?

?
15 (50%)
?
15 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 30

People picking teams comprised of a majority of players who never managed to win back to back championship games afair over players who have won back to back Ulster championships. Mindblowing.

McGoldrick was a good player no doubt but was he really a player who would be in your best of the last 25 years?

oakleaflad

Lynch
Lockhart
McCloy
McKaigue
McCluskey
McEvoy
McKinless
Rogers
Glass
Tohill
E Bradley
M Lynch
P Bradley
S McGuigan
E Muldoon

If i was to do it again it'd probably change. All a bit of craic.

Right I'll give a stab at my own team with a few controversial shouts and slightly out of position to get in players who cannot be left out imo.....

Lynch (for me best keeper we've had)
Lockhart McCloy Dermot McBride
Rogers McKinless  Clucky
       Tohill
       Fergal Doc
Glass  Muldoon  Lynch
Skinner Shane Paddy

Some Glaring omissions there tbh.

McKaigue, for me only really performed at CB/FB but played a lot of his football at CHB and imo, when he did, was detrimental to overall team game (I know controversial)
McGrogan - really close call but I wanted all 6 of the other defenders in and couldn't decide between him and any of them.
In my head, Tohill and Fergal Doc are the 2 best midfielders we've had so I've pushed Glass into HF because he's too good not to pick.
FF line of the 2 bradleys and shane....imagine we had all 3 of them at their peak playing together. Holy god.
Muldoon speaks for himself, and Lynch was class.

Other players that are really hard to leave out are Conor Doc, Kevin McGuckian, Ethan Doherty, Niall McCusker, Gary Coleman. I'm sure there are others I've forgot about.

What would be interesting, pick a 00's select from Derry vs a Best of the Rest Select from the 00's to see where we sit?
I always thought we had footballers to compete with the best in the 00's but just couldn't get it together with management/cb.

shawshank

Quote from: Keyser soze on Today at 09:44:49 AMPeople picking teams comprised of a majority of players who never managed to win back to back championship games afair over players who have won back to back Ulster championships. Mindblowing.

+1 :o  :o

Shawshank and Keyser need to fire their teams up 🤓

Hand of God

Surprised none of you lads mentioned Danny Heavron. Always thought he was a really classy player for Derry but his best years coincided with a really bad period for them. I think if Derry had the like of him now he'd be one of your key men.

Quote from: imtommygunn on Today at 10:23:39 AMMcGoldrick was a good player no doubt but was he really a player who would be in your best of the last 25 years?

In a team of 15, absolutely. Consistently played well, smart, fearless and had a serious nack of riding tackles and rarely losing the ball. He'd have revelled in these new rules in his prime

"welcome to the board Sean-Leo!"

lenny

I'd go for

1. M Conlon/B Gillis
2. Clucker
3. Niall McOscar
4. McKaigue
5. P McFlynn
6. G McKinless
7. G O'Kane
8. Fergal Doherty
9. B Rogers
10. C Glass
11. E Muldoon
12. E Doherty
13. E Bradley
14. P Bradley
15. S McGuigan

Had we a manager of Rory Gallagher calibre back then? Not one made any worthwhile progress outside the county outside Moran. I remember winning the National League, played well agsinst Donegal, bad game against Fermanagh, drop 6/7 players for qualfier with Monaghan,mind boggling