All this league positivity talk and yet no thread for the final

Started by Fuzzman, April 07, 2017, 01:56:31 PM

Quote from: Crete Boom on April 08, 2017, 07:30:21 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 08, 2017, 07:16:35 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 08, 2017, 06:17:16 PM
Quinlivan and Sweeney are having an average day(by their standards) in front of the posts today!!
I wonder will Jack Kennedy play football or hurling this summer??

Having watched jack Kennedy closely last week and loosely today I hope he's a better hurler than he is footballer. However, the main quality he lacked playing football is, I would imagine, a major stumbling block to being an intercounty hurler as well...

Do you mean pace as in a lack of?

Intestinal fortitude

Crete Boom

Quote from: DuffleKing on April 08, 2017, 08:32:19 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 08, 2017, 07:30:21 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 08, 2017, 07:16:35 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 08, 2017, 06:17:16 PM
Quinlivan and Sweeney are having an average day(by their standards) in front of the posts today!!
I wonder will Jack Kennedy play football or hurling this summer??

Having watched jack Kennedy closely last week and loosely today I hope he's a better hurler than he is footballer. However, the main quality he lacked playing football is, I would imagine, a major stumbling block to being an intercounty hurler as well...

Do you mean pace as in a lack of?

Intestinal fortitude

Ah yeah I hear yeah!! Didn't notice that myself but I haven't seen him up close like you have.
He wouldn't be the first Tipp hurler to have a deficit in intestinal fortitude though!!

Ye are calling a 19 or 20 year old lad out for guts? Fair play to ye. Heroes both.

Are you citing age as mitigation?

Crete Boom

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 08, 2017, 09:00:03 PM
Ye are calling a 19 or 20 year old lad out for guts? Fair play to ye. Heroes both.

I think you read what I posted again. Plenty on here have constantly questions the guts of players of my own county , so case they could be right , some cases they were wrong but I don't take it personal and I am sure Jack Kennedy couldn't give a shite what I think today to be honest.

Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2017, 05:55:03 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 08, 2017, 05:45:04 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 08, 2017, 03:13:41 PM
Lar, I don't disagree on the larger point regarding rural depopulation but the players you mentioned, like John Small and Dean Rock are good players rather than great players. Connolly, Cluxton, Flynn and Brogan will be in the conversation when they are picking the next centenary team. Dublin will be one of the top 3 or 4 teams for the foreseeable future but the idea that they'll be unbeatable is patently not true and Kerry are now dominating at nearly every level bar senior county so I see no reason why that won't transfer to senior in due course.

Kerry have embraced the challenge Dublin are posing, it's about time others did so too.
Yeah, I'd accept what you say about Rock and Small but Dublin are better placed to produce good young players than any other county because of the professional set up they have.
I don't and never did say that Dublin will always win everything in sight as I have said numerous times, on the field its 15 against 15 and other counties could well beat them on any given day. But over the course of, say, a decade, Dublin is odds on to win more than any other county.
Also, don't forget that most  of the team that were humiliated by Meath in 2010 went on to win the AI in the following year and several more since.
That defeat stung the Dublin county board into action and the result, as the fella said, is history.
THe problem for me is that we no longer have an amatuer ethos at least where the more high profile counties are concerned and Dublin leads the way here.
Now, as you say Kerry have taken up the Dublin challenge, or have they?
Why is the outcome of the league final attracting so little interest?
Kerry are doing very well at all grade below senior inter county and despite the disparity in resources, you'd still expect their seniors to lead the challenge to Dublin most years.
But there are a few significant differences between success at underage and success at senior level. First and foremost is the issue of money. To gain success at senior level costs millions with more psychos, physios, doctors, masseurs, specialist coaches, psychologists and I'd say in Dublin's case at least one psychiatrist, and God knows who else.
Spending on underage grades is a different matter entirely. A team can be well-prepared at that level without having to spend a fortune that most counties don't have.
Lar

The Dubs were banging on the door for a long time before 2011.
Winning begets winning and they managed the team well.
But they have only won 4 all Irelands in 20 years, 3 less than Kerry

It's up to the other teams to beat them
Maybe you should read this piece by Alan Brogan It's his take on the humiliation Dublin suffered at the hands of Meath in 2010 and of county board's determination not to let this sort of thing happen again. The key point is that it took a conscious decision  by the county board  to put football in the county on an organised standard. Hence you had the Blue Flag initiative and this is something no other county will ever be able to achieve. Sure Dublin may only have won 4 All Irelands in the last twenty years but the crucial point is that all four came when the county board took action to maximise Dublin's potential. They won four of the last five which gives a different slant to things.

You appear to think that the events of fadó, fadó have a bearing on what's happening anois, anois.
Okay here are two statements and one's a doubler. Tell me which one has more pertinence at the present time.
1. Fadó,fadó, Mayo once had more people than Dublin
2A. Anois, anois Dublin has a bigger population than twice the combined total of the counties of Connacht.
2B. The population of Dublin is as great as that of 21 other counties combined.

Thy Kingdom Come

Fair dues to the Dublin Supporters, they seem to have traveled in great numbers!  :P

Should that have been pulled back there when Cluxton grabbed a ball from behind the goal rather than wait for the kerry player to give the ball back? Didn't make any difference but just wondering

Connolly losing the rag here. Be better taking him off.

Dublin will hardly be beat this year either looking at it.

Quote from: imtommygunn on April 09, 2017, 04:35:54 PM
Connolly losing the rag here. Be better taking him off.

Dublin will hardly be beat this year either looking at it.
Black carded...

Connolly back to being a looper no team can rely on.

Best footballer in Ireland my arse.

That's the dumbest black card I've ever seen in my life.
What was he at.

Quote from: Syferus on April 09, 2017, 04:36:44 PM
Connolly back to being a looper no team can rely on.

Best footballer in Ireland my arse.
Leopard never changes his spots.