Author Topic: Kelly Cup 2017  (Read 3384 times)

The Monument Road

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Kelly Cup 2017
« Reply #30 on: February 23, 2017, 10:22:10 PM »
Stradbally 0-15....Emo 2-10
That's a bit of a surprise....

Junior Ex Laoistalk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
Re: Kelly Cup 2017
« Reply #31 on: February 24, 2017, 01:07:34 AM »
Stradbally 0-15....Emo 2-10
That's a bit of a surprise....

Kelly Cup Semi-final
Emo 2-10
Stradbally 0-15

A late Ian Murphy goal was the key score as Emo turned around a nine-point half-time to deficit to book their place in the Kelly Cup final.
Playing with the aid of a strong wind, Stradbally led by 0-12 to 0-3 at the break.
But Emo launched a big comeback in the second half. Player-manager Paul Lawlor got the revival underway with an early goal and points from him, David Gorman, Shane Murphy, Cian Langford and Nigel Murphy eat into the Stradbally lead.

Stradbally rallied a bit but Emo sub Ian Murphy – only on the field a matter of minutes – struck for the winning score.
Tom Shiel – who has suffered huge injury frustrations over the last couple of seasons – scored 0-7 for Stradbally while Colm Kelly hit 0-4.

St Joseph’s and Killeshin meet in the second Kelly Cup semi-final on Sunday with Emo meeting the winners in the final next Friday night.

SCORERS – Emo: Paul Lawlor 1-4, Ian Murphy 1-0, Nigel Murphy and Cian Langford 0-2 each, David Gorman and Shane Murphy 0-1 each. Stradbally: Tom Shiel 0-7, Colm Kelly 0-4, Brendan Lawlor 0-2, Jody Dillon and John Clancy 0-1 each

EMO: David Whelan; Paddy Dunne, Seamus McEvoy, Sean Ryan; Shane Murphy, Niall Wheeler, Ian Fennelly; Mark Carney, Nigel Murphy; Pauric Kirwan, Glen Brophy, Dylan Langford; Christopher Gleeson, Paul Lawlor, Cian Langford. Subs: David Gorman for Gleeson, Evan Joyce for Fennelly, Ian Murphy for D Langford
STRADBALLY: Wayne Comerford; Colin Beale, Damien Murphy, Jamie Kavanagh; Cormac Delaney, John Donohue, Alan Delaney; Jack Deegan, Conor Delaney; Brendan Lawlor, Tom Shiel, Derek Beale; John Clancy, Jody Dillon, Colm Kelly. Subs: Podge Langton for W Comerford, Sean Comerford for Clancy
Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!