NFL Division 3 2017

Started by Shamrock Shore, January 30, 2017, 06:47:22 PM

It's lose ffs...Not loose.

Smokin Joe

Quote from: laoislad on April 02, 2017, 08:33:39 PM
It's lose ffs...Not loose.

au contraire laoislad; the Armagh defence has been far too loose for most of this league campaign

LCohen

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 02, 2017, 06:06:42 PM
Lads blaming refs is always the talk of people with small mentalities. A ref can influence a result with a last minute decision but the reality is that if you're relying on a refs decision going for/against you in the last minute to save/end your campaign then there's something not right. Armagh should have coasted the division with the talent available. Big thinking needed.

Another big under achievement.

All will be forgotten with a positive championship but another whimper like last year and I cannot see how Geezer can be retained for another year.

Smurfy123

Stew you won't beat anyone out the gate.Armagh are rubbish and crumble under pressure.Get rid of all the fancy dans and take in more Crossmaglen players who have a set of balls.
Down hammering Armagh out the gate in Newry will be a day to remember

The ref's decision to award a free to Tipp instead of a free to Jamie Clarke was as blatantly wrong a decision as I've ever seen.  However, only ourselves to blame for once again throwing away a game where we were on top for most of it.  Serious naivity from Armagh to allow that killer goal at the end, most other teams would have nailed the man on the ball outside the 14 and settled for the point, was obvious it was the last play of the game, and Armagh should have prevented a goal at all costs, nuts!

Only a decent run in the Championship will save Geezer at this stage.  The players are there and Armagh can play some great football, but the leaky defence and lack of footballing brain in the team need to be sorted. Well done Tipp.

LCohen

Quote from: Throw ball on April 02, 2017, 04:58:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 02, 2017, 04:52:33 PM
Sounds like a right sickener for Armagh but what a result for Tipperary.  The importance of that for long term football in Tipperary cannot be overestimated.

A game played in good spirits today.
The problem Armagh supporters have is that it looked like others had that thougyt too.
Armagh need to watch those southern teams and learn tobe cynical

Rubbish. No need to be cynical. Need to be clinical.

Reacting quickly to short kick out opportunities.
Setting up for opposition kick outs instead of celebrating a meaningless score.
Looking up to see men in front of goal unopposed.
Taking clear point opportunities.
Having a dead eye free taker with either foot.
Keeping disciplined and staying out of trouble.
Having kick out strategies up and ready for first game of the season.
Having a tactic to cope with runners through the middle.
Moving the ball quicker than extra defenders can retreat.

We need to be clinical in all these respects. Failing to address these and wasting time on shyte talk like being more cynical or more like southern teams is pissing away the talent these players have. You wouldn't do that if you hated the lads so I don't see why so called fans should be at it. Lift your eyes and think

Horse Box

Lads blaming refs is always the talk of people with small mentalities. A ref can influence a result with a last minute decision but the reality is that if you're relying on a refs decision going for/against you in the last minute to save/end your campaign then there's something not right. Armagh should have coasted the division with the talent available. Big thinking needed.

Tipp were robbed of promotion 2 years ago in Armagh when the Ref play 4 minutes for injuries instead of what was shown on the board which was 2 minutes , Armagh kicked the winning score in this period . So its swings and roundabouts , goes against you one day , for you the next .
Was at the game and the scenes at the end were mental . Fair play to the Armagh support , a really friendly helpful bunch , best of luck for the rest of the year !

Just as an aside,with this promotion, it now means 4 of the 6 Munster counties will operate in the top 2 divisions in 2018. Has that ever happened before?

Horse Box

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 02, 2017, 10:29:21 PM
Just as an aside,with this promotion, it now means 4 of the 6 Munster counties will operate in the top 2 divisions in 2018. Has that ever happened before?

Dunno but the 3 Munster Derby games in D2 will be competitive and can only be good for the game in general in Munster .

We are now sadly and indisputably a third division team.Lucky to get out of it two years ago,not good enough for the second division last season,and not good enough to get out of division 3 this year.Thats the real tragedy.

I just wonder what the reaction to this from Armagh supporters would have been if the two Brians or Paddy O'Rourke were presiding over this.

Quote from: Horse Box on April 02, 2017, 10:12:14 PM

Tipp were robbed of promotion 2 years ago in Armagh when the Ref play 4 minutes for injuries instead of what was shown on the board which was 2 minutes , Armagh kicked the winning score in this period . So its swings and roundabouts , goes against you one day , for you the next .
Was at the game and the scenes at the end were mental . Fair play to the Armagh support , a really friendly helpful bunch , best of luck for the rest of the year !
Nice comments. Fair play to you.

smelmoth

Quote from: T Fearon on April 02, 2017, 10:51:24 PM
We are now sadly and indisputably a third division team.Lucky to get out of it two years ago,not good enough for the second division last season,and not good enough to get out of division 3 this year.Thats the real tragedy.

I just wonder what the reaction to this from Armagh supporters would have been if the two Brians or Paddy O'Rourke were presiding over this.

Too much talk of building, young team, missing players. Dig out your match programmes from 2009 to  2011. Consider the players and the stage in their career they were at. McGeeney has better players available to him today than O'Rourke had then. By every objective yardstick we are not realising our potential. To kick on we need to park the culture of excuses

Horse Box

Anyone know where I could find highlights of the Armagh - Tipp game ?

Decent win for us today in Drogheda though it admittedly wasn't a make or break game for Louth, could really have won it by more only for some poor shooting at times. There is the makings of a decent team there if the selection and tactics are right, which hasn't been the case too often but perhaps things might change, they might well have to be to escape NY intact in a few weeks time.

Quote from: smelmoth on April 02, 2017, 10:59:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 02, 2017, 10:51:24 PM

Too much talk of building, young team, missing players. Dig out your match programmes from 2009 to  2011. Consider the players and the stage in their career they were at. McGeeney has better players available to him today than O'Rourke had then. By every objective yardstick we are not realising our potential. To kick on we need to park the culture of excuses
To kick on we need someone to work on the defence
Goals scored against it too easily .
I would chase some of those hangers on standing on the line
As I said to my brother yesterday what to heck does Denis Hollywood need to run on the pitch every 30 seconds
By doing that he isn't watching the game
Against Sligo penalty in last minute
Against Antrim penalty in last couple of minutes
Against Laois a goal and a couple of points in last few minutes
Against Tipp 1-2 in last 4 minutes
Against Down in MCKenna cup a 7 point turnaround in last couple of minutes
Against Galway last year goal last kick of the game

Let's be realistic that's shocking and questions need to be asked