?

?
14 (50%)
?
14 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Jimmy

Attempted to piece together the state of the Derry panel based on match day squads and report in Gaelic Life at start of the season https://www.gaeliclife.com/news/tally-excited-for-league-after-busy-two-months-at-the-derry-helm/

Available
Martin Bradley (Ballinascreen)
Paul Cassidy (Bellaghy)
Declan Cassidy (Bellaghy)
Charlie Diamond (Bellaghy)
Conor Glass (Glen)
Ethan Doherty (Glen)
Jody McDermott (Glen)
Neil McNicholl (Glenullin)
Niall Loughlin (Greenlough)
Niall Toner (Lavey)
Patrick McGurk (Lavey)
Ryan Mulholland (Lavey)
Caolan Devlin (Loup)
Dan Higgins (Magherafelt)
Eoin McEvoy (Magherafelt)
Conall Herron (Magherafelt)
Cormac Murphy (Magherafelt)
Padraig McGrogan (Newbridge)
Conor Doherty (Newbridge)
Mark Doherty (Newbridge)
Shane McGuigan (Slaughtneil)
Diarmuid Baker (Steeltown)
Cahir McMonagle (Steelstown)
Ben McCarron (Steelstown)
Anton Tohill (Swatragh)
Late Additions
Ben McKinless (Ballinderry)
Kevin Quinn (Kilrea)
Paddy Quigg (Kilrea)
PJ McAleese (Kilrea)
Injured – Probably/possibly due back
Lachlan Murray (Desertmartin)
Ciaran McFaul (Glen)
Rory McGill (Lavey)
Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil)
Donnacha Gilmore (Steelstown) – possibly done for the year
On Under 20 panel – likely added to senior after under 20 Championship
Ruairi Forbes (Ballinderry)
Danny McDermott (Glen)
Injured – out for the year
Gareth McKinless (Ballinderry)
Niall O'Donnell (Ballinderry)
Conor McCluskey (Magherafelt) -assume he's done based on posts here
Odhran Lynch (Magherafelt) -assume he's done based on posts here
Have left the panel
Jack Doherty (Glen)
Louis Regan (Lavey) – assume he was only brought in at start of year to have a look at
Callum McGrogan (Newbridge) – based on post here
Jamie Gribbin (Newbridge) – same as Louis Regan
Shea Downey (St Brigid's)
Matthew Downey (St Brigid's) – not entirely sure he was on the panel
Retired/Left after last season
Ryan Scullion (Ballinascreen)
Emmett Bradley (Glen)
Eunan Mulholland (Glen)
Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

That's a better summary than any paper, give. Nobody has a idea on the panel. Anybody know the U20 team for the mor night? Presume St Pat older lads be rested. I say there been a couple on the panel.

toby47

Fair play for putting that together Jimmy.

Lots of names will miss championship from the panel last year.

Odhran Lynch
Ryan Sculluion
Chrissy McKaigue
Conor McCluskey
Gareth McKinless
Shea Downey
Donnacha Gilmore
Emmett Bradley
Eunan Mulholland

Thats 9 players that would definitely have made the match day panels of 26.

Then add in Brendan Rodgers missed 2/7 league games, Ciaran McFaul has barley played due to injury, Cormac Murphy has barely played due to injury. Niall O'Donnell is also out for the year after a brilliant club season and would have been ready to kick on. Lachlan Murray has missed games .Paudi McGrogan and Niall Loughlin missed most of the league after coming back from surgery.

Players like Jack Doherty & Callum McGrogan were brought in, and have since dropped off.

Jesus it's been a messy season, personnel wise, when you see it laid out like that.

If Donegal beat us, what is the time frame between that and our next game? I think that's the rout we'll go, and we'll need as many men back as possible to salvage the season from there. And that's with the fingers crossed that we don't pick up any additional injuries between now & then.

Quote from: toby47 on March 20, 2025, 09:15:30 AMFair play for putting that together Jimmy.

Lots of names will miss championship from the panel last year.

Odhran Lynch
Ryan Sculluion
Chrissy McKaigue
Conor McCluskey
Gareth McKinless
Shea Downey
Donnacha Gilmore
Emmett Bradley
Eunan Mulholland

Thats 9 players that would definitely have made the match day panels of 26.

Then add in Brendan Rodgers missed 2/7 league games, Ciaran McFaul has barley played due to injury, Cormac Murphy has barely played due to injury. Niall O'Donnell is also out for the year after a brilliant club season and would have been ready to kick on. Lachlan Murray has missed games .Paudi McGrogan and Niall Loughlin missed most of the league after coming back from surgery.

Players like Jack Doherty & Callum McGrogan were brought in, and have since dropped off.

Jesus it's been a messy season, personnel wise, when you see it laid out like that.

If Donegal beat us, what is the time frame between that and our next game? I think that's the rout we'll go, and we'll need as many men back as possible to salvage the season from there. And that's with the fingers crossed that we don't pick up any additional injuries between now & then.

Not that it's happening, BUT if Donegal did manage to beat us, looks like the 1st round of group games is 17/18th or 24/25th May.. Some break (which won't have)

THEALBION1878

Quote from: Jimmy on March 19, 2025, 11:09:32 PMAttempted to piece together the state of the Derry panel based on match day squads and report in Gaelic Life at start of the season https://www.gaeliclife.com/news/tally-excited-for-league-after-busy-two-months-at-the-derry-helm/

Available
Martin Bradley (Ballinascreen)
Paul Cassidy (Bellaghy)
Declan Cassidy (Bellaghy)
Charlie Diamond (Bellaghy)
Conor Glass (Glen)
Ethan Doherty (Glen)
Jody McDermott (Glen)
Neil McNicholl (Glenullin)
Niall Loughlin (Greenlough)
Niall Toner (Lavey)
Patrick McGurk (Lavey)
Ryan Mulholland (Lavey)
Caolan Devlin (Loup)
Dan Higgins (Magherafelt)
Eoin McEvoy (Magherafelt)
Conall Herron (Magherafelt)
Cormac Murphy (Magherafelt)
Padraig McGrogan (Newbridge)
Conor Doherty (Newbridge)
Mark Doherty (Newbridge)
Shane McGuigan (Slaughtneil)
Diarmuid Baker (Steeltown)
Cahir McMonagle (Steelstown)
Ben McCarron (Steelstown)
Anton Tohill (Swatragh)
Late Additions
Ben McKinless (Ballinderry)
Kevin Quinn (Kilrea)
Paddy Quigg (Kilrea)
PJ McAleese (Kilrea)
Injured – Probably/possibly due back
Lachlan Murray (Desertmartin)
Ciaran McFaul (Glen)
Rory McGill (Lavey)
Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil)
Donnacha Gilmore (Steelstown) – possibly done for the year
On Under 20 panel – likely added to senior after under 20 Championship
Ruairi Forbes (Ballinderry)
Danny McDermott (Glen)
Injured – out for the year
Gareth McKinless (Ballinderry)
Niall O'Donnell (Ballinderry)
Conor McCluskey (Magherafelt) -assume he's done based on posts here
Odhran Lynch (Magherafelt) -assume he's done based on posts here
Have left the panel
Jack Doherty (Glen)
Louis Regan (Lavey) – assume he was only brought in at start of year to have a look at
Callum McGrogan (Newbridge) – based on post here
Jamie Gribbin (Newbridge) – same as Louis Regan
Shea Downey (St Brigid's)
Matthew Downey (St Brigid's) – not entirely sure he was on the panel
Retired/Left after last season
Ryan Scullion (Ballinascreen)
Emmett Bradley (Glen)
Eunan Mulholland (Glen)
Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

great piece here. Wil Mckinless play at the weekend?

lenny

Quote from: toby47 on March 19, 2025, 09:56:51 PMBen McKinless called up. He will be the championship keeper

Good choice, he's prone to the odd mistake but he's a class keeper overall. We probably need a proper gk backup also. Mcnicholl has tried his best but he's not really a gk.

Ryan O

Quote from: lenny on March 20, 2025, 11:44:51 AM
Quote from: toby47 on March 19, 2025, 09:56:51 PMBen McKinless called up. He will be the championship keeper

Good choice, he's prone to the odd mistake but he's a class keeper overall. We probably need a proper gk backup also. Mcnicholl has tried his best but he's not really a gk.
Really good goalkeeper, I'd say happier now that he won't be expected to go up the pitch. Good kickouts with a bit of an old wild streak in him that helps.

jmcgdoire

Quote from: Ryan O on March 20, 2025, 01:53:13 PM

Really good goalkeeper, I'd say happier now that he won't be expected to go up the pitch. Good kickouts with a bit of an old wild streak in him that helps.
What do you mean by this?

Ryan O

Quote from: jmcgdoire on March 20, 2025, 02:06:37 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on March 20, 2025, 01:53:13 PM

What do you mean by this?
Puts himself about when he's on the pitch and not afraid to show some physicality when ball lands in around his box.

Topmarks

A lot of these lads will be playing for the u20s next week. Serious group coming through.

Quote from: Topmarks on December 21, 2024, 02:46:17 PMI was just watching a few clips of the Derry u20 match against Tyrone this year as I had little to be at and got thinking about the amount of serious footballers coming through. I'm sure I'm missing a few but if we can get a good lot of these boys through I think we are on to something. I've listed backs and forwards and a couple of midfield options. Let me know if I've missed anyone out.

Backs
F McEldowney
L Grant
J Murray
C Spiers
P Haran
P McGurk
D McDermott
F Murray
O Campbell
R Small
P Okane
P McMullan

Midfield
E McAvoy
R Forbes
T Rogers
R McGill

Forwards
J Sargent
J McGuckin
E Young
L Murray
N O'Donnell
D Gilmore
D Rocks
R McNicholl
C Chambers
E Higgins
C Higgins
O Doherty

Fionn Mc Eldowney is on the club hurling team of the year announced today. Some achievment.

Some people on here thinking he's not good to be starting on the Derry senior team.

A fantastic player at both codes.

He's too small, we already a overload of small players. He does stand out at Hurling though.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 22, 2025, 12:42:56 AMHe's too small, we already a overload of small players. He does stand out at Hurling though.

OMG.

There we have it. A player who's just been voted one the top 15 club hurlers in Ireland...and you say he's too small.

What a stupid comment.

He plays football the same way he plays hurling. 

Quote from: marty34 on March 22, 2025, 12:08:47 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 22, 2025, 12:42:56 AMHe's too small, we already a overload of small players. He does stand out at Hurling though.

OMG.

There we have it. A player who's just been voted one the top 15 club hurlers in Ireland...and you say he's too small.

What a stupid comment.

Christ lads chill out he's still U20 give him a few years!

Ryan O

Quote from: marty34 on March 22, 2025, 12:08:47 PM

OMG.

What a stupid comment.

Seen him play at least 7 games of senior football. A good player who will hopefully have big future. Absolutely no questions about his commitment to GAA in both codes but regarding County Football just don't think he's ready yet.

But I also hope he's not rushed in, I think Lachlan Murray slightly suffered from being pushed in senior team a little early and we are only starting to see what he's capable of now.
Fionn I've no doubt will be key player for u20s so he's moving in the right direction along with good few others.