AI Hurling Championship 2024

Started by johnnycool, April 19, 2024, 11:29:19 AM

Horgan was poor in open play - Leen done somej ob on him. He was good on the frees but nothing stuck in open play.

I thing Duigan re-corrected himself on the tv. He got the time wrong I think.

I hate tv people, straight after a final, asking will X or Y be back next year. Cantwell was doing it at the hotel last night.

Just let the lads and their families etc. enjoy the occasion.

statto

Quote from: marty34 on July 22, 2024, 05:37:29 PMHorgan was poor in open play - Leen done somej ob on him. He was good on the frees but nothing stuck in open play.

I thing Duigan re-corrected himself on the tv. He got the time wrong I think.

I hate tv people, straight after a final, asking will X or Y be back next year. Cantwell was doing it at the hotel last night.

Just let the lads and their families etc. enjoy the occasion.
yeah that annoyed me about cantwell too just let the lads enjoy it it's not a decision to make a couple hours after winning an all Ireland.

She's not great tbh - very forced and it feels like she is looking for a headline all the time. She asked Tony Kelly a question and he had no idea what she was talking about. You compare her with mulkerrins who is totally at ease with herself and it's night and day. I suspect cantwell would be very good at certain roles but I don't think it's the one she's in.

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 22, 2024, 02:30:11 PMThose stats are quite startling tbh if the sunday game ones were corrected. Cork won 2 from 14 of their own puckouts in the first half and Clare scored 4 points of their puckout. Your man Kinurk(spelling) would have been all over that for Limerick.

Cork lost 10 in a row of their own puckouts when going long in the first half.

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 22, 2024, 09:52:57 PMShe's not great tbh - very forced and it feels like she is looking for a headline all the time. She asked Tony Kelly a question and he had no idea what she was talking about. You compare her with mulkerrins who is totally at ease with herself and it's night and day. I suspect cantwell would be very good at certain roles but I don't think it's the one she's in.

True. Mulkerrins is very good on BBC.

I really like Jacqui Hurley also. Great on the radio and very natural on tv. A great personality.

Not sure how Cantwell gets the main gig.

Yeah Hurley is decent too.

You look at those cork puckout stats and they really should have changed things...

Saffrongael

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 23, 2024, 07:35:31 AMYeah Hurley is decent too.

You look at those cork puckout stats and they really should have changed things...

Probably slightly nervous about going short as when they did against Clare in the round robin they got turned over for a goal. But they could have varied it more than down the middle most of the time.
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Saffrongael on July 23, 2024, 09:25:03 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 23, 2024, 07:35:31 AMYeah Hurley is decent too.

Probably slightly nervous about going short as when they did against Clare in the round robin they got turned over for a goal. But they could have varied it more than down the middle most of the time.

Think they got lulled in by the success they had with this one tactic against Limerick twice.

Hard to be critical but I don't think Clare would have persisted with a tactic that was going so wrong, I think the real edge of being battle hardened over a few seasons stood to Clare.

It turns out that Horgan had a hamstring injury throughout the game but played on. He had to be kept on the field for the frees, but it would have cost Cork in other ways.

burdizzo

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 23, 2024, 04:55:26 PMIt turns out that Horgan had a hamstring injury throughout the game but played on. He had to be kept on the field for the frees, but it would have cost Cork in other ways.

Same as Shane O'Donnell - also had a hamstring going into the game.
In fairness, when they took Horgan off near the end in the semi., next thing they got a free, and whoever took it, fluffed it. At the time they could have done with the extra point, and all.

I don't get that.

How could he have a hamstring injury and start, never mind stay on for that amount of time?

It mustn't have been too bad. 

burdizzo

Quote from: marty34 on July 23, 2024, 11:13:22 PMI don't get that.

How could he have a hamstring injury and start, never mind stay on for that amount of time?

Wasn't even strapped. But he said he knew after five minutes he wouldn't be able to sprint.

Quote from: burdizzo on July 24, 2024, 08:00:00 AM
Quote from: marty34 on July 23, 2024, 11:13:22 PMI don't get that.

Wasn't even strapped. But he said he knew after five minutes he wouldn't be able to sprint.

I thought he felt something go in the first few minutes...

Did he have the issue going into the game?

Dalton is a more than capable free taker

burdizzo

Quote from: johnnycool on July 24, 2024, 09:56:28 AMI thought he felt something go in the first few minutes...

Did he have the issue going into the game?

Dalton is a more than capable free taker

Maybe you're right, but I was under the impression he had an issue since the Tuesday. Maybe it was after he slipped, the time he laid it off to Harnedy for the point, that it aggravated it. Anyway, it did occur to me that he wasn't exactly booting it after that.

Dalton was whipped off quite early?

Strange one. Anyone with a hamstring twinge doesn't start, never mind last a game like that. I find that odd. I thought his movement was good but Leen was really aggressive on him, especially in the second half. Leen did not let Horgan get on clean ball - he spoilt every ball and was quicker to the breakdown.

The thing I found strange was after Shanagher gave away a free (another one  :( ) at the death, that Collins took it, rather than Hoggie. I thought at the time that Horgan might have had the distance.  It was far out but I was surprised Horgan didn't have a go at it. Now Collins dropped it around the D. Not sure if the ploy for Cork was to break it/catch it and be close to goal to get a shot off.

Just wasn't Dalton'sday, especially from open play.  The slower puck outs didn't help him and Cork either.  That tactic, V Limerick, worked well but Murphy didn't allow i on Sunday.  He was very frustrated when he came off.