A Tyrone book

Started by seafoid, October 23, 2016, 12:19:46 AM

Agree. The other radio presenters pandered about. Gilroy asked, what was meant to be asked - otherwise why have it in the book.

What evidence is there that McCarron is in any way reformed? As far as I can see this is a mercenary and opportunistic project based entirely on self interest.

BallyroanAbu

Read the book, have met McCarron on occasion would not say I know him.  So here is my take the book is one of the most honest autobiographies I have ever read.  It's all there good bad or indifferent.   He is self absorbed so are a lot of people, he is a victim of an addiction and yes he may not be the nicest human being.  Do I think he did anything with the 15 year old girl, well if there were any shred of proof I am sure in a high profile case the gardai would throw the book at him so obviously not.  The girls dad is her dad so he has to do what he has to do.  McCarron is trying to sell a book and Ger Gilroy is trying to sell a show.   Gilroy's interview was bullshit of the highest order and only served off the ball.   I am not sure why McCarron is doing this book as it is tough mentally.  He is not a poster boy for the GAA but his book is probably one of the better GAA biographies.

Take Your Points

Deciding on whether to proceed to prosecution for an offence does not solely depend on the innocence or guilt of the individual.  The probability of achieving a conviction and the cost of the prosecution are main factors taken into consideration by the prosecutors when considering the evidence supplied by the investigating team.  In the North, after failure to prosecute by the PPS, it is possible for the complainant to take a civil prosecution, not sure if the RoI jurisdiction has the same option.   After a successful civil prosecution the victim is made a financial award to be paid by the offender and may be required to pay the costs involved.

Quote from: BallyroanAbu on December 03, 2016, 07:41:18 PM
Read the book, have met McCarron on occasion would not say I know him.  So here is my take the book is one of the most honest autobiographies I have ever read.  It's all there good bad or indifferent.   He is self absorbed so are a lot of people, he is a victim of an addiction and yes he may not be the nicest human being.  Do I think he did anything with the 15 year old girl, well if there were any shred of proof I am sure in a high profile case the gardai would throw the book at him so obviously not.  The girls dad is her dad so he has to do what he has to do.  McCarron is trying to sell a book and Ger Gilroy is trying to sell a show.   Gilroy's interview was bullshit of the highest order and only served off the ball.   I am not sure why McCarron is doing this book as it is tough mentally.  He is not a poster boy for the GAA but his book is probably one of the better GAA autobiographysies.

Fixed that for you. If it wasnt for Christy O'Connor we wouldnt be talking about this. He obviously saw it as a commercial opportunity and fair play I hope he does well out of it...top class writer...dealing with subject matter that a lot of people dont like but thats the way of the world.

Read the book, have met McCarron on occasion would not say I know him.  So here is my take the book is one of the most honest autobiographies I have ever read.  It's all there good bad or indifferent.   He is self absorbed so are a lot of people, he is a victim of an addiction and yes he may not be the nicest human being.  Do I think he did anything with the 15 year old girl, well if there were any shred of proof I am sure in a high profile case the gardai would throw the book at him so obviously not.  The girls dad is her dad so he has to do what he has to do.  McCarron is trying to sell a book and Ger Gilroy is trying to sell a show.   Gilroy's interview was bullshit of the highest order and only served off the ball.   I am not sure why McCarron is doing this book as it is tough mentally.  He is not a poster boy for the GAA but his book is probably one of the better GAA autobiographys.

You need more than a shred of evidence to charge and convict anyone. The odds are stacked against victims. Have a read for example on how many rapes result in a prosecution.

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 03, 2016, 09:03:56 PM
Read the book, have met McCarron on occasion would not say I know him.  So here is my take the book is one of the most honest autobiographies I have ever read.  It's all there good bad or indifferent.   He is self absorbed so are a lot of people, he is a victim of an addiction and yes he may not be the nicest human being.  Do I think he did anything with the 15 year old girl, well if there were any shred of proof I am sure in a high profile case the gardai would throw the book at him so obviously not.  The girls dad is her dad so he has to do what he has to do.  McCarron is trying to sell a book and Ger Gilroy is trying to sell a show.   Gilroy's interview was bullshit of the highest order and only served off the ball.   I am not sure why McCarron is doing this book as it is tough mentally.  He is not a poster boy for the GAA but his book is probably one of the better GAA autobiographysies.

Fixed that for you. If it wasnt for Christy O'Connor we wouldnt be talking about this. He obviously saw it as a commercial opportunity and fair play I hope he does well out of it...top class writer...dealing with subject matter that a lot of people dont like but thats the way of the world.

He's lost a lot of my respect by enabling this lad. You could write a better story on the writing of this book and the thought processes involved.

Quote from: macdanger2 on December 03, 2016, 03:28:36 PM
If McCarron is going to go on radio publicising his book then surely he expects these kinds of questions. Pretty stupid not to be prepared for it - probably by making a simple apology and then saying he's unable to talk about it further.

Came across as a narcissistic t**ser as well

He is a narcissist and not the smartest sandwich in the picnic basket.
He keeps on coming back to being disappointed about not having the party.
The whole story is quite sad .

There were over 200,000 views of his video.
I don't know how he got involved in that.

Fair play to Tyrone for bringing him back in from the wilderness.

BallyroanAbu

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 03, 2016, 09:03:56 PM

Merci

Honest question how many have read the book?

I read it cover to cover...well written. Emotive subjects covered...addiction, violence, theft, thuggery, gay porn. O'Connor played a blinder...however not sure what Cathal was thinking producing the book at this stage...odd.

BallyroanAbu

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 04, 2016, 01:12:00 AM
I read it cover to cover...well written. Emotive subjects covered...addiction, violence, theft, thuggery, gay porn. O'Connor played a blinder...however not sure what Cathal was thinking producing the book at this stage...odd.

Totally agree

skeog

Cathal lasted five minutes after coming on in the second half of the county league final. Martial art punch i think.

PMG1

Quote from: skeog on December 04, 2016, 07:11:29 PM
Cathal lasted five minutes after coming on in the second half of the county league final. Martial art punch i think.
No choice but to defend himself with 3 or 4 boys throwing punches at him, what else could he do?

Quote from: PMG1 on December 04, 2016, 10:03:36 PM
Quote from: skeog on December 04, 2016, 07:11:29 PM
No choice but to defend himself with 3 or 4 boys throwing punches at him, what else could he do?

Always the victim, that will have to go into revision 2

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 02, 2016, 08:46:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 02, 2016, 08:43:32 PM
The information that girl was tested for HIV/stds was in the public domain and that was the context for Gilroy to ask the question. He explained the context in the interview.
Being tested for stds implies sexual intercourse.

Where was that information in the public domain?
Statement by the father, presented to media,  read out on public radio. Did you not listen to the interview?
That defines 'information being in the public domain'.