Paul O'Connell

Started by An Watcher, October 13, 2015, 08:15:10 PM

Quote from: 5 Sams on October 13, 2015, 11:37:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2015, 10:56:59 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 13, 2015, 10:20:38 PM
Kerry Mike was one of the most sensible posters on here for years...I think he lost interest after there was an influx of pricks after 2002/2003. (Maybe you can correct me Mike if I'm wrong) I still keep in touch with him. Sound man.

You're about 10 years out. He was a prolific enough poster up to 2012.

I didn't say he stopped posting...but he lost interest.

I hope against hope gallsman does the same!

Dag Dog

Gmac

It's a pity he doesn't stay going for a few more years it's not like he's hanging on by a fingernail to his position , so what if he's 37 i think he's got something left in him and so do toloun obviously .
Media always dogging these guys about when will you retire this year next year after six nations , there is definitely a big difference in o Connell at the end of his international career than o Driscoll who was a shadow of himself. I don't see much difference in o Connell now to 5 years ago ,these guys are rare and I hate to see him go.

He's 35, not 37. But he is a very battered man. I have remarked here a few times that he looks so stiff, battered and bruised warming up for games, and after the games when he walks off the pitch. I'm watching him for Munster since he came on the scene in 2001, and I actually thought he should have retired at the end of this world cup, rather than going to Toulon. I understand why he did, but I'm genuinely worried for him.

Obviously he still has it when the body warms up, but I think it's more a true reflection of how he feels when you watch him get the blood going before the game. In those moments he looks like a stiff, sore man.

Legend.

An overused, under-understood word but apt for Paul O'Connell. I'm in awe of this man and deeply thankful that I witnessed his consistent greatness. I think he lifted us all. Thanks POC.

finbar o tool

i obviously was never in a dressing room with the man, but the way he comes across and from what other people have said, id say he would get every last bit of blood, sweat and effort out of every man around him. id say the other players would follow him into a fire.
sport sure is cruel, he deserves to go out lifting the Webb Ellis trophy over his head. not on a stretcher.
An amateur requires a personal commitment that money cannot buy

Quote from: stew on October 14, 2015, 12:35:00 AM
Kerry Mike was one of the most sensible posters on here for years...I think he lost interest after there was an influx of pricks after 2002/2003. (Maybe you can correct me Mike if I'm wrong) I still keep in touch with him. Sound man.

Jaysus why would I do that? You're simply far too much fun.

Quote from: magpie seanie on October 14, 2015, 03:17:43 PM
Legend.

An overused, under-understood word but apt for Paul O'Connell. I'm in awe of this man and deeply thankful that I witnessed his consistent greatness. I think he lifted us all. Thanks POC.

Legend is right.

I think he will make a terrific manager.

Quote from: gallsman on October 14, 2015, 05:25:15 PM
Quote from: stew on October 14, 2015, 12:35:00 AM

Jaysus why would I do that? You're simply far too much fun.

Aye right! Ye blocked me for a while ffs!

Anyhow, I am done with you, fire away, I will never respond to another post you write, you simply  aint worth it kid!  ;D

Blocked? I have had you set to ignore for the best part of two years but always check in as you're good for a laugh. That's not a compliment - I'm laughing at you, not with you.

Recently however you've been on an absolute bender of bumbling, incoherent ranging and raving. Never mind struggling to ignore it, I'd actively tune in for that show. Have you ever thought about commercialising your lunacy?