Wedding Venues

Started by Mac Eoghain, June 05, 2007, 10:57:52 AM

got it

Now smoking ban is here, anywhere is good!

phppearce,
Im getting "done" in the nuremore next year myself. Havent been to any there myself but the in laws have and it seems the business.
I also had a look at cabra etc but liked the staff at the nuremore as much as everything else.

Ballymac only do one wedding a day as well.

mooncatiii

try the vineyard in Lurgan.  offers a spacious environment and the scenary around it is picturesque
shazam

Been to a wedding in Cabra Castle myself and can't beat it for surroundings and it's not that big a drive depending where in Armagh you are.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 05, 2007, 01:49:29 PM
f**king hell its getting worse. i come on here to get away from this kinda talk!
I'm with you (only seven weeks to the high jump myself)

But while I'm here I'll throw in my tupence worth - Ballymac, Darver Castle, Nuremore all good spots, maybe even the park hotel in Dundalk

FarneyMan

Got married in the Slieve Russell a month ago !  Top quality, beats all the other local hotels in my opinion..........

Was in the Slieve Russell a while back too farneyman
Good location & good food
Only issue was the residents bar didnt stay open for too long :-\

Quote from: Square Ball on September 25, 2007, 12:17:19 PM
Bump

good bump squareball i thought i was reading a similiar thread a few weeks ago

been to two weddings at cabra castle - food was dire each time
did any of you who tasted the food eat when you were sober. As I was driving, I wasnt boozing.
I couldnt recommend it.

The other thing I'd say was that from the outside and the name Cabra looks and sounds good.
its shabby enough inside, it reminds me on that way over rated kip - kinnity castle - which I also experienced a poor wedding and bad food at.
think these places rely on their 'castley ' image to get by on and dont then concentrate on the food and interior decor - which imo is far more important.

Didnt think the much heralded food in harveys point was much to look at, though the place itself (while dark) was nice and picture-esque

Nuremore was a superb spot with great food when I was at two diff weddings there.
Ballymac was quite good too.
Slieve Russell was excellent also.

small white mayoman

i don't know lads but i think the whole wedding day is overrated. Firstly your a nervous wreck you can't relax untill the speeches are out of the way and you can't spend that long talking to the people that are there, the day just flies buy and next thing you know you have 20grand spent . The next time i get married ;) i'm going to feck off to cyprus or italy with my family and closest friends and have one hell of a party
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

Recent experience of attending weddings in bothe Cabra and Nuremore and both are top class.

Unlike lynchbhoy, I thought the food was lovely in Cabra and I was sober too.

We got married in Slieve Russell and the service was great and food was lovely.  I don't know about any other hotels, but they sent us a voucher for a weekend for two a few weeks before our first anniversary which was a nice touch.  The reidents bar was still serving at half 5 so we were very impressed.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 25, 2007, 02:09:02 PM
We got married in Slieve Russell and the service was great and food was lovely.  I don't know about any other hotels, but they sent us a voucher for a weekend for two a few weeks before our first anniversary which was a nice touch.  The reidents bar was still serving at half 5 so we were very impressed.

Well for you bc
Residents bar stopped around 3.30 - thought it was very early :-\

Not too surprised about the bad press Cabra is getting myself, never attended a wedding there, but delivered Fruit & Veg to it many moons ago, was not impressed with the kitchens!!

Got hitched back in July and had the reception in the Station House Hotel in Kilmessan, Co Meath and I would have to give it a 10/10
* They can only cater for one wedding a day
* They are wedding specialists and are brilliant at their job
* The food was amazing, we had five course meal with choices for each course and it only cost about €36 per head (we got married on a monday, they give us 30% off the menu cost) The main course was a choice of Beef or Seafood Medley (Salmon, Hake & Sea Bass- Amazing)
* We had 125 at ours, the room is perfect for anyting up to 135, after this it is getting cramped, but for numbers in the low hundreds it is intimate
Seriously couldn't recommend them highly enough
http://www.thestationhousehotel.com/multi/default.asp?itemId=279