Mayo v Monaghan 1-3-15

Started by Farrandeelin, February 22, 2015, 04:02:13 PM

babarino

In the grand scheme of things this game doesn't count for much, and we'd love a rematch next summer.

Monaghan lost the rag with an incompetent ref. It's just part of life in gaelic games - the perceived top teams get the benefit of the doubt. The first red, when the game was balanced, was a ridiculous. What followed wasn't good either, but it's not like similar stuff wasn't happening elsewhere in Division 1.

Spare us the Enda Kennyesque holier than thou crap. If youse think that scoreline reflects the difference between Monaghan and Mayo, you're deluding yourselves.

Quote from: babarino on March 02, 2015, 12:19:55 AM
In the grand scheme of things this game doesn't count for much, and we'd love a rematch next summer.

Monaghan lost the rag with an incompetent ref. It's just part of life in gaelic games - the perceived top teams get the benefit of the doubt. The first red, when the game was balanced, was a ridiculous. What followed wasn't good either, but it's not like similar stuff wasn't happening elsewhere in Division 1.

Spare us the Enda Kennyesque holier than thou crap. If youse think that scoreline reflects the difference between Monaghan and Mayo, you're deluding yourselves.

It doesn't.

Here are two teams performances in Croke Park the last 4 Championships:

W D L
6  1  3 - Mayo
0  0  2 - Monaghan

That reflects the difference between the two teams.

Until your team starts putting other numbers instead of those two zeros, you are the one's deluding yourselves.

Quit with the Kenny shite a stór. As for the rest....
If anything the ref. was easy on Monaghan. Both Hughes could have gone - the fella with 21 on his back could have walked twice on his own. There were  also 2 shouts for black cards on Aidan O Shea that Hickey waved away. Not for the first time fouls on O Shea do not count but god help him if he attempts to tackle a player.
Monaghan lost the rag alright but because their bullying did not work. If you think that scoreline does not reflect the difference between the 2 teams, you are deluding yourself.
I was crying out for us to be defensive and cute and it was great to see a team lose it when they don t get the softness they expect when they play us. This Monaghan team obviously believed the hype about themselves and the general lack of regard we re held in. That s strange from a team that hasn t played us for some years. Likes of Dessie Mone ( wouldn t be within an ass's roar of the Mayo panel, let alone team), was acting/talking the man from the start. Monaghan management need to take a long hard look at themselves after that. Especially after trying to scatter the blame after like you're trying to do as well. They ve no future and Monaghan will struggle to stay in Div.1 after that.
We managed to prevail in spite of poor decision making early on and some craven referring that encouraged Monaghan to push out the boat as far as they wanted in the physical stakes, without appropriate sanction.

Schkite

Quote from: moysider on March 01, 2015, 11:15:28 PM

Hmmmm. If your's and Babarino's attitude are typical of people from your county, it's no surprise that the Monaghan come to town with the approach they did.

Aye, sure judge an entire county on a couple of posts on a message board. Jesus!  ::)

Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2015, 12:44:04 AM

W D L
6  1  3 - Mayo
0  0  2 - Monaghan

Until your team starts putting other numbers instead of those two zeros, you are the one's deluding yourselves.

Our respective Croke Park records are different enough that you don't have to go exaggerating to emphasis your point. Not that it makes a pile of difference but we beat Kildare in Croker last year.

Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2015, 12:51:53 AM

Likes of Dessie Mone ( wouldn t be within an ass's roar of the Mayo panel, let alone team), was acting/talking the man from the start.

There's a lot of talk of delusion these last couple of pages, but you are seriously deluded if you honestly think that about Dessie(who you've bizarrely singled out, despite not being one of the ones sent off). You mightn't like the guy but your statement is obviously false. He's been one of the best half-backs in the country over the last couple of years.

Anyway, seriously disappointing result yesterday. On paper this was always one of our more difficult fixtures so it was going to be hard to get anything out of it anyway, but the performances of the two teams leading up to it gave us a bit more hope. Unfortunately we were on the end of a serious response to Tyrone's win over Mayo, while we couldn't keep up our own level of performance. Not being able to put out a full strength team didn't help, but we still shouldn't have lost like that. The ref was poor, but once we got the first red the wheels came off altogether, the ref wasn't a factor in the result. We can have very little complaints, Mayo much the better team yesterday while our response to a couple of setbacks were not the type you would want. Our discipline was poor also, which is fairly out of character under O'Rourke, yet no doubt that won't stop people going on about "typical Monaghan". It may have been a bad tempered game, but I was still a bit surprised to see all the Mayo lads sticking the boot in even after a decisive win. It's not like we have any sort of history, but they seem to have enjoyed handing our asses to us. Fair enough.

This result means we're very much up against it to stay up, but as I said this was always going to be a tough one for us. I'm still much more annoyed about the Cork game, that was one we let away.

Quote from: Schkite on March 02, 2015, 10:02:01 AM
Our respective Croke Park records are different enough that you don't have to go exaggerating to emphasis your point. Not that it makes a pile of difference but we beat Kildare in Croker last year.

Anyway, seriously disappointing result yesterday. On paper this was always one of our more difficult fixtures so it was going to be hard to get anything out of it anyway, but the performances of the two teams leading up to it gave us a bit more hope. Unfortunately we were on the end of a serious response to Tyrone's win over Mayo, while we couldn't keep up our own level of performance. Not being able to put out a full strength team didn't help, but we still shouldn't have lost like that. The ref was poor, but once we got the first red the wheels came off altogether, the ref wasn't a factor in the result. We can have very little complaints, Mayo much the better team yesterday while our response to a couple of setbacks were not the type you would want. Our discipline was poor also, which is fairly out of character under O'Rourke, yet no doubt that won't stop people going on about "typical Monaghan". It may have been a bad tempered game, but I was still a bit surprised to see all the Mayo lads sticking the boot in even after a decisive win. It's not like we have any sort of history, but they seem to have enjoyed handing our asses to us. Fair enough.

I was really referring to the AIF series starting at the quarters, but I take your point.

As for sticking the boot in, the two posters desperately seeking attention got what they wanted.

upmonaghansayswe

Lads, just take the beating this time.

From the outset it was ominous. Hearing Connor wasn't starting and Darren wasn't his replacement just left two massive gaps that we can't fill for a full 70. That said, we started reasonably well with Daniel and Kieran hitting great points and Rory finding his range for one, but we rode all of our luck in not conceding 2/3 goals in the first half along with some poor Mayo shooting. Our midfield got over run and is a key area that will cause us big trouble if we don't have a full pick.

Jinxys sending off was awful silly, you just can be doing that. I only saw the left hand swing at the time, and thought it was harsh, but seeing the reply, there's not much defence and in fairness the Mayo man didn't collapse looking for him to get the line either. It was very disappointing as he has probably been our best player so far this year. Coupled with losing Malone afterwards we lost that positive bite that we often need to swing small margins back in our favour. Did anyone see Malone's black card offence? Not sure what it was for.

We were still in the game early in the second half going 10 8 down, and missed a free to go one down. But that was as good as it got. The gaps appeared and the first goal sealed the game. Ryan McAnespie was third man tackled in that play. I was expecting the referees whistle and a black card but neither came. From there the frustration set in, manifested in some disappointing moments.

The second red was again justified, that fella could have got hurt and the sound of the clatter certainly didn't help Ryan's case. The wee schmozle wasn't needed either, Kieran could have got the line there along with Donaghy. There might be times when a bit of a shake about is needed but not when you're on that side of a hiding. It looks awful.
On a side note, I saw the RTE highlights last night including Darren Hughes shouting at the ref. Either RTE were saving us from more negative press by not showing Hughes`s shoulder on the Mayo player that resulted in the free against him or they have taken his reaction out of context by not showing a fair hit.....
The rest of the game petered out at Mayo`s pace. The only positive in that period were the kickouts that Kieran won and his great score at the end. 

The most disappointing thing from yesterday is that now we have made Donegal's task easier for next weekend which I hope doesn't snowball into a bad March for us. We won't have Jinxy or Wylie. Duffy looked bad coming off, Hughes mustn't be 100% or he would have started and Connors injured too. Add all them to the list of our current injured players and we`ve a very tough prospect ahead. There's a fine balance between wanting to survive in this division and taking risks on injured players, and that lies with Malachy. We have to keep an eye on Cavan in May.

straightred

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on March 02, 2015, 12:58:07 PM

From the outset it was ominous. Hearing Connor wasn't starting and Darren wasn't his replacement just left two massive gaps that we can't fill for a full 70. That said, we started reasonably well with Daniel and Kieran hitting great points and Rory finding his range for one, but we rode all of our luck in not conceding 2/3 goals in the first half along with some poor Mayo shooting. Our midfield got over run and is a key area that will cause us big trouble if we don't have a full pick.

Jinxys sending off was awful silly, you just can be doing that. I only saw the left hand swing at the time, and thought it was harsh, but seeing the reply, there's not much defence and in fairness the Mayo man didn't collapse looking for him to get the line either. It was very disappointing as he has probably been our best player so far this year. Coupled with losing Malone afterwards we lost that positive bite that we often need to swing small margins back in our favour. Did anyone see Malone's black card offence? Not sure what it was for.

We were still in the game early in the second half going 10 8 down, and missed a free to go one down. But that was as good as it got. The gaps appeared and the first goal sealed the game. Ryan McAnespie was third man tackled in that play. I was expecting the referees whistle and a black card but neither came. From there the frustration set in, manifested in some disappointing moments.

The second red was again justified, that fella could have got hurt and the sound of the clatter certainly didn't help Ryan's case. The wee schmozle wasn't needed either, Kieran could have got the line there along with Donaghy. There might be times when a bit of a shake about is needed but not when you're on that side of a hiding. It looks awful.
On a side note, I saw the RTE highlights last night including Darren Hughes shouting at the ref. Either RTE were saving us from more negative press by not showing Hughes`s shoulder on the Mayo player that resulted in the free against him or they have taken his reaction out of context by not showing a fair hit.....
The rest of the game petered out at Mayo`s pace. The only positive in that period were the kickouts that Kieran won and his great score at the end. 

The most disappointing thing from yesterday is that now we have made Donegal's task easier for next weekend which I hope doesn't snowball into a bad March for us. We won't have Jinxy or Wylie. Duffy looked bad coming off, Hughes mustn't be 100% or he would have started and Connors injured too. Add all them to the list of our current injured players and we`ve a very tough prospect ahead. There's a fine balance between wanting to survive in this division and taking risks on injured players, and that lies with Malachy. We have to keep an eye on Cavan in May.

The first red was harsh and given what happened in the drawn game against Kerry last year mayo should know what it feels like to come out on the wrong end of one of those - technically the right call but harsh nonetheless.

The non call of the 3rd man tackle was probably the worst decision of the day as it led directly to the first goal and it was so blatant. When coaching we are always telling kids not to get on the refs back as time and time again we see that he will give soft frees against you or fail to give obvious ones in your favour and I can only guess that this is what happened here. Either that or he actually is blind !

Anyway it matters not now. When the points are added up at the end of the season I fear we'll be looking back at the Cork game and not yesterday. Dublin aren't going to be relegated so it looks like 2 out of Derry, Monaghan and Tyrone for the drop.

Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2015, 12:44:04 AM

It doesn't.

W D L
6  1  3 - Mayo
0  0  2 - Monaghan

It would be super if that L column could be stuck at 3 this time next year with the W +3

Quote from: Nihilist on February 28, 2015, 08:58:16 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 28, 2015, 08:01:37 PM

Umm according to paddy power three connacht counties are in the top ten in 15 , that's 60% ,with leinster at just one,that's 8% odd, munster with two ,that's 35% and Ulster with four , that's 44% . So paddy thinks connacht is the strongest province in Ireland and most competitive .

Technically New York and London also play in Connacht so that changes that % statistic somewhat.

How does Paddy Power reckon that 3 counties are in the top 10 in Ireland?

straightred

Quote from: AZOffaly on March 02, 2015, 02:21:46 PM

Umm according to paddy power three connacht counties are in the top ten in 15 , that's 60% ,with leinster at just one,that's 8% odd, munster with two ,that's 35% and Ulster with four , that's 44% . So paddy thinks connacht is the strongest province in Ireland and most competitive .

Technically New York and London also play in Connacht so that changes that % statistic somewhat.

There's a word for it that maybe a gambler among us might help with ?
Basically they will factor the path to the final into their odds. Put it this way - if we had an open draw and every team had to play the same number of games to win an AI then the odds would look different and I doubt that both Galway and Roscommon would be in a top 10

mayo.mick

http://youtu.be/40Gb1oWp9bY

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/40Gb1oWp9bY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
mayo for sam-don't ask me what year! :-)
https://michaelmaye.com/mayo-gaa-photos/
@mayo_mick

Quote from: mayo.mick on March 02, 2015, 03:10:25 PM
http://youtu.be/40Gb1oWp9bY

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/40Gb1oWp9bY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
So bad was the thumping it made Mayo people think it was actually March 2014.......disgraceful

Quote from: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:35:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 02, 2015, 02:21:46 PM

There's a word for it that maybe a gambler among us might help with ?
Basically they will factor the path to the final into their odds. Put it this way - if we had an open draw and every team had to play the same number of games to win an AI then the odds would look different and I doubt that both Galway and Roscommon would be in a top 10

That's what I was thinking. There's a subtle difference between being among the top 10 favourites, and being rated in the top 10.

criostlinn

Quote from: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:00:42 PM

The first red was harsh and given what happened in the drawn game against Kerry last year mayo should know what it feels like to come out on the wrong end of one of those - technically the right call but harsh nonetheless.

The non call of the 3rd man tackle was probably the worst decision of the day as it led directly to the first goal and it was so blatant. When coaching we are always telling kids not to get on the refs back as time and time again we see that he will give soft frees against you or fail to give obvious ones in your favour and I can only guess that this is what happened here. Either that or he actually is blind !

Anyway it matters not now. When the points are added up at the end of the season I fear we'll be looking back at the Cork game and not yesterday. Dublin aren't going to be relegated so it looks like 2 out of Derry, Monaghan and Tyrone for the drop.

What was harsh about the first red. He threw a punch at him, connected. Pretty straight forward if you ask me.
As for the first goal, I didn't see the third man tackle but one of the monaghan lads was clearly pushed in the back in the build up to the goal.
The monaghan black card was a bit daft as well. An umpire who was about 70 yards away called it. Off the ball the monaghan player caught Kirby by the chest and flung him to the ground. I ddnt think that was a back card offence.
Monaghan could have had two men sent off as a result of the cowardly attack on Kevin McLoughlin but the the ref decides to book one from each team. In Mayo's case Kevin Keane who had very little input in the whole incident.
Seamie O'Shea's black card. Another farcical decision which seemed motivated by in some way evening things up.
Aiden O'Shea's yellow card. called by an umpire standing beside it as Aiden gets pulled and dragged all over the place while trying to get into position for a incoming ball.
Aiden O Shea dragged down twice, no cards.

All in all another typical refereeing performance.

straightred

Quote from: criostlinn on March 02, 2015, 03:57:13 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:00:42 PM

What was harsh about the first red. He threw a punch at him, connected. Pretty straight forward if you ask me.
As for the first goal, I didn't see the third man tackle but one of the monaghan lads was clearly pushed in the back in the build up to the goal.
The monaghan black card was a bit daft as well. An umpire who was about 70 yards away called it. Off the ball the monaghan player caught Kirby by the chest and flung him to the ground. I ddnt think that was a back card offence.
Monaghan could have had two men sent off as a result of the cowardly attack on Kevin McLoughlin but the the ref decides to book one from each team. In Mayo's case Kevin Keane who had very little input in the whole incident.
Seamie O'Shea's black card. Another farcical decision which seemed motivated by in some way evening things up.
Aiden O'Shea's yellow card. called by an umpire standing beside it as Aiden gets pulled and dragged all over the place while trying to get into position for a incoming ball.
Aiden O Shea dragged down twice, no cards.

All in all another typical refereeing performance.

my point was that it just as harmless (if that's a valid description) as Lee Keegan's offence was last year and god knows there was some outpouring of grief after that. It was a reaction to a stray elbow (also minor) and to the mayo players credit he didn't make any issue of it. Its technically the right decision but IMO anyway a yellow would have been fine.