New York v Ros 1st May.

Started by Rossfan, April 11, 2016, 08:34:59 AM

Quote from: Rossfan on May 02, 2016, 01:06:43 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on May 02, 2016, 09:20:22 AM
If Roscommon lost were they out all together? Seeing as no back door for New York would it be the same for whoever they beat?
The Connacht Council would have been fairly decked if the unthinkable happened.
NY won't travel and Laythrum would hardly concede home advantage so they'd get a walkover.
The CC would lose out on the gate of a LM/RN game perhaps €200k gross
The farce of this whole circus !?.

We wouldn't be out if course.
Sure what would the GAAboard's resident ranting expert on Ros football have to post about?
AFL doping and "Free State" bashing can only get you so far.

Anyway we go on to the next Round - a Provincial quarter final no less- so we'll see how it goes.
Laythrum won't fear Ros of course!

In 2013 when London had a run to the final in Connacht. It cost the Connacht Council a fair bit in lost gate receipts. Having New York and London in the Connacht Championship is a nice junket for the white collar boys and is grand as long as they are annual whipping boys!

Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2016, 12:59:26 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 02, 2016, 12:48:48 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2016, 12:35:57 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 02, 2016, 12:31:50 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2016, 12:23:33 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 02, 2016, 12:21:13 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2016, 12:11:51 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 02, 2016, 12:07:34 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 01, 2016, 11:58:04 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2016, 11:02:19 PM
Wouldn't worry about it. It's not long since the league semis. Training will inevitably go up a notch seen as it was close.
Come off it Farrandeelin. Would you be saying something similar if it was Mayo 1-15 New York 0-17? Long road back for the rossies after that game and a number of the players have surely played themselves out the starting team after that performance.
No, I probably wouldn't.  ;D You're probably right. Losing the last 3 games of the league, despite it being only the league is not exactly what Ros had hoped for. Anyway I expect them to beat Leitrim next time out.

Nothing to do with how we finished the league. Won the D2 title with a good performance against Down last year but turned up in London totally palatic a few weeks later. All about championship form.

Relax Sy. This evening wasn't Championship. Really it wasn't. If Ros reach CF they will be in rude good form and expecting to beat whoever they face.

If. Leitrim would have hammered us today.

Leitrim were not playing in NY this evening. Maybe just as well for them.
Why the angst Sy? Thought things were in place? The management most Mayo people wanted, Roscommon have. You wouldn t swap your players for ours - especially the forwards. Vot ist los?

Our U21 team would have hammered New York this evening.

Mayo are likely going no where is their own management reshuffle but we're the most erratic county in Ireland at this stage. Seemingly has very little to do with who's managing us.

This doesn't make sense!! But it does tie in with your remark about getting more senior players from this years U21 than Mayo will. Still does not make sense though? You've got your Shines, Devanneys, Harneys, and Kilbrides and Murtaghs etc.
Mayo will be grand. The 'reshuffle' was necessary and last years arrangement should not have happened. Overall our league was positive as was Roscommon's.

This year's management have shown absolutely nothing to suggest a change of management was anything more than foolhardy arrogance by the players.

Ah jaysys Syf, enough is enough. ;D ;D

I'm beginning to think Rossfan and McIf are dead right; you do  seem to have an advanced instance of Mayoitis Dementia. That's mighty serious. I mean seeing life through green and red tinted glasses can be no fun for anyone. Here we are discussing the most inept performance by yer team in a long time and you branch off to have a dig at the "arrogance" of the Mayo players!
What's poor Mayo got to do with anything here?
It's like blaming M\arty Duffy for robbing ye when ye should be out of sight of the opposition. As your mentor, the insightful Rossfan (sort of) put it, Mayo near got bet by London who had 7 league games to prepare for the game in Ruislip, while Roscommon were facing a makey up team that hadn't played a single competitive game.
Mayo learned a hard lesson after the near disaster against London and it's up to ye if the team has the bottle to learn a lesson from yesterday and move on and up and get stuffed next time out.
You're talking here about the "arrogance" of the Mayo side last year, while the arrogance of your shower yesterday doesn't seem to matter to you.
Ross better prepare for Armageddon if any of the team or management shares your point of view!

Mayo's panel 'sacked' their managers after taking the best team in Ireland to a AISF replay - hence whatever anyone wants to say the only result that can make Mayo's circus worthwhile is Rochford immediately winning the AI title. Coupled with an aging panel and a supporter base that will be anything but shy to point the finger at the players if they fail this year the stakes for Mayo are incredibly high this year, mostly brought on top of.themselves.

And you know what? Yer not going to win the AI.

Quote from: mrdeeds on May 02, 2016, 09:20:22 AM
If Roscommon lost were they out all together? Seeing as no back door for New York would it be the same for whoever they beat?

No. They'd be in the preliminary round of the qualifiers.

A win is a win and roscommon will say its great position to be in as it will dampen expectation and take some of the pressure off but heres the thing i watched ros v london last yr and they looked juiced and when the summer pitches come to play they lacked pace and mobility around middle third, it makes things interesting on that side of the draw in connacht as ros look to have come back into the pack again, leitrim game will be interesting but still expect ros to come through and not sure about ourselves this yr as we can be sublime to ridicolous.

Sligo go to new york next yr and id be worried

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 02, 2016, 01:45:16 PM
A win is a win and roscommon will say its great position to be in as it will dampen expectation and take some of the pressure off but heres the thing i watched ros v london last yr and they looked juiced and when the summer pitches come to play they lacked pace and mobility around middle third, it makes things interesting on that side of the draw in connacht as ros look to have come back into the pack again, leitrim game will be interesting but still expect ros to come through and not sure about ourselves this yr as we can be sublime to ridicolous.

Sligo go to new york next yr and id be worried

Mobility far from the issue. Lots of pace in the team. Height is the problem and like Sligo we're totally banjaxed in the middle. Our only starting midfielder left went off injured yesterday. The remaining two on the panel have a grand total of zero senior starts between them.

There must be a few agricultural, big lads living on the Mayo border where there's been a bit of inter-breeding down through the years.

Ballaghman

Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 02:41:48 PM
There must be a few agricultural, big lads living on the Mayo border where there's been a bit of inter-breeding down through the years.
Lads with surnames such as Lyons, O'Malley and Geraghty? 😉
Nah we're keeping our best and finest these days, our days of giving the likes of little old Meath a dig out are over!

Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 02:41:48 PM

Mayo have seized that territory and called it Mayo!

Duine Eile

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2016, 04:30:59 AM
How did the bould Johnny Glynn get on for NY? Has he even played football before? I presume he must have at a low level. They usually burst footballs around Ardrahan direction.

He's actually been named on the Caherlistrane senior panel a few times GBB, his family are Caherlistrane people. I've never seen him play now mind you seeing as there's often county hurling games on or coming up when the Galway football championship games are on.

mayo.mick

Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2016, 01:30:56 PM
Mayo's panel 'sacked' their managers after taking the best team in Ireland to a AISF replay - hence whatever anyone wants to say the only result that can make Mayo's circus worthwhile is Rochford immediately winning the AI title. Coupled with an aging panel and a supporter base that will be anything but shy to point the finger at the players if they fail this year the stakes for Mayo are incredibly high this year, mostly brought on top of.themselves.

Fecking hell syf, you really do HATE Mayo, don't ya?
mayo for sam-don't ask me what year! :-)
https://michaelmaye.com/mayo-gaa-photos/
@mayo_mick

Reckon Roscommon mgmt will be secretly happy with that result. Win, plenty to improve on, an excuse to train like f**k and all delusions of grandeur firmly extinguished (among players, not sure about fans, judging by some on here)

Quote from: mayo.mick on May 02, 2016, 03:13:40 PM

Not a bit of hate. What the Mayo panel did was hardly their finest moment. It's simply stating a fact that they've put a lot of pressure on themselves and in all likelihood they will still come up short. Mayo probably the second best team in Ireland, but the gap between first and second is becoming bigger not smaller. Mayo could have got the very best manager in Ireland and I'd be surprised if they would have been able to improve significantly on 2015's performance as a settled and improving Dublin set-up continued to sweep all before them.

In fairness Mayo managed to avoid being relegated in the league this year whereas Galway's hurlers made the drop after they went 'premiership' on their manager. The success or non-success of Mayo and Galway this year will go aways to telling us how much of the failures in previous years rested with the players and how much rested with the management. I have a feeling it's going to be the former.

Mclf

Quote from: mayo.mick on May 02, 2016, 03:13:40 PM

Hate Mayo? That's a good one, he has green and red blood in him such is his love for them, don't be fooled by him, he would want mayo to hammer roscommon every time they meet.

mayo.mick

mayo for sam-don't ask me what year! :-)
https://michaelmaye.com/mayo-gaa-photos/
@mayo_mick