Ros 4 up now. Would the real Derry stand up

oakleaflad

Derry Ros ended a draw 0-12 each.

Quote from: seafoid on March 13, 2022, 02:43:50 PM

Brolly not entertained sounded shite enough.

If we beat Meath we are up it looks like and still unbeaten so can't really complain fair play to the lads!

Champion The Wonder Horse

Quote from: screenexile on March 13, 2022, 03:42:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 13, 2022, 02:43:50 PM

Brolly not entertained sounded shite enough.

If we beat Meath we are up it looks like and still unbeaten so can't really complain fair play to the lads!

Not so sure. I reckon if we beat Galway, we're definitely going up. If we lose we won't go up, since Roscommon are likely to win there last two games in such a scenario.

Awful performance in Tuam.  So many issues that are not being addressed or improved namely kick-outs, transition from defence to attack, midfield, support runners for the man in possession etc.  We are so much less than the sum of our parts right now.  Need to win one of our final 2 games to go back to Div 1 which we just might manage although it's hard to have much confidence that we will beat either Ros or Derry away, that for sure.  One thing that is sure is that we will get pummelled by Mayo in Castlebar next month, miles off that level based on our league games to date. 

Meath and Offaly wins . Now it gets interesting

Quote from: oakleaflad on March 13, 2022, 03:41:24 PM

Ros led 8-4 at half time and Derry won the 2nd half 8-4. A Div 4 standard ref destroyed the quality of the contest.

Promotion going down to the last round its seems but Galway can be promoted if they win next weekend.

Much improved performance. Really missed Menton the last few games. Cork are under performing this year so I won't look too much into it. Clare are beatable but Derry are looking impressive so that will be a true test of us. Division 2 looking much safer but no garrauntees with this team so far.

Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 13, 2022, 05:54:53 PM

Ros led 8-4 at half time and Derry won the 2nd half 8-4. A Div 4 standard ref destroyed the quality of the contest.

Promotion going down to the last round its seems but Galway can be promoted if they win next weekend.
The wind was worth 4 points
Will Ros and Galway  echo Germany and Austria at the 82 World Cup and keep Derry (Algeria) out ?

Quote from: seafoid on March 13, 2022, 08:03:21 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 13, 2022, 05:54:53 PM

The wind was worth 4 points
Will Ros and Galway  echo Germany and Austria at the 82 World Cup and keep Derry (Algeria) out ?

That's an unfair reflection on Galway. They beat us next week, they're promoted with a week to spare and are fully entitled to rest players the following week. That's why next week is do or die for us.

A game we shoulda won from 10- 4 up, had to get a late point to draw the game.
Probably a fair result overall and probably sounds the death knell for our Promotion hopes.
First real test this year which we half passed but a lot if questions remain.
Other than this sentence I won't make any further comments on the poor standard of the Ref or the absolute hateful trampish behaviour of the visitors' manager, many of their players and at least 1 supporter.

An Fhairche Abu

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on March 13, 2022, 04:39:42 PM
Awful performance in Tuam.  So many issues that are not being addressed or improved namely kick-outs, transition from defence to attack, midfield, support runners for the man in possession etc.  We are so much less than the sum of our parts right now.  Need to win one of our final 2 games to go back to Div 1 which we just might manage although it's hard to have much confidence that we will beat either Ros or Derry away, that for sure.  One thing that is sure is that we will get pummelled by Mayo in Castlebar next month, miles off that level based on our league games to date.
It's important to get back to Division One, mental to have 10 points on the board not be assured but it's the mini league with Rossies and Derry that will decide the two to go up. Would be disaster to not make it up, have a feeling it will come down to a winner take all game against Roscommon.
I'd be worried about the Mayo game but I think the issues you outlined there are not things that can be completely fixed in 6 weeks, I would have expected to see improvements in the matches against what is, outside of Rossies and Derry, a really, really poor crop of Division Two teams this year, but haven't really. There's patches in games where it looks OK but not at a consistent enough level, it's not like it's been a different selection of players every week either. Certain areas such as FB line and midfield plenty of questions still. Tackling technique is good one minute and awful the next, conceding way too many goals.
Get a win in one of the next two matches and actually show up against Mayo then the performances to date won't matter but it's been much the same team in every match and it doesn't look like one that will get near the top teams in championship.
Comer fully fit and scoring is big plus and Sean Kelly would make any team in the country, if Shane Walsh is on form then there's 3 lads that take serious minding, up to other players like Finnerty and McDaid that are around the panel a while now need to step up into bigger roles or we'll go nowhere in the summer. Pity Cooke isn't available, could really do with him as an option out around the middle. Might seem strange to have so many Galway supporters unhappy after 5 wins from 5 but for anyone who has been at the matches, they can see what's coming down the tracks, the standard in Division Two is so far off Division One it's hard to believe and Cork who are an absolute mess of an outfit stuck 2-17 past Galway.
Mayo are going into April with zero respect for and zero fear of Galway, at the end of the day there's no valid argument to be made saying it should be otherwise either.