RG at arms length

Started by seafoid, May 15, 2023, 11:40:53 AM

Champion The Wonder Horse

Anyone else remember the late gaaboard poster whose father was stabbed to death by someone who went on to chair a GAA club?

Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 11, 2026, 10:22:42 PM
Quote from: DaleCooper on February 11, 2026, 08:56:30 PM"Following long running court proceedings in Family Courts in both jurisdictions, I was granted a full Residence Order in respect of our three young children on February 17 2023. This outcome was recommended by social services" [RG statement at time]

No one seems to realise she has v strong motive to ruin him, as she obviously views him as responsible for ruining her life.

If it isnt proven in a court of law its hearsay.
I remember reading a post by a social worker at the time that explained why him getting custody of the kids meant nothing with regards to the allegations and are to do his wife's own issues that she was dealing with. The fact he got custody of the kids has no bearing on the allegations. Anyone making a comment on it either way is definitely hearsay, but people can and will make a call on what they think is most likely. I certainly know what I think. Do I think Burns should have got involved, No. Do I think Derry  should have walked away and just said given the allegations it would be better for all parties to part ways, and for Naas to have more sense, then yes. I think that saves the GAA as a organisation getting involved in a situation that was extremely difficult given the lack of prosecution.

That would be many, many people on this board. Think it was used by RG himself as well, no?

Hand of God

Quote from: David McKeown on February 11, 2026, 07:48:27 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on February 11, 2026, 06:44:32 PMMy position is that I think Burns intervening in this process came to the right outcome - regardless of due process or whatever protocols might be needed. That for me is something going down the line.

What Gallagher has been accused for me is monstrous and there is no extenuating circumstance for those actions he has been accused of as it was sustained over a long number of years. There are only the extreme scale as far as active GAA members go. Only he and his wife will know the full story but the people who seem willing to give him the benefit of the doubt look to be hiding behind technicalities. The allegations are there, they will never go away and due to the commentary around it seem very well supported and credible.

I don't think Burns comes out badly of it, I think the clubs and counties still courting him with all this in the public domain come out horribly. It's a place Burns should never have needed to intervene but these clubs put him in that spot.

What technicalities are people hiding behind?

He hasn't been convicted so the allegations should hold no weight.

The exact same thing applies in the Mason Greenwood case. Some clubs won't touch him and rightly so, others do and shame on them.

Quote from: gallsman on February 11, 2026, 10:26:39 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 11, 2026, 10:22:42 PM
Quote from: DaleCooper on February 11, 2026, 08:56:30 PM"Following long running court proceedings in Family Courts in both jurisdictions, I was granted a full Residence Order in respect of our three young children on February 17 2023. This outcome was recommended by social services" [RG statement at time]

No one seems to realise she has v strong motive to ruin him, as she obviously views him as responsible for ruining her life.

If it isnt proven in a court of law its hearsay.
I remember reading a post by a social worker at the time that explained why him getting custody of the kids meant nothing with regards to the allegations and are to do his wife's own issues that she was dealing with. The fact he got custody of the kids has no bearing on the allegations. Anyone making a comment on it either way is definitely hearsay, but people can and will make a call on what they think is most likely. I certainly know what I think. Do I think Burns should have got involved, No. Do I think Derry  should have walked away and just said given the allegations it would be better for all parties to part ways, and for Naas to have more sense, then yes. I think that saves the GAA as a organisation getting involved in a situation that was extremely difficult given the lack of prosecution.

That would be many, many people on this board. Think it was used by RG himself as well, no?
Sorry my sentence might not have been that well written when re-reading it. Kind of ran two points together. One,  that getting custody of the kids is no defence of the allegations, but rather a reflection of the issues his wife was dealing with.
And secondly anyone commenting on the case is engaging in hearsay as Dale mentioned. That's all we have in the absence of a conviction. But that works both ways, in that anyone trying to claim a lack of conviction is proof of innocence. That is not the case.
Yes I believe RG tried to push the narrative that getting custody of the kids in someway exonerates him. Which wouldn't be the case.

No no, I get it. I'm pointing out that lots of posters pushed the "sure didn't the courts give him custody" line.

There definitely was. I'm assuming Dale was doing just that in his post above. Or maybe just pointing out RG's attempt to use it. I'm not sure.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 11, 2026, 10:25:28 PMAnyone else remember the late gaaboard poster whose father was stabbed to death by someone who went on to chair a GAA club?
Yes. ardmhachaabu.
He and his family challenged the GAA club about that and got nowhere.
The GAA club no longer exists.

Mario

His Instagram page is back with some good analysis of the Tyrone Derry game

Quote from: Main Street on February 11, 2026, 10:24:35 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on February 11, 2026, 06:44:32 PMMy position is that I think Burns intervening in this process came to the right outcome - regardless of due process or whatever protocols might be needed. That for me is something going down the line.

What Gallagher has been accused for me is monstrous and there is no extenuating circumstance for those actions he has been accused of as it was sustained over a long number of years. There are only the extreme scale as far as active GAA members go. Only he and his wife will know the full story but the people who seem willing to give him the benefit of the doubt look to be hiding behind technicalities. The allegations are there, they will never go away and due to the commentary around it seem very well supported and credible.

I don't think Burns comes out badly of it, I think the clubs and counties still courting him with all this in the public domain come out horribly. It's a place Burns should never have needed to intervene but these clubs put him in that spot.

One technicality is that Gallagher was awarded full custody therefore that process was assumed to anoint him with an aura of innocence  re the allegations of spousal abuse.
In fact, the custody court process does not in any shape or form deal with those abuse accusations. especially "unproven" allegations. They are are not a part of that court's criteria. Yes Gallagher was determined fit  enough to be awarded full custody, in the context of an intelligent caring responsible father being represented by a sharp legal team and faced with a mother, a clearly unfit mother with evident addiction issues and also clearly a woman beaten down.

That's not right at all. If allegations such as these were made in the family court and we aren't privy to whether they were or not the Court is required to conduct fact finding hearings. Both parents will almost certainly be legally  represented. The children as well will likely be represented.  Court children's officers and other social workers will be involved.

That doesn't mean the family courts determination will be correct, no court is infallible but it's not correct to suggest that the case would not have had to deal with the allegations. If they were made it would have had to deal with them.

Get away from the RG story and concentrate on who has the authority or even professional background to assume their own assumption is correct based on hearsay and where does that leave it to not being abused?

We've seen enough injustices to accept one persons view as being 'truth'

Some it seems are happy to believe what people tell them or what they want to believe

As for ardmhachaabu! I worked with him for years, IT manager at Springvale, bonkers fella but always good craic at work

His father was murdered by a chairman of a GAA club, he served time for it but he'd no idea who it was until made aware to him. His family felt it brought about his sudden death when h e unintentionally bumped into him

I knew both very well..
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Hand of God on February 11, 2026, 10:26:46 PM

The exact same thing applies in the Mason Greenwood case. Some clubs won't touch him and rightly so, others do and shame on them.

An acquittal should hold little weight but we aren't just dealing with an acquittal.

We are dealing with a case that was, as I understand investigated by the Guards and twice by the PSNI. All three investigations after looking at all the evidence recommended no prosecution and didn't even think to charge RG which is a very low threshold. From there the PPS, who in my experience would be overly cautious and would almost always err on the side of prosecuting in domestic abuse cases decided not once but four times (twice on consideration of initial files and twice on review) not to prosecute. That added to the determination of the family court are all factors that have to be taken into consideration.

These aren't technicalities and whilst none are determinative of the matter, particularly as we aren't privy to the reasons for each, they are relevant factors that ought to be taken into account.

DaleCooper

Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 11, 2026, 10:51:56 PMThere definitely was. I'm assuming Dale was doing just that in his post above. Or maybe just pointing out RG's attempt to use it. I'm not sure.

The only ruling in a court went in his favour. It doesnt mean hes innocent of abuse. PPS did not believe they had enough to push for a conviction, which is interesting given claims made online that would seem strong enough evidence. 

If anything hopefully it will be a learning experience, as they should not be contributing to a pile on based on claims made by an aggrieved party with cause for revenge.

If he took his own life in wake of Burns intervention where would the GAA stand?

tiempo

Quote from: DaleCooper on February 11, 2026, 11:24:17 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 11, 2026, 10:51:56 PMThere definitely was. I'm assuming Dale was doing just that in his post above. Or maybe just pointing out RG's attempt to use it. I'm not sure.

The only ruling in a court went in his favour. It doesnt mean hes innocent of abuse. PPS did not believe they had enough to push for a conviction, which is interesting given claims made online that would seem strong enough evidence. 

If anything hopefully it will be a learning experience, as they should not be contributing to a pile on based on claims made by an aggrieved party with cause for revenge.

If he took his own life in wake of Burns intervention where would the GAA stand?

A point i made previously, the suicide rate among men linked to family court proceedings and child maintenance service applications is x14 the UK average

Jarlath is playing fast and loose with the real life of a man and his family to launch a virtue signalling initiative

The GAA is fast becoming a a bastion for slogans

Where we all belong - except Rory Gallagher cus Jarlath Burns needed to make an example of someone to launch Game Changer

In reality Jarlath brought the GAA into disrepute with a gross overreach that in a professional setting would have cost him his job

Quote from: David McKeown on February 11, 2026, 11:21:47 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on February 11, 2026, 10:26:46 PM

An acquittal should hold little weight but we aren't just dealing with an acquittal.

We are dealing with a case that was, as I understand investigated by the Guards and twice by the PSNI. All three investigations after looking at all the evidence recommended no prosecution and didn't even think to charge RG which is a very low threshold. From there the PPS, who in my experience would be overly cautious and would almost always err on the side of prosecuting in domestic abuse cases decided not once but four times (twice on consideration of initial files and twice on review) not to prosecute. That added to the determination of the family court are all factors that have to be taken into consideration.

These aren't technicalities and whilst none are determinative of the matter, particularly as we aren't privy to the reasons for each, they are relevant factors that ought to be taken into account.
Certainly wouldn't be letting whether the police have decided not to charge him or not have any bearing on what you think of the whole thing. They wouldn't exactly be known for competency, look at the whole Johnathan Cresswell situation for starters.

tiempo

Therein lies the basis for a witch hunt

Tyranny and the absence of nuance springs to mind