A United Ireland. Opening up the discussion.

Started by winghalfback, May 27, 2015, 03:16:23 PM

Ah you're not an innocent party on the vilification front.

What do you expect people who lived through what they did up here to say about the likes of that kind of viewpoint from Martin?

Truthsayer

Quote from: Rossfan on December 05, 2024, 05:57:30 PMHe could possibly be remembered as the one who paved the way with the Shared Island fund.
Despite all the villificatiin and running down "the Free State(sic)" etc we take all the insults and abuse and continue to give ye money.
You really are trying to deflect from the disgusting comments of Martin that were deeply offensive to bereaved families here.

Snapchap

Substandard, with regards your question on reunification and Micheal Martin, when Irelands Future held their major rally in the 3 Arena last year, Micheal was the only party leader in the 26 counties to decline the invitation to take part.

He has also described himself as subscribing to Seamus Mallons view when it came to a border poll. Mallon was a proponent of the parallel consent idea whereby a vote on unity would require a majority of unionists to vote in favour of it. In other words, an undemocratic, Anti-Good Friday agreement proposal designed to put as permanent a roadblock as possible on the road towards reunification. A reporter asked him some time ago if he regarded himself "a persuader for Urish unity". Micheal, the leader of the self titled "Republican Party", refused to say yes he was. Instead he waffled about sharing the island. As Martina Devlin said, his waffle about a "shared island" isn't code for Irish Unity, its code for co-living with the north. Nothing beyond what is in place right now. Continued partition.

Three years ago, a nationalist victims group hit out at him for his repeated refusal to even reply to their letters seeking a meeting. That's who he is.

This latest comment from him, albeit worse than anything else he has ever said in relation to the north, is nothing new from 26 County politicians. I recall a few years back on newstalk, Regina Doherty suggested than nationalists being killed in the conflict was something that was "all brought on by their own actions".

Rossfan is good craic, no doubt the sort of boy roars British bastard at you whenever his county is dumped out of the all Ireland by an ulster team.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on December 05, 2024, 06:37:53 PMStop being ridiculous.

Could it not be said that giving ye money is actually future investments to an UI?

It's clever gambling, spend now, get the infrastructure right and pave the way for a better Ireland
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: imtommygunn on December 05, 2024, 06:00:36 PMAh you're not an innocent party on the vilification front.

What do you expect people who lived through what they did up here to say about the likes of that kind of viewpoint from Martin?
I run down the Shinners but I'm not trying to unite with them.
The villification I'm talking about is going on long before the Micky Martin nonsense. Ye can give to him as hard as ye like.
It's probably a carry over of the "2 failed States" mantra and the pre 1986 view of the 26 as an illegal State etc .

But back to the topic.... How do you convince the Brit Sec of State that there might be a majority in favour of a UI as required by the GFA?

skeog

Talking to a friend in monaghan told me he has got 600 euros extra as a cost of living and Xmas bonus.No wonder Gov was re=elected.

Truthsayer

That's the problem.. a lot of people are doing ok and couldn't care less about homelessness or their own citizens in the south in poverty so are hardly going to be bothered that Michael Martin insults countless bereaved families here. MéFéiners...

Quote from: Truthsayer on December 05, 2024, 07:48:09 PMThat's the problem.. a lot of people are doing ok and couldn't care less about homelessness or their own citizens in the south in poverty so are hardly going to be bothered that Michael Martin insults countless bereaved families here. MéFéiners...

If you give someone a gift of some money, and they call you a p***k in return, you're unlikely to spend your time wondering what else you can do for them.

Look-Up!

FFG don't speak for the people of Ireland despite their delusions of grandeur. They represent about 40% of the vote and they only hold onto much of that by scaremongering about SF. Old habits die hard and unfortunately people would happily watch their party flush the country down the toilet and vote for them again because SF are worse or something. But that spiel has a sell by date. They'll need to change their tune eventually or become irrelevant.

Quote from: 03,05,08 on December 05, 2024, 06:09:52 PMRossfan is good craic, no doubt the sort of boy roars British bastard at you whenever his county is dumped out of the all Ireland by an ulster team.
Yeah think I heard one or 2 of that sort after the quarter final this year alright.

Look-Up!

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 05, 2024, 05:43:45 PM
Quote from: Substandard on December 05, 2024, 05:33:05 PMOn a human level, Martin has had more than his share of losses to cope with, and I would sympathise with that.
But as a politician,  I always thought his attitude towards the North and Sinn Féin was reprehensible.  Fair enough,  you can disagree with,  or even dislike, rival political parties or movements,  but I always thought his attitude was some combination of vindictive, condescending,  sneering, contemptuous or patronising, and I would love to see him challenged directly by asking him where he stands regarding moves towards a United Ireland,  what Fianna Fails stance has been since the Good Friday agreement, and if he believes they hold to their roots as the Republican party.
Around the time of Boris Johnson and others,  I often wondered does it ever occur to these political figures how they will stand in history,  or how will history books of the future depict them?
In the event of a United Ireland,  how would a history book describe Micheál Martin?

Probably answered your own question
If MM's comments on his own performance in the health ministerial position are anything to go by, or indeed his comments on the bank bailout that cough cough NEVER happened, when he's sitting back enjoying his lavish pension and contemplating his own career, I'm sure he'll regard himself as the greatest politician of all time. He is really that deranged.

Quote from: Look-Up! on December 05, 2024, 08:28:54 PMFFG don't speak for the people of Ireland despite their delusions of grandeur. They represent about 40% of the vote and they only hold onto much of that by scaremongering about SF. Old habits die hard and unfortunately people would happily watch their party flush the country down the toilet and vote for them again because SF are worse or something. But that spiel has a sell by date. They'll need to change their tune eventually or become irrelevant.

Damn "free state(sic)" voters won't vote the way 6 Co shinners want.

Look-Up!

Quote from: Rossfan on December 05, 2024, 08:44:15 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on December 05, 2024, 08:28:54 PMFFG don't speak for the people of Ireland despite their delusions of grandeur. They represent about 40% of the vote and they only hold onto much of that by scaremongering about SF. Old habits die hard and unfortunately people would happily watch their party flush the country down the toilet and vote for them again because SF are worse or something. But that spiel has a sell by date. They'll need to change their tune eventually or become irrelevant.

Damn "free state(sic)" voters won't vote the way 6 Co shinners want.
Could you say that again in English please.