Leinster Senior Football Championship 2019

Started by Junior Ex Laoistalk, October 11, 2018, 10:45:32 PM

The Monument Road

Quote from: Batman!!! on May 25, 2019, 08:59:48 AM
Attride injured seemingly. Donie not starting due to training performances by all accounts
it's a pity if true..thought he would put it in with Sugrue. Unfortunately Donie never reached his undoubted potential and he will probably end up the same...I have a notion it's his last year..

SCFC

Donie is injured. He's on the bench but Attride is completely out.

The Monument Road

Quote from: SCFC on May 25, 2019, 03:34:25 PM
Donie is injured. He's on the bench but Attride is completely out.
glad to hear that..we need him no matter what state he is in

Nameless

Can't see us winning this I'm afraid. Inexperienced wing backs and Booth has struggled previously when it came to championship football means our back line could be under pressure. Still slow around the middle which Westmeath have exposed in our previous meetings. O'Connor and O'Reilly do add some pace. I'm not sure why Scully is not starting after a very impressive league campaign. Then no Donie up front will obviously weaken us. We have no left footed free taker on the field which has cost us scores earlier in the league. We have a few players to come in like Quigley and Kingston if he's any way fit. Hopefully they all step up and put in a great performance and hopefully a good crowd travels over.

Tony

Best of luck to all involved today. Odd team named but we're not at training every evening so we don't know who's performing etc and it could change before throw in. I do see a few weak spots on the team but we have to go with it. Hoping to be surprised but I can see another tight match with westmeath coming out on top. Regardless, looking forward to supporting the team and heading over now after what seems like an age since the league! Laois abu

Don Draper

No excuses. This is Championship. Excuses can f**k off.

Joeythelips

Don Draper

Quote from: Don Draper on May 26, 2019, 12:41:53 PM
No excuses. This is Championship. Excuses can f**k off.
I love these boys. Warriors.

GAA-SMART

Great Result. Well done to Players / Management

Gmac

Quote from: Gmac on May 23, 2019, 01:53:52 AM
Laois odds of losing 3 times in 3/4 months to same opposition have to be pretty slim
What are the bookies saying ?
[/quote stats do not lie 3 times in a row to Westmeath doesn't happen well done Laois

Nameless

Great result and performance. We battled hard and deserved the win. When Timmons went off early, we had 3 defenders making their championship debuts. That our defence was so strong and only conceded 10 points tells a lot. I thought Booth had an excellent game as did our two young wing backs. O'Loughlin had a strong game but seemed to tire in the second half, many players did in fairness as it was hot on the pitch. O'Reilly and O'Connor did some amount of running, up and down the pitch, great effort.
It was a strange enough game in that not a lot of ball went into the full forward lines because of the wind. Paul Kingston did well with the limited ball he got and O'Carroll was superb again. Scully had a great game when he came on at half time. His direct running style causes teams problems. We telegraphed our kick outs for Quigley when he came on and Westmeath mopped them up. Lowry was lively on his introduction and scored a great point and Donie got on some ball and his composure helped us over the line.
Meath will be a massive step up. Hopefully, we'll have players back fit. Attride should be as should Donie. I'd say Timmons is unlikely but Begley should be ok. Then Collins and Cahilane are maybes. It has to be said though, with some players having such good games, it's going to be hard to get back on the team for some.

High Fielder

That was some team performance. Those lads worked their asses off for the jersey today. I have to be honest and say I didn't expect much heading over. I should have had more faith. This man Sugrue is a cute hoor. He let them win the battles and all the time the plot to win the war was being worked on. Some of their star men were nullified today. And just to make it sweeter, we had plenty to contend with injury wise. I have so much respect for Heslin and Martin because they deserve it. They are good enough to play in the best of teams. But it was nicer watching them hit brick wall after brick wall and Dillon throwing himself at everything that looked threatening. I love what these lads are doing for the jersey and fair play to everyone involved.

Don Draper

Quote from: High Fielder on May 26, 2019, 09:20:52 PM
That was some team performance. Those lads worked their asses off for the jersey today. I have to be honest and say I didn't expect much heading over. I should have had more faith. This man Sugrue is a cute hoor. He let them win the battles and all the time the plot to win the war was being worked on. Some of their star men were nullified today. And just to make it sweeter, we had plenty to contend with injury wise. I have so much respect for Heslin and Martin because they deserve it. They are good enough to play in the best of teams. But it was nicer watching them hit brick wall after brick wall and Dillon throwing himself at everything that looked threatening. I love what these lads are doing for the jersey and fair play to everyone involved.
Well said

Brandon

Surprised Ross Didn't come on very upset over that. First Championship game he hasn't played since he started off in 2003.

Tony

Why would you get upset over that. This isn't a testimonial game. It's a serious championship game. No room for sentiment, best team plays, full stop.
Brilliant, gritty performance by these lads. Absolutely agree with everything high fielder said. The workrate and effort all put in was immense! So proud to support this team. Huge pride in the jersey. Amazing lads, all of them. Thank you to all, including management. That's a big improvement since the league, best performance all year. Meath will be a step up but we'll enjoy tonight and we won't fear them either.