Why are Dublin so poor.........at minors

Started by Under Lights, September 19, 2016, 10:48:46 AM

OgraAnDun

Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 22, 2016, 08:24:40 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 21, 2016, 12:36:11 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on September 20, 2016, 07:45:17 PM
Dublin have 11 minor titles. Kerry have 14 3 won in a row. So its not a bad record. Think they were in 2011 final won it 2012. Terrible record alright.

If Dublin won 3 minors in a row there'd be talk that Dublin should be split in two at minor level.

Exactly, proves the point people don't mind teams being good and winning, as long as its not Dublin which proves that there is a special hatred of all things Dublin, but that's fine, its all the sweater in victory when the Dubs win.

The difference is the money that is being pumped into Dublin by the GAA.

And that it has over twice the population of the 5 Counties of Connacht.

And Aristocrat has an even bigger chip on his shoulder than any of the 6 Co bucks.

Dublin have 11 minor titles. Kerry have 14 3 won in a row. So its not a bad record. Think they were in 2011 final won it 2012. Terrible record alright.

If Dublin won 3 minors in a row there'd be talk that Dublin should be split in two at minor level.

100% correct.

In addition, if it was a Dublin equivalent of Cillian O'Connor who equalized 7 minutes into added time after that tackle the country would have gone ape.

Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 22, 2016, 08:24:40 AM

Exactly, proves the point people don't mind teams being good and winning, as long as its not Dublin which proves that there is a special hatred of all things Dublin, but that's fine, its all the sweater in victory when the Dubs win.

Ye all get jumpers when ye win? Is there no end to ye're decadence?

Quote from: Canalman on September 22, 2016, 10:02:01 AM

100% correct.

In addition, if it was a Dublin equivalent of Cillian O'Connor who equalized 7 minutes into added time after that tackle the country would have gone ape.
What?? ;D ;D
I think some of you Dubs heads are developing severe doses of acute paranoia. Yiz are making all kinds of assumptions based on flawed perceptions of why other counties regard you as being somehow different to all the rest of the country.
The fact whether you like it or not, is that you are very different to the common herd in every conceivable way where Gaelic football is concerned. Not your fault ; all other counties would jump at the chance to swap places with you and why wouldn't they?
The same Cillian O'Connor you are moaning about has to make a 300km return trip several times a week to train with the county panel. Most of your buckos would get there in a half hour on their bikes if they wished.
Dublin has 28% of the population opf the republic and gets 49% of the development funds from Croker- is that fair or what?
So Longford got €144,000 last year and the Dubs got 4 million and yet they are expected to play yiz on equal terms.
Don't give me the crap either that Dublin now are no different to Kerry in the 70s or Kilkenny hurlers of the last decade or so. Some of you heads complain that you don't get the same respect as thoose counties do.

Are yiz for real?? ;D ;D
KIlkenny and Kerry took on all comers, many of who had more money and players than either of them. They didn't play all their games on their home pitches or get chauffeured to and from training sessions either or get pampered and petted like Man U or Chelsea stars do.
Oh, and Kerry players have even longer round trips to train with their panel than Mayo has. And you shower wonder why the rest of us don't treat yiz as equals!!!!
Get rid of yer massive inequality complex and enjoy life a bit more. If knocking shit out of counties  with no arses in their trousers turns you on, then so be it but stop moaning about being unpopular..

The Aristocrat

Sure you even seen it on Irelands gogglebox last night, the two lads cheering for Mayo as if it was there own county, sad really and relects the attitude of the rest of the country.

Split Kerry in 4 at minor and take away the millions that are pumped in to Kerry GAA and give it to Leitrim!

Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 23, 2016, 11:22:26 AM
Sure you even seen it on Irelands gogglebox last night, the two lads cheering for Mayo as if it was there own county, sad really and relects the attitude of the rest of the country.

Split Kerry in 4 at minor and take away the millions that are pumped in to Kerry GAA and give it to Leitrim!
Two lads cheering for Mayo Sure, so is the rest of the civilised world!
Dublin has ten times the population of Mayo. If ever there was a case of David taking on Goliath, this is it.
You don't seem to get it that the size of the market decides how much a sponsor is willing to chip in. When the likes of AIG or Arnotts or O'Neills may not have much interest in the GAA but they look at a potential market of almost 2 million buyers and reach for the cheque book.
Kerry doesn't get millions for a sugardaddy sponsor.
Dublin has 9 times the population of Kerry  so Kerry's main sponsor won't shove unlimited amount into Kerry's kitty.
Same with Mayo; Elverys is the main sponsor but they will only shell out a tiny fraction of what Dublin gets.
Mayo and Kerry depend on fundraising from emigrants all over the world for funds to try and keep up with the Dubs. Mayo have  a far better structure than most counties but the spend on the senior team means that other areas are neglected.
Besides, the cost of bringing players to and from Dublin soon adds up. Kerry are even worse off than Mayo in this regard. Their expenses are higher and their income is far lower than the Dubs.
Kerry minors if they were split four ways wouldn't be able to field a decent team in any of them. They just don't have the numbers.
Believe me, Dublin with half of the GAA's development kitty and with sponsors lined up could afford to give 4 mill to Leitrim with their loose change.

Quote from: Canalman on September 22, 2016, 10:02:01 AM

100% correct.

Lane had already left some Dubs on the field for obvious black-cards: http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/how-on-earth-did-michael-darragh-macauley-escape-a-black-card-against-mayo/95843

That is not to blame MacCauley or any other player. It is a stupid rule.

Quote from: Rossfan on September 22, 2016, 09:52:04 AM
And that it has over twice the population of the 5 Counties of Connacht.

And Aristocrat has an even bigger chip on his shoulder than any of the 6 Co bucks.
You always had a way with words!
It's a pity this fella has such a chip that he can't understand why the rest of the country won't treat Dublin the same as every other county.
He seems to be a fairly decent skin  but he just can't understand why one county with  2 million of a population almost and with virtually unlimited resources can't be treated the same as one with one tenth that number and with some of its players having to do a round trip of 300km or so three times a week for training.
Dunno. "There are none so blind as those who will not see" as the Holy Bible puts it.

The Aristocrat

Its like a forum of Ewan McKenna's. Dublin have advantages yes, they always had advantages.

Say what you will but to me you are disrespecting the Dublin GAA community disrespecting the thousands of volunteers, many many form the country, the visionaries, the grassroots,  the clubs, the club players. Dublin are the same as any other county in that the GAA is grassroots and club first, to your surprise we actually don't have a factory that makes footballers, as stated before a lot of the current squad fathers played for Dublin which created natural ability and with a coach like Gavin the worlds is yours.

Its seems maybe your gripe should be with the GAA, not Dublin.

And this team is an exceptional team and wont be around forever. A lot of players going past their peak.

None of this was a problem when Dublin were not winning and getting beaten by Tyrone (7 million British tax payer money for centre of excellence) or Kerry ( sponsored by a Billionaire Euro Company , one of the biggest is Europe and the world) .

Id advise you all to spend a few days in Dublin travelling around different clubs in different areas to see what is like.

There are organic advantages and inorganic advantages.

The inorganic advantages that I would list

1. Disproportionate GAA funding.
2. Disproportionate Government funding.
3. Home advantage for every championship game.

The best laugh for me is when some clown claims 3 is a disadvantage because teams try harder because it's Croke Park, sweet jesus  ::)

take_yer_points

Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 26, 2016, 09:24:34 AM
Its like a forum of Ewan McKenna's. Dublin have advantages yes, they always had advantages.

Say what you will but to me you are disrespecting the Dublin GAA community disrespecting the thousands of volunteers, many many form the country, the visionaries, the grassroots,  the clubs, the club players. Dublin are the same as any other county in that the GAA is grassroots and club first, to your surprise we actually don't have a factory that makes footballers, as stated before a lot of the current squad fathers played for Dublin which created natural ability and with a coach like Gavin the worlds is yours.

And this team is an exceptional team and wont be around forever. A lot of players going past their peak.

None of this was a problem when Dublin were not winning and getting beaten by Tyrone (7 million British tax payer money for centre of excellence) or Kerry ( sponsored by a Billionaire Euro Company , one of the biggest is Europe and the world) .

Id advise you all to spend a few days in Dublin travelling around different clubs in different areas to see what is like.

The Tyrone centre of excellence was backed to the tune of 7 million by British tax payer money? Is that true?

Quote from: take_yer_points on September 26, 2016, 10:22:57 AM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 26, 2016, 09:24:34 AM

The Tyrone centre of excellence was backed to the tune of 7 million by British tax payer money? Is that true?

Must be. Sure its on d'internet.

Don't do something hasty now like fact checking!

Anyway, every county got £7 Million. (Again - no fact checking).

Tyrone built a centre of blanket excellence
Dublin built the GOAT.
We built a stand.
Roscommon built a bus.

What did the other counties do?