Saint Theresa of Calcutta

Started by T Fearon, September 04, 2016, 08:18:37 AM

Quote from: theskull1 on September 22, 2016, 05:02:41 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 22, 2016, 04:21:06 PM
Actually Jimmy Saville was motivated to do "good things" to provide cover and access for his depraved needs.

MT aim was to assist the poor and dying and in doing so may have used some unconventional/poor practices.

So unless your suggesting MT's purpose was some sort of sadist whose goal was to inflinct suffering your anology is arse about face. Not to mention that your putting poor medical practices on a par with child abuse and giving 1st world kids treats is on a par with tending to the sick and dying in some of the worlds worst slums.

Of course I'm not comparing like for like ... don't be silly man

MTs aim was to assist the poor and dying and as a result of her belief that suffering would be what Christ wanted for the poor, she was happy to draw the line at the level of care they provided and whore herself on the global stage with the highest bidder to pay for it giving no regard to where and who the money was coming from. That's a perserve form of kindness, to point of being sadistic if you ask me.

Yeah so why use the Saville analogy?

And so now you've acceptted that its a load of tosh you decide to call a woman who remained celebaite her whole life a whore? Forgive me if I get the distinct impression that you are trying to castigate MT in a way that is contrary to what she actualy was.

While I would accept that the dying should have got pain relief and Im sure some at least probably did not, Ive never seen anyone say this was policy and to stretch this even further into the notion that it was a policy founded in MTs personal view on pain is putting 2 and 2 together to get 5.
As for using the funds to go globe trekking, she headed a global organisation and was the single best asset for raising funds and for spreading her message. If you are trying to depict her as some sort of international jet setter perhaps bare in mind when she started her work in the slums she had to beg herself.

But if you think MT was a sadist I'll disagree and say you'll entitled to  your deluded opinion which I suspect is based mostly on a desire to deride and ridicule anything religous. Ill say my opinion is that she was a great philanthropist and humanitarian who was not without her faults like the rest of us... and we will leave it at that

With regard to MT and the level of care she provided I would point out the importance of suffering, pain, karma and reincarnation in all of this.  Do you know that MT was often stopped by locals from helping the dying and the suffering? Why? Because it interfered with karma and reincarnation and natural death.
Do you know that today true Hindu's are a real struggle for modern health care practitioners? That they rarely allow medical intervention and only allow certain types of pain medication?

All this is a HUGE part of how MT approached the dying and what she was permitted to do.

Some of the comments on here are atrocious.  I've seen people talk bad about a GAA man who died or a GAA man who turned to gay porn and the collective board were up in arms.  MT was one of the greatest humanitarians we've seen - if you have nothing but hate or bad things to say then you're probably the very person she would have helped...

"I think it is very beautiful for the poor to accept their lot, to share it with the passion of Christ. I think the world is being much helped by the suffering of the poor people."

You can do things which could be considered sadistic with an irrational mindset like this. Her belief system was rooted deeply in religious teaching, and 'explains away' why she wouldn't strive for the betterment of those she was caring for. I think we all know that those misguided beliefs brought cruelty to the poor (relative to the standard of care she should have been fighting for them).

You boys should be a bit more discerning when it comes to choosing who to hero worship

Whats irrational about it if that what she believes? Far more irrational for me would be to give up a cushy life as a teacher to go and work in disease ridden slums with nothing in return.

MT brought cruelty to the poor???? Ive heard it all now :D

Your obviously of the opinion that she shouldn't have bothered...left them to rot in the street?

As I mentioned before She didn't see herself as a politician or ending poverty as part of her remit. Rather she saw herself as someone who would assist and tend to the poor.

There could be countless reasons for this the most obvious to me would be getting involved in a culture clash with the locals or a distraction from her true vocation. Whatever the reason I fail to see what religious teaching would have to do with it as Catholic teaching would be very much pointed towards alleviating poverty.

Quote from: omaghjoe on September 22, 2016, 07:44:24 PM
Whats irrational about it if that what she believes? Far more irrational for me would be to give up a cushy life as a teacher to go and work in disease ridden slums with nothing in return.

Your obviously of the opinion that she shouldn't have bothered...left them to rot in the street?

As I mentioned before She didn't see herself as a politician or ending poverty as part of her remit. Rather she saw herself as someone who would assist and tend to the poor.

There could be countless reasons for this the most obvious to me would be getting involved in a culture clash with the locals or a distraction from her true vocation. Whatever the reason I fail to see what religious teaching would have to do with it as Catholic teaching would be very much pointed towards alleviating poverty.

Sending them to a hospital where actual care was available would have been a good alternative, wouldn't you say?

Has this been posted yet? Sorry if it has, but it bears repeating:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65JxnUW7Wk4

Whats irrational about it if that what she believes?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irrationality

Who's next to be revered?...... Annie Wilkes?  ;D

Annie Wilkes: God came to me last night and told me your purpose for being here. I am going to help you write a new book.
Paul Sheldon: You think I can just whip one out?
Annie Wilkes: Oh, but I don't think Paul, I know.

Quote from: theskull1 on September 23, 2016, 08:51:30 AM
Whats irrational about it if that what she believes?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irrationality

Who's next to be revered?...... Annie Wilkes?  ;D

Annie Wilkes: God came to me last night and told me your purpose for being here. I am going to help you write a new book.
Paul Sheldon: You think I can just whip one out?
Annie Wilkes: Oh, but I don't think Paul, I know.

Conductors of genocide, Child abusers, pantomime serial killers anyone else you like to compare her to?

How do you rationalise  the existence of poverty, their own doing? someone elses doing...your own doing? fates doing? no problem with it?

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 23, 2016, 05:37:40 AM

Sending them to a hospital where actual care was available would have been a good alternative, wouldn't you say?

For terminally ill poor in India was that an option?

Jesus guys a bit of perspective here, she was a nun, her order gave succour to the destitute and dying. If you look at the general living conditions of your average Indian in Calcutta or Mumbai the conditions she provided for her patients compares favourably. Judge from western standards they are poor granted but the vast majority of Indians live in what we would se as squalor. Was she a Saint? I'd say no, a sinner? like the rest of us most likely. jimmy Saville she was not. Did she use her image for benefit? most likely for personal benefit I'd say probably not as her life style was not one most of us would choose. Where I have the issues as I've stated is the Church talking about miracles and so called Sainthood and Tony talking shit about the Pope's infallibility none with a basis in scripture.

Did she campaign for or try to provide better standards of care? No

She was only interested in caring just enough to get them a ticket to heaven, which to her made perfect sense.... the suffering poor were down in the metaphysical engine room fueling god encouraging him to make the world a better place for those who lived in places where you didn't have to suffer to the same degree as the poor. Totally rational

MT was not a friend of the poor. She was a friend of poverty. She said that suffering was a gift from God. She spent her life opposing the only known cure for poverty, which is the empowerment of women and the emancipation of them from a livestock version of compulsory reproduction. And she was a friend to the worst of the rich, taking misappropriated money from the atrocious Duvalier family in Haiti (whose rule she praised in return) and from Charles Keating of the Lincoln Savings and Loan. Where did that money, and all the other donations, go? The primitive hospice in Calcutta was as run down when she died as it always had been—she preferred California clinics when she got sick herself — and her order always refused to publish any audit. But we have her own claim that she opened 500 convents in more than a hundred countries, all bearing the name of her own order. Excuse me, but this is modesty and humility?
Christopher Hitchens, "Mommie Dearest:

Huh? She did improve the treatment of  poor, she may not have helped them out of poverty but she certainly helped them in poverty.

Im amazed how you could take that from her statement of the poor. I would interpret it more that because the poor do not have many material possessions they are not as focused on their pursuit of them as the rest of us, and thus they are more intertwined with God and his attributes of forgiveness, humility, kindness, love etc and are therefore spread their example to the rest of us. I doubt very much that she meant your peculiar version

Mr Hitchens quite obviously has an agenda and thats to earn a living so fair play to him he found a market and exploited it with a band of people who were willing to lap up his tabloid sensationalism

So the cure to poverty is to reduce reproduction :D. Thats one of the funniest things Ive heard he obviously doesnt have a clue about economics, but sure it makes a good punch line so who cares?
Then he asks where here donations go and actually answers it himself with the 500 convents, but instead of accepting it as an answer declares it a boast, an example of her lack of humility. Weird in the extreme, it all comes across as an irrational personal broadside than anything of substance.

Quote from: omaghjoe on September 22, 2016, 05:55:46 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 22, 2016, 05:02:41 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 22, 2016, 04:21:06 PM
Actually Jimmy Saville was motivated to do "good things" to provide cover and access for his depraved needs.

MT aim was to assist the poor and dying and in doing so may have used some unconventional/poor practices.

So unless your suggesting MT's purpose was some sort of sadist whose goal was to inflinct suffering your anology is arse about face. Not to mention that your putting poor medical practices on a par with child abuse and giving 1st world kids treats is on a par with tending to the sick and dying in some of the worlds worst slums.

Of course I'm not comparing like for like ... don't be silly man

MTs aim was to assist the poor and dying and as a result of her belief that suffering would be what Christ wanted for the poor, she was happy to draw the line at the level of care they provided and whore herself on the global stage with the highest bidder to pay for it giving no regard to where and who the money was coming from. That's a perserve form of kindness, to point of being sadistic if you ask me.

Yeah so why use the Saville analogy?

And so now you've acceptted that its a load of tosh you decide to call a woman who remained celebaite her whole life a whore? Forgive me if I get the distinct impression that you are trying to castigate MT in a way that is contrary to what she actualy was.

While I would accept that the dying should have got pain relief and Im sure some at least probably did not, Ive never seen anyone say this was policy and to stretch this even further into the notion that it was a policy founded in MTs personal view on pain is putting 2 and 2 together to get 5.
As for using the funds to go globe trekking, she headed a global organisation and was the single best asset for raising funds and for spreading her message. If you are trying to depict her as some sort of international jet setter perhaps bare in mind when she started her work in the slums she had to beg herself.

But if you think MT was a sadist I'll disagree and say you'll entitled to  your deluded opinion which I suspect is based mostly on a desire to deride and ridicule anything religous. Ill say my opinion is that she was a great philanthropist and humanitarian who was not without her faults like the rest of us... and we will leave it at that

Skull you are one sick, twisted individual, you have no shame at all, disgusting remarks on a woman who devoted her life to the poor, you are a disgrace!

cuconnacht

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 23, 2016, 05:40:12 AM
Has this been posted yet? Sorry if it has, but it bears repeating:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65JxnUW7Wk4

Goddammitt Eamonn,I was wondering why this was bouncing around me head for the last hour.
End of every verse!So if its gonna be in my head all day its gonna be in yours,thems the rules!Strangely appropiate(title)however inadvertent. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch/fTH71AAxXmM

Quote from: stew on September 23, 2016, 07:07:12 PM
Skull you are one sick, twisted individual, you have no shame at all, disgusting remarks on a woman who devoted her life to the poor, you are a disgrace!

Must be doing something right  ;D