?

?
14 (51.9%)
?
13 (48.1%)

Total Members Voted: 27

Topmarks

Quote from: bannside on July 12, 2025, 12:17:48 AMPaddy Tally has to be up there with some of the best in the business. Take Mc Kindless and those others out of the equation and any manager would have struggled. There's no doubt Derry pulled out a few superb championship performances despite not quite making it across the winning line, more than enough to suggest he was getting to grips with things.

Something not quite adding up!

I think it's time Bannside packed his bags and took himself back to the Antrim board with some of the dross you're coming out with. No interest in Derry football from reading your posts other than talking pure dung. Paddy Tally might be the next saviour of Antrim football if you're lucky.

Maghera was Black

Can't see Chrissy being involved too close to the players but I'd like to see him in the minor setup to develop as a coach (On a side note was 2025 our worst season at minor in the last decade?)

On Tally leaving I listen to an interview with him on Off The Ball 3 weeks ago giving a summary of the year and there was a a lot of excuses which I didn't like but he seemed eager to continue and build for 2026. So things must have came to a head with his plans for a new backroom team. The board clearly weren't impressed with who he had suggested to come in and with the way the year went he was in no position to dictate with the results he produced. For a so called top coach he made a mess of a the goalkeeping position and he put our best ball carrier Rogers on a man marking role against a one legged Con O'Callaghan for 50min. Derry only improved when Rogers was put in his best position.

We can only hope the board have learned a hard lesson last summer in how they go about appointing a new manager. Realistically we need an appointment before club championship begins. Meenagh seems the man everyone in Derry wants but what has really changed for him since 2023 when he was in pole position but declined. Down themselves are progressing nicely and he seems happy to be no.2 so I think we are jumping the gun with thinking Meenagh wants the job. 

Quote from: Topmarks on July 12, 2025, 10:19:43 AM
Quote from: bannside on July 12, 2025, 12:17:48 AMPaddy Tally has to be up there with some of the best in the business. Take Mc Kindless and those others out of the equation and any manager would have struggled. There's no doubt Derry pulled out a few superb championship performances despite not quite making it across the winning line, more than enough to suggest he was getting to grips with things.

Something not quite adding up!

I think it's time Bannside packed his bags and took himself back to the Antrim board with some of the dross you're coming out with. No interest in Derry football from reading your posts other than talking pure dung. Paddy Tally might be the next saviour of Antrim football if you're lucky.

bannside has forgotten more about football than you'll ever know

99.9% I'd say would like to retain his Derry thread contributions

Ball

Quote from: Maghera was Black on July 12, 2025, 11:08:36 AMCan't see Chrissy being involved too close to the players but I'd like to see him in the minor setup to develop as a coach (On a side note was 2025 our worst season at minor in the last decade?)

On Tally leaving I listen to an interview with him on Off The Ball 3 weeks ago giving a summary of the year and there was a a lot of excuses which I didn't like but he seemed eager to continue and build for 2026. So things must have came to a head with his plans for a new backroom team. The board clearly weren't impressed with who he had suggested to come in and with the way the year went he was in no position to dictate with the results he produced. For a so called top coach he made a mess of a the goalkeeping position and he put our best ball carrier Rogers on a man marking role against a one legged Con O'Callaghan for 50min. Derry only improved when Rogers was put in his best position.

We can only hope the board have learned a hard lesson last summer in how they go about appointing a new manager. Realistically we need an appointment before club championship begins. Meenagh seems the man everyone in Derry wants but what has really changed for him since 2023 when he was in pole position but declined. Down themselves are progressing nicely and he seems happy to be no.2 so I think we are jumping the gun with thinking Meenagh wants the job. 

Spot on.

Especially re: Meenagh. People on here suggesting putting Meenagh and Gilligan together, both are coaches not managers.

Wouldnt be against Tony McEntee, not sure theyre are a pile of higher quality options available?

Stickittotheman

Quote from: Ball on July 12, 2025, 01:06:55 PM
Quote from: Maghera was Black on July 12, 2025, 11:08:36 AMCan't see Chrissy being involved too close to the players but I'd like to see him in the minor setup to develop as a coach (On a side note was 2025 our worst season at minor in the last decade?)

Spot on.

Especially re: Meenagh. People on here suggesting putting Meenagh and Gilligan together, both are coaches not managers.

Wouldnt be against Tony McEntee, not sure theyre are a pile of higher quality options available?

If it's Meenagh and Gilligan it will be a joint ticket I would imagine. Meenagh doesn't want it full time himself so a joint managerial team a là Tyrone 2021 might be the way forward. McEntee to Mayo has gone very quiet- maybe something in it I suppose we will just have to wait and see.

zapped

No. Derry won the Minor football league shield beating Monaghan and down. We were unlucky to be in a league group (3 teams only) with Tyrone. One defeat relegated us to the shield. But we beat Monaghan convincingly in the final.

Then had a tough first round draw away vs. Cavan & were well in the game until the second half, probably should have won the game. Cavan went very close to Tyrone in the Ulster MFC final.

Given only 2/3 of the 2024 panel were still minor in 2025 (and the 2025 panel is very young) I would say it was a decent year all things considering.

That's a year that I'd imagine most county's would be very happy with.

Interstellar

Whoever the new management team is the same old problems exist. Squad too small to cope with injuries and the new rules, lack of scoring forwards and not much cover in midfield.

bannside

TopMarks has himself worked up into a wee tizzy. His posts start and Mid June were all positive and all going the right way, players buying in, just need a few forwards blah blah...wondering if they could be competitive against Dublin...which Derry were...and any right thinking person might conclude that Paddy Tally was getting to grips with things, three much improved performances on the trot...(Despite a host of injuries and unavailability).

Now Bannsides talking dung....lol.

I'll let the Derry readers judge for themselves who is talking dung TopMark..

#SomethingfishygoingoninDoire.

Bye!

Topmarks

Quote from: bannside on July 12, 2025, 08:04:12 PMTopMarks has himself worked up into a wee tizzy. His posts start and Mid June were all positive and all going the right way, players buying in, just need a few forwards blah blah...wondering if they could be competitive against Dublin...which Derry were...and any right thinking person might conclude that Paddy Tally was getting to grips with things, three much improved performances on the trot...(Despite a host of injuries and unavailability).

Now Bannsides talking dung....lol.

I'll let the Derry readers judge for themselves who is talking dung TopMark..

#SomethingfishygoingoninDoire.

Bye!

Haha I'm sure you were in the stands watching all Derry games this year Bannsider? I was mate and I was cheering them on in every game. I'm sure you were as well or were you following Antrim back to division 4?

I called out some of your comments out because they didn't reflect reality. Something to the effect of Paddy Tally got a proper tune out of Derry and one of the best in the business. I'll let any other posters who are Derry fans and have watched more than 1 game this year tell you that is complete nonsense.

At least big county board loving JoG2 likes your contributions. Can't say I've seen any knowledge or insight into Derry football from your posts other than pure speculation and admiration for the great Tally.

p3427977

At least Tyrone are still shite though lads ;D We'd beat them.

Truthsayer

Quote from: p3427977 on July 13, 2025, 01:13:49 AMAt least Tyrone are still shite though lads ;D We'd beat them.
After failing to win one game this year. Embarrassed for you  :D

Tyrone lad lives on the Derry thread lol

Truthsayer

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 13, 2025, 01:46:09 AMTyrone lad lives on the Derry thread lol
Bizarre all the Derry bois coming out of the woodwork when Tyrone get beat. Nothing else to cheer  :D Give us a shout to we send you another manager  8)

LoughNeagh

Quote from: Truthsayer on July 13, 2025, 01:51:11 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 13, 2025, 01:46:09 AMTyrone lad lives on the Derry thread lol
Bizarre all the Derry bois coming out of the woodwork when Tyrone get beat. Nothing else to cheer  :D Give us a shout to we send you another manager  8)

Not just beat, but well beaten, not even a fight in the 2nd half.

View from the lough!

Quote from: LoughNeagh on July 13, 2025, 01:59:46 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on July 13, 2025, 01:51:11 AM

Not just beat, but well beaten, not even a fight in the 2nd half.

Reminded me of Omagh in 2022!!