Is Stormont going to fall?

Started by Denn Forever, August 21, 2015, 10:46:35 AM

Amazing how enough though it's the IRA and SF that are covering themselves in shit that a lot of this thread is directed at a unionist politician.

Is the perspective so warped in the north that ye can't see how unsettling it is to see a supposedly gone terrorist organisation settling scores with impunity, and the PSNI almost terrified to admit they're still active because it may effect the political process?

Too much 'defend my side at all costs' going on in IRA/SF circles right now. They can now choose to stick their heads in the ground ala Gerry Adams or actually root out these elements. Doing nothing or actively shielding these criminals isn't a solution.

Quote from: Syferus on August 26, 2015, 04:11:31 PM
Amazing how enough though it's the IRA and SF that are covering themselves in shit that a lot of this thread is directed at a unionist politician.

Is the perspective so warped in the north that ye can't see how unsettling it is to see a supposedly gone terrorist organisation settling scores with impunity, and the PSNI almost terrified to admit they're still active because it may effect the political process?

Too much 'defend my side at all costs' going on in IRA/SF circles right now. They can now choose to stick their heads in the ground ala Gerry Adams or actually root out these elements. Doing nothing or actively shielding these criminals isn't a solution.

Easy to say that from the comfort of having no experience of the alternative.

Everyone knows that there are uncomfortable things to have to 'put up' with on both sides but these are by far way better than the alternatives.

The longer the peace lasts the less need and relevance these elements will have and we can get to some kind of normality that 99.0% of the population would like.

OgraAnDun

It's former members of a now virtually defunct organisation, it's not Sinn Fein's fault.

Just as an aside, how does it feel to bask in the freedom won for you by 'a terrorist organisation' and a bunch of republican 'criminals'.
And BTW, Nesbitt deserves all the abuse he gets cos he brings most of it upon himself... what was that supposed to be today, the fecking Gettysburg Address?

LCohen

Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on August 26, 2015, 03:40:48 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 26, 2015, 03:05:56 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 25, 2015, 03:01:51 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 25, 2015, 12:54:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 25, 2015, 12:09:48 AM
Awful silence from the SF gang of Gaaboarders ;)

I also noticed a lack of comment in the press from SF. But why should they have to make comments about an old boys network?
McGuinness, Adams and Kelly have condemned it. Nothing much else they can do or say really, other than just sit tight and wait for the next scandal, headline or whatever else to come along.

There is plenty more they can do.

On the McGuigan murder they can appeal for witnesses to the murder (or its preparation etc) to come forward to the police?
They can give witnesses confidence that speaking to the PSNI is acceptable and not damaging to their personal safety
They can use their influence to make sure there is no threat to the safety of witnesses who come forward.

On wider criminal activity by republicans they can make similar appeals and use their influence in similar ways.

That is ofcourse if they have any interest in showing leadership. Real Leadership

I don't agree with your suggestions of what SF should do more of. For the simple reason that those with the guns / those willing to use them aren't going to listen to the shinners anyway.
So SF only do things if they are going to be effective? Why do they condemn these killings? What use is that?

I think SF claim to be the leaders of republicanism then what actions do they propose to cut out the violence and organised criminality that persists within republicanism and how well are they doing with this?

LCohen

Quote from: haranguerer on August 26, 2015, 04:01:04 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 26, 2015, 03:08:13 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 26, 2015, 01:04:10 PM
Ridiculous; looks very much like an attempt to show they're still relevant and do have influence. It seems they'd be only too delighted if the Troubles started up again just so they could say 'I told you so'

Their "delight" at the troubles starting up agins is based on what exactly?

Is their any threat of the troubles starting up? Who is itching to get all violent again?

ffs...clearly hyperbole for effect. And the army rape post seems to have also been over your head

And what effect.

My apologies for confusing your posts with tired and useless wankery. The hilarity of rape stories escapes me.

LCohen

Quote from: NAG1 on August 26, 2015, 04:14:38 PM

Everyone knows that there are uncomfortable things to have to 'put up' with on both sides but these are by far way better than the alternatives.

The longer the peace lasts the less need and relevance these elements will have and we can get to some kind of normality that 99.0% of the population would like.
So if we decide that we won't put up with UVF racketeering what will be the long term consequence?
If we decide to bust the fuel laundering and diluting in South Armagh will the money men throw their bombs out of the pram? Is that the sort of thing that masquerades as republicanism these days? Same with the drug dealers and the boys selling fake lottery tickets. Is the threat of republican violence just a means of keeping the police out of their criminal manors?

Bust them now.

Pub Bore

Sorry Syferus, but this is spoken like a man who just has no clue.

Quote from: LCohen on August 26, 2015, 06:40:00 PM

So if we decide that we won't put up with UVF racketeering what will be the long term consequence?
If we decide to bust the fuel laundering and diluting in South Armagh will the money men throw their bombs out of the pram? Is that the sort of thing that masquerades as republicanism these days? Same with the drug dealers and the boys selling fake lottery tickets. Is the threat of republican violence just a means of keeping the police out of their criminal manors?

Bust them now.

That's the big brave internet warrior approach there.  You sound like a Fox News reporter talking about ISIS. Unfortunately in reality things have to be a little more nuanced.

LCohen

Quote from: Franko on August 26, 2015, 06:53:37 PM

Bust them now.

That's the big brave internet warrior approach there.  You sound like a Fox News reporter talking about ISIS. Unfortunately in reality things have to be a little more nuanced.

So explain these real world nuances?

Quote from: LCohen on August 26, 2015, 06:55:52 PM

Bust them now.

Do I really have to explain the likely political consequences of the PSNI going in gung-ho to 'bust' anyone involved in criminality in south Armagh*? Really?

Edit: *Or Loyalist east Belfast for that matter.

LCohen

Quote from: Franko on August 26, 2015, 07:02:54 PM

Bust them now.

Do I really have to explain the likely political consequences of the PSNI going in gung-ho to 'bust' anyone involved in criminality in south Armagh? Really?
Please do. In detail

Quote from: LCohen on August 26, 2015, 07:04:34 PM

Bust them now.

Do I really have to explain the likely political consequences of the PSNI going in gung-ho to 'bust' anyone involved in criminality in south Armagh? Really?
Please do. In detail
Sorry, I've better things to be doing so I'll decline your request. Tell you what, have a guess and I'll tell you if you're right or not.

Quote from: Pub Bore on August 26, 2015, 06:51:22 PM

Sorry Syferus, but this is spoken like a man who just has no clue.

Nah.

It's patently apparent some people here, and indeed it seems a relatively widespread sentiment in the north, are so attached to the old way of doing business they can't foresee a future where criminals are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. I suppose the ridiculousness of the Good Friday Agreement freeing a pile of murderers has helped cement that idea into popular consciousness in the north.

That fact is something needs to change and I don't think waiting it out for the criminals to die and for people like Adams and McGuiness to be sent out to pasture for the next generation to take over really fixes the root problems. Make no mistake, there's animals on the unionist side too but what republicans can deal with are their own - they are not doing that, they're still actively shielding them and in cases like Adams the reason is a much because they know so much about his denied IRA past as it is to do with protecting power-sharing.

LCohen

Quote from: Franko on August 26, 2015, 07:11:57 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 26, 2015, 07:04:34 PM

Bust them now.

Please do. In detail
Sorry, I've better things to be doing so I'll decline your request. Tell you what, have a guess and I'll tell you if you're right or not.
No, no i set out my position. You said I didn't take account of the nuances. You know th nuances so spell them out. We have all the time in the world so time pressure is no excuse. Spell it out. Give us the detail.

You used the phrase "big brave internet warrior" so lets have no hiding