The far right

Started by seafoid, March 28, 2024, 09:32:00 PM

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2025, 09:08:31 AMTough work being a "citizen journalist".

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2025/0707/1522330-philip-dwyer-court/
Almost as if random people can't break the law and claim to be a journalist and get journalistic privilege. Even an actual journalist would need a letter from their editor.

Give that woman back her votes that ye tore up.....
From the I Times --

Kildare Street on Tuesday afternoon after anti-immigrant protesters blocked the main entrance to Leinster House.

The protesters, may of them carrying tricolour flags, had earlier been part of a rally and march on O'Connell Street under the banner Dissolve the Dáil.

About 150 protesters then marched to Kildare Street, where they congregated around the main gates of the complex. They would not move back when requested to by gardaí and Leinster House security staff.

Extra gardaí were drafted into the area. Kildare Street and surrounding streets were blocked off to traffic during this time. The crowd chanted anti-immigrant and anti-politics statements, with some shouting "traitors" and "collaborators" to staff and visitors entering and leaving the complex.

The rally was organised by Kerry businesswoman Michelle Keane, who was an unsuccessful candidate in the last general election. She has taken a High Court action against the State claiming that votes were "torn" out of ballot boxes in Kerry.

Those who attended the rally began congregating outside the Dáil at 2pm and were still blocking the entrance two hours later.

By evening, the protesters were no longer at the front gate and traffic had returned to normal.

tyroneStatto

Is she the one that met with Loyalists?

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: clarshack on July 08, 2025, 09:22:59 PMIs she the one that met with Loyalists?
Yep. They all do.

Quote from: Rossfan on July 09, 2025, 12:05:52 PMAnother "citizen journalist"(sic).... not even a slap on the wrist....

https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/livestreaming-citizen-journalist-was-riling-up-immigration-protesters/a638744570.html

I've told you before these lads are only a distraction. I wouldn't waste my time posting this up.

Take more interest in the real issues - Housing, Democracy, the overbearing influence of the EU, the continued immigration of our youth from rural areas, Our Health system, the Fianna Fail - Fine Gael monopoly on Government, The lack of a creditable opposition......

Is it people that need government handouts that do most of the protesting, cause it's being sold that it will affect their benefits? And the rest are just racists?

If your life is being affected by a very small percentage of immigrants/asylum/migrants who come with virtually nothing then you need to give your head a wobble...

The girls are being attacked is a good sound bite, but I've yet to see them burning down too many churches over the years, so Father Pat was ok.

Also there has been a housing crisis in the south long before this has been an issue
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2025, 01:10:31 PMI'll bite...

Take more interest in the real issues -
Housing
A disaster, needs to be an emergency declared for say 3 years, and if needs be CPO derelict run down properties, build sociable and  affordable homes with a quick planning system.

Democracy
We have elections, people stand as candidates, voters decide. What's the problem.,

the overbearing influence of the EU,
We are voluntary members of a 27 sovereign States co op.
Free access to a narket of 450,000,000.
An awful lot of jobs dependent on EU membership. We don't want to go back to the 1950s/Albania.

the continued immigration* of our youth from rural areas

Voluntary now unlike my young days or our parents when it was a necessity. My pair both have jobs near home. Neighbours 2 sons work full time from home at jobs in Dublin and London. Relation works in Dublin 2 days, from home 3 days.

Our Health system,

Must do much better but is Paddy and Patricia prepared to pay for it?

the Fianna Fail - Fine Gael monopoly on Government, The lack of a creditable opposition......

As said above we have elections, the people vote....

*I presume you mean emigration?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2025, 01:16:43 PMIs it people that need government handouts that do most of the protesting, cause it's being sold that it will affect their benefits? And the rest are just racists?

If your life is being affected by a very small percentage of immigrants/asylum/migrants who come with virtually nothing then you need to give your head a wobble...

The girls are being attacked is a good sound bite, but I've yet to see them burning down too many churches over the years, so Father Pat was ok.

Also there has been a housing crisis in the south long before this has been an issue

The Unemployed protest because they have the time to protest. The 'we need to protect our women' is an older than old scare  tactic.

Of course the Housing Crisis is not new. All the more to be upset about it as an issue.

The lack of incentives by the government to make this country a place young people would want to live in, contributed to and grow old in - is the worst part of modern society in taking care of it young people.

Kids have left for years as opportunities elsewhere have provided a better life, staying here isn't the be and end  of all, the young ones see the world differently, the experience might work out and if it doesn't the can always come home. But from what I can see there are great jobs here, better from when I grew up and I'd no incentives to stay, so I'm not sure what why they should get incentives and we didn't 

The world is a lot smaller than before and the ability to facetime mammy and the rest is probably better than the once a week trek to the parents house

The housing needs sorting... Whats wrong with making new towns/villages? when was teh last time a new town was built, rather than an older one being made bigger and making services for everyone there more difficult to use
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Rossfan -

To be honest -  I wasn't looking for a bite.

It was just a statement that distractions like your post and just highlighting people who are in the main fools.

We are in unsettled times. We are in a constant flux of lies and half truths.

It has become impossible to almost discern between the truth and the lie. 

Journalism is at it's lowest ebb and the fear of being cancelled or ostracised huge.

This has always happened - We only have to look at our own Island and the lies we were feed from both the UK and Ireland about - The Famine, The Civil war, The Northern Problem, Northern Catholics, The IRA, Civil rights, Magdellan laundries.

Both Downing Street and Leinster House were complicit in many lies.

Much on the complicity south of the border had to do with Irelands reliance on people emigrating to Britain for work and not affecting their life there. 

Dag Dog

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2025, 01:16:43 PMIs it people that need government handouts that do most of the protesting, cause it's being sold that it will affect their benefits? And the rest are just racists?
If they're on a housing list and think new arrivals are getting equal or preferential treatment, they get annoyed.
Also, they probably don't like when immigrants arrive and start working for a living and better themselves.

Deerstalker

Quote from: Dag Dog on July 09, 2025, 02:55:37 PM
If they're on a housing list and think new arrivals are getting equal or preferential treatment, they get annoyed.
Also, they probably don't like when immigrants arrive and start working for a living and better themselves.

Like this one from today's Examiner ?

An unemployed father of four who could not explain almost €60,000 lodged into his accounts over four months and was receiving six other people's Pandemic Unemployment Payment (PUP) has been jailed.

Stefan Muntean, a Romanian national with an address at Meadowbrook, Athlone, Co Westmeath, was handed a three-year sentence by Judge Keenan Johnson at Mullingar Circuit Criminal Court.

The 39-year-old, who was on social welfare, pleaded guilty to money laundering using his account in his local credit union and the finance app Revolut, and welfare fraud in 2022.

The investigation was triggered when the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau's financial intelligence unit became aware of suspicious transactions.

Athlone-based Detective Garda Kenneth Nerney said that from July 1 to October 24, 2022, Muntean had €48,752 put through his Revolut account. The source of these funds could not be identified, with Muntean telling officers that unnamed friends or relatives transferred some money to him.

Unexplained cash lodgements to his credit union account came to about €11,000 from May 18 to November 25, 2022. Detective Garda James Martin stated that the probe identified six PPS numbers of individuals not residing in Ireland at the time but who were receiving PUP support, totalling €16,786, and which was also paid into Muntean's credit union account.

The PUP was a temporary social welfare payment for employees and self-employed individuals who were out of work due to covid-19. Judge Johnson described them as serious offences that were a fraud on the State.

Over that time, he spent €90,000 in an online casino and withdrew €68,622 from his gambling account. Muntean, with prior convictions for theft and trespass, had been entitled to a carer's allowance to look after his father and had worked intermittently.

Gardaí accepted he had no display of wealth, the court heard. Desmond Dockery SC, defending, said his client was admitting he was reckless in allowing his account to be used for the pandemic payments.

In a plea for leniency, the defence said Muntean, who came to Ireland almost 20 years ago, was a member of the Roma community who suffered with health issues, had a gambling habit, now lives in squalor and was estranged from his family.

The accused, who listened to the proceedings with the aid of an interpreter, did not address the court.

Passing sentence, Judge Johnson said the money laundering offence attracted a headline prison term of seven years. Taking into account his guilty plea and the mitigation, he reduced it to five years and six months.

However, he suspended two and a half years on condition that Muntean did not re-offend for five years. A concurrent two-year term was imposed for the PUP fraud.