AI Hurling Championship 2024

Started by johnnycool, April 19, 2024, 11:29:19 AM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 11, 2024, 01:36:37 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 11, 2024, 11:16:56 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 11, 2024, 09:18:20 AMI don't think I have ever seen a ref allow a keeper to take puck outs so quickly and that contributed massively.

One thing about Cork is that they hammer it home when they see a weakness. I don't think I have ever seen a team where they have hit a point from the same place and the same player in such quick succession like that and that is the second time they have done it this year. Kingston hit something like 5 the way Dalton hit 3 in a row at the weekend. They just hammer it home.

That being said I am not sure they will win the final...

A few lads on analysis on twitter pointing out how crucial the quick puckout was to Corks gameplan and the number of scores they got from them was unreal.

It prevented Limerick from getting their defensive lines set up and allowed large spaces to appear in the Limerick rearguard.

Clare will be weary of that and will probably try to slow the puck outs down by keeping someone deep in the 6yrd area to get it the keepers way if he does try to go quick.

I think Clare will be happier to be facing Cork than Limerick, they've had the better of Cork in the last few years and also have gotten over KK without playing well at all.

We could be in for a 2013 style classic yet again.

If they do try and slow it down, they'll be warned once and booked a second time, would be a silly booking to get

At intercounty level the lads are outside the 21 before the keeper has a ball in his hand

Refs on either a score or a wide (at that level) give two quick blows, one for the score or wide and one to restart

If I'm standing on the edge of the square, the ball flys wide, surely I'm allowed a "reasonable" amount of time to get outside the 20 metre line?

If I chose to take a line in front of the keeper to do so would just be incidental  ;)

Quote from: johnnycool on July 11, 2024, 01:39:06 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 11, 2024, 01:36:37 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 11, 2024, 11:16:56 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 11, 2024, 09:18:20 AMI don't think I have ever seen a ref allow a keeper to take puck outs so quickly and that contributed massively.

One thing about Cork is that they hammer it home when they see a weakness. I don't think I have ever seen a team where they have hit a point from the same place and the same player in such quick succession like that and that is the second time they have done it this year. Kingston hit something like 5 the way Dalton hit 3 in a row at the weekend. They just hammer it home.

That being said I am not sure they will win the final...

A few lads on analysis on twitter pointing out how crucial the quick puckout was to Corks gameplan and the number of scores they got from them was unreal.

It prevented Limerick from getting their defensive lines set up and allowed large spaces to appear in the Limerick rearguard.

Clare will be weary of that and will probably try to slow the puck outs down by keeping someone deep in the 6yrd area to get it the keepers way if he does try to go quick.

I think Clare will be happier to be facing Cork than Limerick, they've had the better of Cork in the last few years and also have gotten over KK without playing well at all.

We could be in for a 2013 style classic yet again.

If they do try and slow it down, they'll be warned once and booked a second time, would be a silly booking to get

At intercounty level the lads are outside the 21 before the keeper has a ball in his hand

Refs on either a score or a wide (at that level) give two quick blows, one for the score or wide and one to restart

If I'm standing on the edge of the square, the ball flys wide, surely I'm allowed a "reasonable" amount of time to get outside the 20 metre line?

If I chose to take a line in front of the keeper to do so would just be incidental  ;)

My interpretation would be 'he's acting the bollix' if the defenders at intercounty level in a final can get outside the 21 then there is absolutely no reason a forward can't do the same.

These are conversations that the ref will have with the keepers, as long as the defending team is outside I'm happy enough for the keeper to belt out the ball, by the same token if the keeper is acting the bollox slowing it down I just keep adding the time
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Is this Irish Tribune X feed reputable?

inhalers

Need to fill in some pages in the paper, what would be news worthy...

Seany, see if you get me a load of inhalers and throw them on to the counter...

Can't believe that a Munster registered Vehicle  would be on that stretch of the road!

If you are going to come up with a story like that.

Have pictures of the lads all sitting in the changing rooms inhaling inhalers lol

Or someone jumping off the team bus throwing them in the bin

I always wondered how well Galway played in the second half in the football final many years ago when the won it, they came out in the second half and blew them away
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: johnnycool on July 11, 2024, 01:49:54 PMIs this Irish Tribune X feed reputable?

inhalers

Read the crap on it.

Not remotely.

Now we're coming to the end of the Inter County hurling season, what's everyone's take on the final?

Are Cork going to reproduce their semi-final performance and blow Clare out of the water?

Are Clare, now that they've gotten over Kilkenny in an AI semi-final and Ryan Taylor back going to upset the formbook and get one over on Cork for the third time in two years at championship hurling?

Cork will be going in as favourites and rightly so as that once some performance against Limerick, the problem is that they now have to replicate it as a lot of what they did went right for them, very high percentages of their shots resulted in scores and that hasn't always been the case for them.

Clare haven't really hit their normal heights yet here they are in the last two, can Lohan get a lot of their key players up another level?
Kelly, David Fitzgerald, Malone etc etc haven't hit their previous peaks, Duggan in fits and starts, with only Hogan, Leen and David McInerny and O'Donnell really on form.
The rest will need to set up on Sunday and I think they just might.

Much being made of the weakness of their 3 and 6 though, lack of pace, but Conlon isn't easy got past and both will cope well with the high ball if Cork decide to go direct but Cleary won't want much space in front of himself and Brian Hayes.
Clare will need to win clean ball in this area are Cork rely on the ball breaking off and them having the runners bombing through for their goal opportunities..

Roll on Sunday, hoping for a Clare win, but more importantly a good, hard game.

Hoping that it's a good game too, can't see it not being considering there will be a different name on the cup for the last few years.

Cork have beaten Limerick twice this year, after the humiliating defeats in the past these players have evolved into winners.

Replicating that intensity again on Sunday will be the key, if they do then nothing Clare can throw at them will make a difference.

Clare need a few things to go their way, a Cork slump, that's possible considering the mountain they've climbed, or they click and everything they touch goes over or in the back of net.

Cork would be deserving winners but I've a niggling feeling Clare could keep this tight and maybe like last time get their noses in front at the death..

Either way i expect an open enough game with plenty of goal opportunities

No ticket yet  >:(

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 15, 2024, 03:33:49 PMHoping that it's a good game too, can't see it not being considering there will be a different name on the cup for the last few years.

Cork have beaten Limerick twice this year, after the humiliating defeats in the past these players have evolved into winners.

Replicating that intensity again on Sunday will be the key, if they do then nothing Clare can throw at them will make a difference.

Clare need a few things to go their way, a Cork slump, that's possible considering the mountain they've climbed, or they click and everything they touch goes over or in the back of net.

Cork would be deserving winners but I've a niggling feeling Clare could keep this tight and maybe like last time get their noses in front at the death..

Referees in Antrim not get the option of a ticket?

Quote from: johnnycool on July 15, 2024, 05:08:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 15, 2024, 03:33:49 PMHoping that it's a good game too, can't see it not being considering there will be a different name on the cup for the last few years.

Referees in Antrim not get the option of a ticket?

All depends on how much counties get overall .. we do a draw

Db203

i have 4 premium tickets avail for hurling fia=nal if someone has 4 premium for football final to swap?

Crazy stats, Cork have scored four more than conceded over their games while Clare have scored 1 more than their total conceded scores!

3 point win Cork  ;)

Cyril Farrell fan

Cork were within seconds of being out of the championship. Maybe their luck will run out in the final?

Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on July 17, 2024, 09:18:06 PMCork were within seconds of being out of the championship. Maybe their luck will run out in the final?

They've beaten Limerick twice, you'd need a serious amount of luck to do that twice.

That said Clare have shown that they can stick with teams and get over the line, they've also beaten Cork, but lost to Limerick twice, can be too reliant on Shane to get them going.

The first ten minutes will tell, who gets over their nerves first

Cyril Farrell fan

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2024, 10:09:25 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on July 17, 2024, 09:18:06 PMCork were within seconds of being out of the championship. Maybe their luck will run out in the final?

They've beaten Limerick twice, you'd need a serious amount of luck to do that twice.

That said Clare have shown that they can stick with teams and get over the line, they've also beaten Cork, but lost to Limerick twice, can be too reliant on Shane to get them going.

The first ten minutes will tell, who gets over their nerves first
Clare are delighted it's not Limerick they're facing.
They don't fear Cork the same way.