15 (51.7%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Fortnights time weasel

See Tyrone champs play kilcoo, one big gun out straight away

Ryan O

Quote from: JoG2 on October 19, 2025, 07:31:45 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 19, 2025, 06:36:21 PM
Quote from: jb77 on October 19, 2025, 12:50:29 PM@BrianOgs Everyone at Steelstown Brian Óg's wishes the very best of luck to our fellow Derry City team @DoireTrasnaGAA in today's Junior Final at Celtic Park

Always thought this was a strange mentality honestly, South Derry boogeymen taking all the county spots is still the mindset I suppose

So........ explain why?

The 77 in jb77's username is the amount of finals he's played in / coached in at all levels. Showing any class towards another club is a sign of weakness... Fine margins

Really enjoyable senior game today , 2nd half was a serious battle. McGuckin nails that monster free...... Congrats to Newbridge, 2 on the bounce.

Ulster double header @ CP on Sat week
Agreed I thought was super game for start to finish, When Dan Higgins kicked a 2 pointer I thought momentum was shifting and Magherafelt had a chance.

Step forward Newbridges main men, won the kick out and just killed the tempo of the game. Just thought it was great composure at that time, majority of teams would have went all trying to get a panic score.
Sean Young 100% county standard as well as Mc Ateer.

Dare we say it out loud, Richie done good on the whistle!! Consistent, big calls right, consulted with Barry Cassidy for Shea Mc Guckians last free. potential Newbridge breach which meant free could have been from edge of 2 point arch rather that 55m. I assume he got that right?

Quote from: screenexile on October 18, 2025, 10:42:35 PMhttps://x.com/skinnerlad/status/1979594942675570911?s=46&t=phQ2HHkWD0UVsLqr_FKpag

FFS, at least advise people to mute their phones rather than have to listen to that anything bint scream at the ref about his whistle.

Skinner like. Posts a video of himself with "#skinner". Well not quite, staying very on brand he made a balls of the hashtag. Some strike though.

Stickittotheman

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2025, 03:33:12 PMI was at a school over within 2 miles of Steelstown pitch and they got 28 classrooms of children, unreal, I say to the principal(who had zero interest in football) If we had that down south in my wee tiny club we be winning senior championship. The big primary schools in Derry have never been properly approached to promote GAA in them. Bigger interest in soccer with the majority doing no sport at all

Soccer is the main sport because you have one of the biggest clubs in Ireland on your doorstep in Derry City. Soccer is played in almost every school, so dont know where you are getting the notion that most do no
sport at all. However Gaelic games is becoming much more popular than it used to be.

In the city people would see it as very cliquey out in the country. There was also a notion that it was the GAA- Grab all Association as Derry City never really saw any investment so most just assumed there was none. As to most Derry City people nothing exists then outside the City. And I say that as a Derry City man.

Congrats to Newbridge today, no mean feat. For all your criticism of Steelstown they ran them close a few weeks ago.

Stickittotheman

Sorry Wildweasal the comment on Steelstown was meant for Ryan O

Congrats to Newbridge, fantastic achievement. Had M'felt to win it but fair play to them

Now, to stir the pot, square ball for the goal?!

Ryan O

Quote from: Stickittotheman on October 19, 2025, 07:54:11 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2025, 03:33:12 PMI was at a school over within 2 miles of Steelstown pitch and they got 28 classrooms of children, unreal, I say to the principal(who had zero interest in football) If we had that down south in my wee tiny club we be winning senior championship. The big primary schools in Derry have never been properly approached to promote GAA in them. Bigger interest in soccer with the majority doing no sport at all

Soccer is the main sport because you have one of the biggest clubs in Ireland on your doorstep in Derry City. Soccer is played in almost every school, so dont know where you are getting the notion that most do no
sport at all. However Gaelic games is becoming much more popular than it used to be.

In the city people would see it as very cliquey out in the country. There was also a notion that it was the GAA- Grab all Association as Derry City never really saw any investment so most just assumed there was none. As to most Derry City people nothing exists then outside the City. And I say that as a Derry City man.

Congrats to Newbridge today, no mean feat. For all your criticism of Steelstown they ran them close a few weeks ago.
There's no criticism good luck to them buts its a club completely building off this chip on their shoulder that nobody like them or supports them. But in actual fact its their neighbours and fellow city men that support them the least.
There's an insinuation that some how South Derry clubs get special treatment or bigger slice of the cake which I believe to be totally wrong.

We aren't a successful club but we're a senior club and I can tell you its a hard fight every year to stay there, and there's no silver spoons floating about that we've picked up. Soccer is as much a problem for us as it is in the city.

On a side note - Philly Mc Mahon might be available again, turns out this ol managing is easier on TV

GTP

It was very close to a square ball, was down that end of the stand and thought it was at the time. Would have been very hard to call.

Would like to see it again I don't think he was in the square when the ball was kicked though.

I thought Newbridge were excellent and just seemed more alive to the breaking ball than Mfelt were. Their forwards are a bit more brave to take on their man which when it pays off reaps dividends as it did today.

JE23

Revisiting this now that the Derry club championship is over - anyone stand out that could make a difference to our county team?

I understand a number of lads are already back at it on the S&C front. Anyone know if there are any new players involved?

OakleafCounty

Quote from: Ryan O on October 19, 2025, 02:13:48 PMSouth Derry mentality is well justified, Steelstown the biggest city hope have been really poor since moving to senior championship football, struggled past a very poor Loup team and there only win since moving up that I can recall.

Coaching underage and being in various Derry underage groups you dread the unfortunate call to head to North Derry for go games, minus perhaps Glenullin and Dungiven. Poor quality, low numbers, pitches not ready teams dropping out at a days notice. Its not a talent issue it a commitment one.

I've been coaching Go Games level for the past four years and hosted a lot without letting anyone down so I wouldn't agree with that. Some of the bigger South Derry clubs don't participate much in Go Games because they find it easier to set up games themselves locally. There's a meeting tonight in Owenbeg specifically about Go Games and I'm hoping for a few changes to be made.

OakleafCounty

As a nuetral, Newbridge were really impressive yesterday in every department and just knew how to win showing serious desire. Magherafelt were good but need to get over the line soon. 

Delighted for our own Slaughtmanus lifting the Junior. First time since 1978 (Mullabuoy). Although we have been intermediate mostly since 1982, we only have one championship to show for it in 1988, so it's great for a few of the older heads in the team to finally get a well deserved medal.

jb77

Jude Mcatmaney getting some abuse on IG people messaging his family etc, some call for it

DaleCooper

Missed 2 bad extra points but NY give up 33pts in a quarter, plenty blame to go round