet. That last free Walsh missed was well within his range, just didn't have it in the legs; Him and Comer just don't look right at all. I know some will heavily criticise Walsh but the lad didn't go missing.

Would need to watch it again but that would be difficult, thought Silke had a chance to swing one over with his left when he was around the 21 but turned it down surprisingly.

Think someone mentioned John Daly, I was told he's carrying some sort of knee injury. Lots of rumours about a good few players needing ops, only time will tell.

Quote from: blanketattack on July 30, 2024, 11:08:12 AM
Quote from: J70 on July 29, 2024, 01:34:43 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on July 29, 2024, 12:51:10 PMDonegal were Divison 2 Winners.. They won in old days of 1a/1b 2a/2b. Think Armagh and maybe some of the Glenn players for Derry and St Brigids players for Roscommon would be the only ones (If you include club All_Ireland medals)

A few of our 1992 team would have played Division 3 in the 80s. Not sure if they topped their group though, and I think at that point qualifiers from all the divisions went into the one knockout series anyway.

Don't think we've dropped below Division 2 since those days.

Armagh are probably the first to actually have Div 3 medals to win an All-Ireland.
Some teams have won All-Irelands from Div 3, such as Kerry in 1969 (who also won the league) but the divisions were geographically based then.

The concept of a Div 3 final with a trophy and medals is a relatively new concept. Previously the most a Div 3 winner would get was a place in the league 1/4 final.

I'm not sure what the structure was like in 1998 when Galway won the AI. They emerged from a league group (A) containing Mayo, Leitrim, Laois, Louth, Fermanagh, Carlow, Kilkenny and lost in the 1/4 final to eventual winners Offaly. Not a very auspicious start to that year.

Sportacus

Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 30, 2024, 11:09:27 AMCongratulations to all the good Armagh lads on here, a lot of lads from Armagh involved down they years in my club over here who were all great fella's and had a couple of club trips to Armagh as a child so always had a soft spot for them.

Finding it very difficult shake this glumness off, god knows whats the players are going through.

I was close enough to the Galway warm up and it was very noticeable Sean Kelly was struggling, he needs to look after himself but he'll under pressure from the club has they've aspirations of going vey far this winter. In fairness his replacement D'Arcy had a great game and is another player who's continued to surprise me.

Finnerty a big loss, assume he'd have taken the free Walsh missed given he took the earlier one from a similar distance. Heaney certainly not a like for like replacement and Finnerty's natural scoring threat was clearly missed.

It will be a tough one to shake off, a huge opportunity missed and they don't come around too often. Hope Conroy gives another year, his performances suggest he's more then capable. I wonder will Joyce regret not giving O'Curraoin more game time, his free taking is outstanding and is capable of scoring from well over 50m but the lad is still not 21 yet. That last free Walsh missed was well within his range, just didn't have it in the legs; Him and Comer just don't look right at all. I know some will heavily criticise Walsh but the lad didn't go missing.

Would need to watch it again but that would be difficult, thought Silke had a chance to swing one over with his left when he was around the 21 but turned it down surprisingly.

Think someone mentioned John Daly, I was told he's carrying some sort of knee injury. Lots of rumours about a good few players needing ops, only time will tell.

Go away and sort out all the niggles and more serious injuries, take the league off where necessary, tweak the tactics, and you'll be a serious contender again in 2025.
First time I really appreciated Maher. An absolute horse. He really took it to Armagh. 
I hope Joyce stays.

square_ball

Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 30, 2024, 11:09:27 AMFinnerty a big loss, assume he'd have taken the free Walsh missed given he took the earlier one from a similar distance. Heaney certainly not a like for like replacement and Finnerty's natural scoring threat was clearly missed.

Perhaps a little bit of hindsight but that was a very negative move by Joyce. Armagh must have been delighted to see Finnerty replaced by Heaney. Felt very much like Heaney was going to be the first sub in no matter what happened.

I'm so delighted for Armagh and I'm happy man that we won, genuinely think there's an all Ireland in that Galway team. They have some serious players and It's Armagh's fortune that they had too many players injured and not match fit (not taking anything away from our lads, they've been brilliant) but how the feck did Galway even reach the final is beyond me with their injuries and struggles all year, I guess it was just one match too far for them. If them men can go away and get themselves fit for next year then they'll be hard to stop. Very sporting bunch of fans who congratulated us after the match and I wish them well next year.

It's hard to know where Armagh go from here, I hope there's no retirements and we keep our shoulder to the wheel. There will be 10 Counties thinking they can win it next year and the Championship will be fascinating next year for sure...Ard Mhacha Abu...

genuinely shocked late in second half when galway got a free from distance and shane walsh took it sideways,
surely the keeper should have taken it from the ground

cornerback

Quote from: illdecide on July 30, 2024, 11:43:35 AMI'm so delighted for Armagh and I'm happy man that we won, genuinely think there's an all Ireland in that Galway team. They have some serious players and It's Armagh's fortune that they had too many players injured and not match fit (not taking anything away from our lads, they've been brilliant) but how the feck did Galway even reach the final is beyond me with their injuries and struggles all year, I guess it was just one match too far for them. If them men can go away and get themselves fit for next year then they'll be hard to stop. Very sporting bunch of fans who congratulated us after the match and I wish them well next year.

It's hard to know where Armagh go from here, I hope there's no retirements and we keep our shoulder to the wheel. There will be 10 Counties thinking they can win it next year and the Championship will be fascinating next year for sure...Ard Mhacha Abu...

Maybe for another thread but I don't think there's 10 contenders; a lot can change over the autumn, winter & spring but current contenders would be:

Dublin, Kerry, Armagh, Galway are probably the top 4 going into next years championship.

Donegal, Derry, Mayo & Tyrone and the next batch.  Donegal are primed for a challenge.  The other 3 have a bit of work to do to get back to their recent heights.

To make it up to 10 you would be looking at:
Louth - second season under Brennan will be interesting to see if they progress
Cork - improving but need to take a few more steps upwards
Roscommon - ??

statto

Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 30, 2024, 11:09:27 AMCongratulations to all the good Armagh lads on here, a lot of lads from Armagh involved down they years in my club over here who were all great fella's and had a couple of club trips to Armagh as a child so always had a soft spot for them.

Thought at the time than Tomo Culhane would have been a better option as a replacement as seemed to move Tierney to the corner and thats not his game. 

The only thing I would say with Galway and injuries to those key players is that those key players have been injured for a few years now.They need a rest and Walsh in particular who isn't likely to get one with Kilmacaud. Finnerty has been wrecked since near the AI final and Comer similar. Walsh just seems to fight one thing after another.

As someone said how they go so far with so many injuries is remarkable and I would think there is an AI in them too.

SouthOfThe Bann

Why did the Armagh team go back to a hotel in Louth.

I know its just across the border but is it an Armagh owned hotel?