Under age amalgamation

Started by The real town, August 31, 2016, 09:29:35 PM

Genocide Organ

Believe the Ballinakill/ Ballypickas underage amalgamation is no more because 'Pickas wouldn't do a full join-up at adult. Heard that Ballypickas are now going in with Colt/ Shanahoe at underage? Could this be right?

Verbal

Where are Ballinakill going to go next?

Spiritof1915

Laois man

Why would Aleix take Bkill and leave there owe players on the sideline?

Spiritof1915

Well they've done it recently albeit it was bk and ballypickas.  Abbeyleix are not competing at a high level underage in the last few years. Maybe it will suit both causes.

Verbal

It's one of those that isn't in the interest of Laois hurling.

It's understandable that Ballinakill & Ballypickas might not have the numbers to stand alone at juvenile level.

It shouldn't be acceptable for a town the size of Abbeyleix to go down that route.
All it does is shrink our playing pool.
You have to bear in mind that they are well backed up by their arrangement with Ballyroan already.

Laois345

Quote from: Genocide Organ on December 23, 2025, 04:47:21 PMBelieve the Ballinakill/ Ballypickas underage amalgamation is no more because 'Pickas wouldn't do a full join-up at adult. Heard that Ballypickas are now going in with Colt/ Shanahoe at underage? Could this be right?

Not sure on Colt/Shanahoe element but correct otherwise.

Ballinakill have numbers at most underage grades and should be able to manage I'm told. Pickas are apparently impossible to deal with.

finnfromballyfin

Quote from: Genocide Organ on December 23, 2025, 04:47:21 PMBelieve the Ballinakill/ Ballypickas underage amalgamation is no more because 'Pickas wouldn't do a full join-up at adult. Heard that Ballypickas are now going in with Colt/ Shanahoe at underage? Could this be right?

It's apparently back but under the name "Ballinakill Gaels"

Genocide Organ

Quote from: finnfromballyfin on February 16, 2026, 11:58:06 AM

Yes, 'Pickas really showed 'em, eh?

Think Colt/ Shanahoe and St. Paul's going it alone at minor, leaving Clonad/ Trumera on their own, also. Will seriously dilute the quality of the minor 'B' competition, if so.

Laois man

I believe Cbolla and Mrath going together in the minor A? It seems you can join who you want now. Trumera with clonad and they in mrath parish. Surely Cbolla and mrath have enough on there own to compete in the B. Maybe I am wrong.

Verbal

No, you are not wrong!
The County Board should start refusing some of these. If the clubs want to fight it further, let them.
But you have to take a stand against nonsense.

If clubs need to join for juvenile level, then so be it, but there should be
1) A connection (same or neighboring parish)
and
2) A need

If a club has the numbers to hurl in the B at a particular grade (eg U17) by using a large number of players from the age grade below (eg U15) then they should not be allowed to join with somebody else in the same situation.
Unless
They are willing to join with them all the way up for juvenile grades.

It is harmful in the long run to these clubs.

No way it is a positive thing for a Clough Ballacolla U17 to sit in a dugout watching a strong Mountrath U15 play instead of him.
That to me is the bottom line.

Voice of tReason

Completely agree with both posters above. I don't like these ad-hoc relationships at all. The Mountrath/Ballyfin link looks a good one to me and I think Colt/Shanahoe would make much more sense for Ballacolla.

Now, all that said, I know C/Ballacolla are tight at some age groups so maybe they literally can't field. They have always played young players up so I'm sure that isn't an issue.
I think there was talk of another join up down the line when one of there go-games teams come through to U13. Maybe not this year now and apologies if I'm wrong.

Could there be a merit to dropping the B to 13 or 11-a-side in situations like that? Especially with a lot of clubs finding it hard to keep numbers playing.

Laois man

Ye 13 a side in the B would be a good idea. I think Ctown had 5 or 6 u15s hurling in the minor final last year and that team was tight enough on numbers aswell.

finnfromballyfin

Quote from: Laois man on February 16, 2026, 02:33:31 PMI believe Cbolla and Mrath going together in the minor A? It seems you can join who you want now. Trumera with clonad and they in mrath parish. Surely Cbolla and mrath have enough on there own to compete in the B. Maybe I am wrong.

That is true. I was told it's because Colla don't have numbers at minor. The amalgamation has happened before so I can't blame them but to be honest idk why Mountrath go in with them even though they're fine by themselves. One thing I know about them is that they're fond of bringing lads that are 2-3 years younger than the age group they're playing in so they could be fecked for numbers at minor age?

Clonad/Trumera is one that shouldn't be a problem. They've played together at many age groups as Raheen Parish and what not so the link is there. Was talking to Clonad players and they were saying that Trumera is what is keeping them going. I get the Mountrath parish thing, there is Trumera lads hurling with Mtrath at underage but they were with Mountrath years before the Clonad/Trumera days.

finnfromballyfin

Quote from: Genocide Organ on February 16, 2026, 02:07:11 PM
Quote from: finnfromballyfin on February 16, 2026, 11:58:06 AM

Yes, 'Pickas really showed 'em, eh?

Think Colt/ Shanahoe and St. Paul's going it alone at minor, leaving Clonad/ Trumera on their own, also. Will seriously dilute the quality of the minor 'B' competition, if so.

I heard that Paul's have numbers to go in by themselves maybe with 3 u15s in aid. Not sure how far they'll get on their own though, and on the Colt/Shanahoe side of things.