Dublin v Derry

Started by twohands!!!, March 26, 2015, 10:23:20 PM

Neither team on championship form tonight
Both poor. Both set up defensively though Derry just even more so.

Derry's best forward scoring goals in soccer match today shows how much
Derry think of the nfl. The line ups each week showed that.

Early season and the weather made this defensive match up look even worse tonight!

Clueless Benny? Dublin are doing quite well against teams who show no ambition whatsoever. Better conditions and with all their players back and fully fit they'll rip these defensive teams apart. They only conceded 0-4 tonight.

QuoteBoth poor. Both set up defensively though Derry just even more so.

Eh? Why do people peddle this nonsense? Dublin didn't set up defensively.

Quote from: BennyHarp on March 28, 2015, 09:24:53 PM
Will be interesting to see if the other Leinster teams will learn from the past few games. It's amazing how clueless Dublin are against a packed defence, surely somebody in Leinster is watching this and will put it up to the Dubs this year.
now  there's a province needs coached.

Quote from: Zulu on March 28, 2015, 09:29:13 PM
Clueless Benny? Dublin are doing quite well against teams who show no ambition whatsoever. Better conditions and with all their players back and fully fit they'll rip these defensive teams apart. They only conceded 0-4 tonight.

Feck me you were impressed by the Dubs? They only conceded 0-4 because Derry are shite and didn't try to attack. Tyrone aren't great and should have beaten them last time out and the Donegal game last year highlighted all their flaws that are still there, have they improved from then? What evidence have you seen to suggest they'll be better against a Donegal style set up this summer than last?

For all this talk about how Dublin don't do well against the blanket, they've beaten Derry and Donegal this campaign, and drawn with Tyrone.  Beat Derry and Tyrone in the last 2 league finals.   Beaten Monaghan last year's championship, and gone 1-1 with Donegal in 2 championship meetings.

If you aren't one of the top 3-4 teams, then the blanket is your best bet against Dublin, but it's not as if Dublin haven't had the better of things overall against blanket defences.

Quote from: rrhf on March 28, 2015, 09:35:19 PM
Will be interesting to see if the other Leinster teams will learn from the past few games. It's amazing how clueless Dublin are against a packed defence, surely somebody in Leinster is watching this and will put it up to the Dubs this year.

True but ulster could do with some forward coaches. If they had better forwards they wouldn't have to play like this

Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2015, 09:45:50 PM

True but ulster could do with some forward coaches. If they had better forwards they wouldn't have to play like this

Not true Indiana. Ulster have as good a quality forward as anywhere else. That is not the reason they 'play like this'.
You re as likely to play blanket defense if you re backs are not good as if you have poor forwards.
Anyway coaching is not the issue in Ulster. Probably the most coached province in it. Some would say too much coaching - in a particular style - too soon.

Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2015, 10:06:32 PM

Not true Indiana. Ulster have as good a quality forward as anywhere else. That is not the reason they 'play like this'.
You re as likely to play blanket defense if you re backs are not good as if you have poor forwards.
Anyway coaching is not the issue in Ulster. Probably the most coached province in it. Some would say too much coaching - in a particular style - too soon.

Bar one or two I think the quality of forwards in Ulster is very low. Lower then its been for a long time.

And to prove your point Down hit FIFTEEN sides tonight.

Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2015, 09:14:49 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on March 28, 2015, 08:37:24 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 28, 2015, 08:35:19 PM
Load of bollox. Derry don't have the quality up front to punish teams when playing 15 behind the ball

youse would be wise doubling your backroom team and buying a reck more laptops to try and get to grips with the blanket (an experienced blanket that is)

You'd be wise to employ some gaelic football coaches up there. That's two shite performances from derry teams in 2 weeks in CP.

Give us a wee bit from your cash reserves and we'll have them start on Monday evening

Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2015, 10:08:18 PM

Bar one or two I think the quality of forwards in Ulster is very low. Lower then its been for a long time.

If there is a lack of quality forwards then it is more likely a lack of talent rather than lack of coaching. The 2 most coached teams I ve seen have been from Ulster, Harte's Tyrone and McGuinness's Donegal. Both had good forwards too but gave themselves a better chance of winning by negating the oppositions attacking strengths.

Quote from: JoG2 on March 28, 2015, 10:13:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2015, 09:14:49 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on March 28, 2015, 08:37:24 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 28, 2015, 08:35:19 PM
Load of bollox. Derry don't have the quality up front to punish teams when playing 15 behind the ball

youse would be wise doubling your backroom team and buying a reck more laptops to try and get to grips with the blanket (an experienced blanket that is)

You'd be wise to employ some gaelic football coaches up there. That's two shite performances from derry teams in 2 weeks in CP.

Give us a wee bit from your cash reserves and we'll have them start on Monday evening

What happened the £120m you got from HM Govt? Give us a sub will you?

Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2015, 10:24:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2015, 10:08:18 PM

If there is a lack of quality forwards then it is more likely a lack of talent rather than lack of coaching. The 2 most coached teams I ve seen have been from Ulster, Harte's Tyrone and McGuinness's Donegal. Both had good forwards too but gave themselves a better chance of winning by negating the oppositions attacking strengths.

Donegal have good forwards- nobody else does  Conor Mc Manus aside.

Stevie O Neill- Linden-Tony Boyle- Canavan- Mulligan- Ross Carr- Greg Blaney- Mc Donnell- Ronan Clarke- John Mc Entee. Its  a wasteground currently

You take a 14 year old and show him how to kick off both feet or show him how to be a sweeper.

Quote from: BennyHarp on March 28, 2015, 09:39:26 PM
Quote from: Zulu on March 28, 2015, 09:29:13 PM

Feck me you were impressed by the Dubs? They only conceded 0-4 because Derry are shite and didn't try to attack. Tyrone aren't great and should have beaten them last time out and the Donegal game last year highlighted all their flaws that are still there, have they improved from then? What evidence have you seen to suggest they'll be better against a Donegal style set up this summer than last?

Any team that sets up that defensively are going to be shite going forward, though Derry were admittedly particularly bad. Donegal got every break going last year and I'd imagine that Dublin will simply leave their half backs in their positions when faced with a blanket defence which is all they need to do to beat such teams. It's not rocket science, the blanket defence has been sussed and all the Ulster teams are doing is making games which could be 2-14 to 1-12  into 0-8 to 0-5. Dublin aren't showing their hand yet but anyone, like the boys on Setanta, who thing they aren't working on it in training are simple.