Started by Orior, December 29, 2020, 11:37:46 AM

Angelo

Quote from: dublin7 on December 30, 2020, 04:24:51 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 04:13:06 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on December 30, 2020, 03:59:22 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 03:51:03 PM
Unionism cannot be reasoned with.

Anyone who is trying to say they can is utterly deluded and living in some sort of alternate universe.

Die hard republicanism can't be reasoned with either. One of the reasons I can't see a united Ireland is due to to the die hards on both sides who'll refuse to meet in the middle.

Ah yes, another utterly ignorant free stater with the "both as bad as each other" argument. The thing is you don't have the slightest clue of what you are talking about.

If you want to know anything about unionism, look at Brexit. Unionists cutting their nose off to spite their face and show what uber Brits they are.

SF not exactly covering themselves in glory either.. Using a funeral to put on a political show and arranging  a mass turn out during a pandemic when they should have done the exact opposite and told everyone to stay at home

Did FG and the Gardai not also use the funeral of a Garda to put on a show and had a mass turnout that breached loads of regulations.

Nicely buried by the media with TDs and high ranking Gardai attending.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Quote from: dublin7 on December 30, 2020, 09:18:45 PM

DUP don't like SF and SF don't the DUP. SF play the Republican card to get votes and the DUP play the unionist card. Until a viable option to either party becomes a realistic voting option you'll have a government made up of SF/DUP. What you get then is the current stormont executive were both parties in gov disagree on practically everything and nothing gets done or achieves

Yeah, pity we didn't have Fianna Fail and Fine Gael to vote for. One who ruined the f**king country a few years back and should never be allowed near the levers of power in a million years, the other a shower of Blueshirt West Brit bastards who would happily piss on the poor... And both as corrupt as each other.

Sectarian and irredentist politics is the problem, it breeds suspicion and when you have terminal suspicion, you have a failed state

Part of the problem is that one of SF's core principles is that NI can only ever be a failed state - so they have a vested interest that it will always fail - it's pretty disastrous for governance that one of the ruling parties has an interest that the state is a failure, isn't it, they don't take their seats in Westminster therefore no representation

Then the other main ruling party are flat earther culture warriors whose greatest ambition is to live to see somebody else invent a time machine so they can go back and live in 1690

So the first thing you do is get rid of SF and the DUP and only the voters can do that

Party politics which runs along the lines it does in the north is a disaster - but clearly a UUP-SDLP coalition would be better than SF-DUP, like don't tell me NI would not have been better served with Mike Nesbitt and Colum Eastwood at the helm rather than Punch and Judy

I've often wondered what you do if you're a left-wing Unionist, there's nobody to vote for, maybe the Green Party, do People Before Profit up there have any Protestant candidates

Plenty of other places have had sectarian or ethnic strife and overcome it, Liverpool used to be a deeply sectarian city but now has a fierce sense of collective identity and sectarianism is basically non-existent, you make a collective decision as a people that everybody has a vested interest in making society work rather than it failing

NI has only ever been imagined as a transient thing - it's a bit like the way transient renters have no vested interest in taking care of a property - maybe if it went independent it would have a vested interest in being a success rather than a failure

Another naive free stater - typical Trump tactics.

Let's usurp democracy because I don't like it.

Angelo

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 30, 2020, 05:17:43 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 05:04:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 30, 2020, 04:53:07 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 04:11:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 30, 2020, 03:57:48 PM

Anyone who is trying to say they can is utterly deluded and living in some sort of alternate universe.

It's changed, if I look at unionism from the day I started work (88) to now, it's changed dramatically, it still needs to change, but so do republicans.

Why are working class communities like Tigers Bay and the Shankhill returning DUP candidates who are completely at odds with those from working class communities? It's always been the same with unionism, they cut their nose off to spite their face.

It's either DUP Arlene and co, PUP (the equivalent of SF) or UUP in those areas. They are picking the ones that won't back down to SF, that's the only policy that will get people out to vote in those areas.

Green orange votes needs to change? the middle rd unionist might go back to UUP or Alliance, which lives DUP or PUP and since David Ervine's death no one within that group has the intellect to control the hot heads.

The PUP are a much more agreeable aspect of loyalism than the DUP are in all honesty.

The PUP have their hands dripped in sectarian murder, the DUP were the ones who stoked up the atmosphere for sectarian murder but did not want to get their hands dirty.

All of unionism is absolutely drenched in sectarian hatred - UUP, DUP, TUV, PUP.

What is striking is that working class loyalist areas vote for the DUP over the PUP. That's amazing and tells you all you need to know about how entrenched loyalism is.

PUP haven't a voice ffs, they haven't the intellect nor the money to have a sustainable assault on working class politics! Can you imagine the likes of a Jo  Bunting being a leader?

There's not too many political parties that haven't blood on their hands, alliance, greens, PBP, and SDLP bring blood free (though I'll hold judgement on one SDLP member during one period)

Would you rather Jo Bunting in? If you do, then in all honesty you need your head looked at.

Working class Protestants  in Belfast would never have voted DUP, in fact David Irvine expressed his disgust at the DUP and their views.

There is a void there willing to be filled with a sensible political party in working class unionist areas, but while people will listen to the likes of that wee twat Bryson they will continue to divide.

Only if a middle green and orange party has power, we won't get everyone or a majority onboard!

Who have working class Protestants always voted for?

TBH the only real difference between the UUP and DUP is which church service they attend.

Working class protestants have consistently returned UUP/DUP bigots and will always continue to do so. They are indoctrinated to do so.

Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 09:35:02 PM

Die hard republicanism can't be reasoned with either. One of the reasons I can't see a united Ireland is due to to the die hards on both sides who'll refuse to meet in the middle.

Ah yes, another utterly ignorant free stater with the "both as bad as each other" argument. The thing is you don't have the slightest clue of what you are talking about.

If you want to know anything about unionism, look at Brexit. Unionists cutting their nose off to spite their face and show what uber Brits they are.

SF not exactly covering themselves in glory either.. Using a funeral to put on a political show and arranging  a mass turn out during a pandemic when they should have done the exact opposite and told everyone to stay at home

Did FG and the Gardai not also use the funeral of a Garda to put on a show and had a mass turnout that breached loads of regulations.

Never mind their wee "golfgate".

The cabal of the establishment.

Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 09:38:01 PM

It's changed, if I look at unionism from the day I started work (88) to now, it's changed dramatically, it still needs to change, but so do republicans.

Why are working class communities like Tigers Bay and the Shankhill returning DUP candidates who are completely at odds with those from working class communities? It's always been the same with unionism, they cut their nose off to spite their face.

It's either DUP Arlene and co, PUP (the equivalent of SF) or UUP in those areas. They are picking the ones that won't back down to SF, that's the only policy that will get people out to vote in those areas.

Green orange votes needs to change? the middle rd unionist might go back to UUP or Alliance, which lives DUP or PUP and since David Ervine's death no one within that group has the intellect to control the hot heads.

The PUP are a much more agreeable aspect of loyalism than the DUP are in all honesty.

The PUP have their hands dripped in sectarian murder, the DUP were the ones who stoked up the atmosphere for sectarian murder but did not want to get their hands dirty.

All of unionism is absolutely drenched in sectarian hatred - UUP, DUP, TUV, PUP.

What is striking is that working class loyalist areas vote for the DUP over the PUP. That's amazing and tells you all you need to know about how entrenched loyalism is.

PUP haven't a voice ffs, they haven't the intellect nor the money to have a sustainable assault on working class politics! Can you imagine the likes of a Jo  Bunting being a leader?

There's not too many political parties that haven't blood on their hands, alliance, greens, PBP, and SDLP bring blood free (though I'll hold judgement on one SDLP member during one period)

Would you rather Jo Bunting in? If you do, then in all honesty you need your head looked at.

Working class Protestants  in Belfast would never have voted DUP, in fact David Irvine expressed his disgust at the DUP and their views.

There is a void there willing to be filled with a sensible political party in working class unionist areas, but while people will listen to the likes of that wee twat Bryson they will continue to divide.

Only if a middle green and orange party has power, we won't get everyone or a majority onboard!

TBH the only real difference between the UUP and DUP is which church service they attend.

Working class protestants have consistently returned UUP/DUP bigots and will always continue to do so. They are indoctrinated to do so.

People in the 26 counties don't understand unionism.  They haven't a clue.

In the 1920's, there was sectarian pogroms (check out On this Day in the Irish News), the same in the late 60's and more recently at Drumcree etc. 

The free staters think that you can talk to unionists, debate with them and everything will be ok.  We've seen from Brexit that they'd sell their granny to appear more British than Finchley, even at their own expense never mind knowing that Boris was always going to shaft them.

Angelo

Quote from: marty34 on December 30, 2020, 09:47:36 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 09:38:01 PM

In the 1920's, there was sectarian pogroms (check out On this Day in the Irish News), the same in the late 60's and more recently at Drumcree etc. 

The free staters think that you can talk to unionists, debate with them and everything will be ok.  We've seen from Brexit that they'd sell their granny to appear more British than Finchley, even at their own expense never mind knowing that Boris was always going to shaft them.

Precisely.

Engaging with unionism is equivalent to engaging with the KKK.

All they stand for is Protestant supremacy, that is the overriding stape of their culture.

Now of course it doesn't apply to all Protestants in the O6 but it does apply to them in the majority of cases a voting bloc.

When Willie Frazer brought his band of bigots down south to march in Dublin, how were they welcomed?

sid waddell

Quote from: marty34 on December 30, 2020, 09:36:19 PM

You claim to be for democracy and then immediately demonstrate your opposition to it

Some amount of cognitive dissonance there

It's pretty obvious nobody can talk to you or debate with you anyway

Angelo

Quote from: sid waddell on December 30, 2020, 10:07:28 PM

Are you for

You claim to be for democracy and then immediately demonstrate your opposition to it

You should take your own advice on board, Sid.

Because cognitive dissonance is you down to a tee. You are a walking talking contradiction.

sid waddell

Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 10:08:27 PM

Are you for

Because cognitive dissonance is you down to a tee. You are a walking talking contradiction.
Another one that can't be talked to

A Catholic DUP man

A human wall

Angelo

Quote from: sid waddell on December 30, 2020, 10:09:15 PM

Are you for

A Catholic DUP man

I think you'll find you have a lot more in common with the DUP than me, amigo.

Just like you have an awful lot in common with Donald Trump.

You're a walking, talking contradiction.

sid waddell

Quote from: red hander on December 30, 2020, 09:35:51 PM

DUP don't like SF and SF don't the DUP. SF play the Republican card to get votes and the DUP play the unionist card. Until a viable option to either party becomes a realistic voting option you'll have a government made up of SF/DUP. What you get then is the current stormont executive were both parties in gov disagree on practically everything and nothing gets done or achieves

Yeah, pity we didn't have Fianna Fail and Fine Gael to vote for. One who ruined the f**king country a few years back and should never be allowed near the levers of power in a million years, the other a shower of Blueshirt West Brit bastards who would happily piss on the poor... And both as corrupt as each other.
At least they didn't murder anybody

Sinn Fein ruined Ireland to a far, far greater degree

sid waddell

Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 10:10:39 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 30, 2020, 10:09:15 PM

Are you for

A Catholic DUP man

I think you'll find you have a lot more in common with the DUP than me, amigo.

Just like you have an awful lot in common with Donald Trump.

You're a walking, talking contradiction.

"I think you'll find...."

"No, you're Trump"

Repeat by 100

With lads like you around, a united Ireland will be nice and long in coming

Angelo

Quote from: sid waddell on December 30, 2020, 10:10:57 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 30, 2020, 09:35:51 PM

At least they didn't murder anybody

Sinn Fein ruined Ireland to a far, far greater degree

I think you will find they did.

Many people.

Took them out of cells and strapped them to landmines in some cases.

Gunmen and killers in government offices.

But you already know that.

sid waddell

Quote from: marty34 on December 30, 2020, 09:40:11 PM
Quote from: Angelo on December 30, 2020, 09:35:02 PM

Never mind their wee "golfgate".

The cabal of the establishment.
Sinn Fein flouted the Covid rules in a much more shameless way

No wonder the north is in such a state