Mayo v Monaghan 1-3-15

Started by Farrandeelin, February 22, 2015, 04:02:13 PM

Quote from: macdanger2 on February 23, 2015, 11:21:11 AM
I just went on the WP website seeing if there was any news on who's been cut from the panel, their first three headlines under "Connacht Sport" are:

All Black centurion to start for Connacht (Nov '14)

McStay and Holmes front-runners to replace Horan (Sept '14)

Horan steps down as Mayo boss (Aug '14)

:o :o

That used to be a decent enough website

Horan has stepped down!

Jaysus, are they taking bets on a successor?

Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Alex Corduff - Ballina Stephenites
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
Keith Rogers - Ballaghaderreen
Stephen Duffy - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
Peter Dravins - Breaffy
Morgan Lyons - Released to Mayo U-21 Panel
Adam Gallagher - Released to Mayo U-21 Panel

Sweet feck all on the WP print version regarding the game either. Just a small bit of a half-page preview. I suppose the Annual Sportstars were on and they had to devote most of the sports pages to that. I have to hand it to them though, they always predict a Mayo win.

Quote from: larryin89 on February 23, 2015, 07:40:05 PM
Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Peter Dravins - Breaffy

All relative newcomers / fringe players apart from Varley.

Is Coen not still U21 also??

I would have thought they'd have waited until the end of the league to make cuts, particularly guys who haven't had a run out at all - that said, I wouldn't know much about a lot of those lads to say whether they have potential or not.

Would the cost of maintaining a large panel be one reason for the cull at this stage?

Quote from: macdanger2 on February 23, 2015, 11:19:58 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 23, 2015, 07:40:05 PM
Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Peter Dravins - Breaffy

All relative newcomers / fringe players apart from Varley.

Is Coen not still U21 also??

I would have thought they'd have waited until the end of the league to make cuts, particularly guys who haven't had a run out at all - that said, I wouldn't know much about a lot of those lads to say whether they have potential or not.

Would the cost of maintaining a large panel be one reason for the cull at this stage?

Some might say it is the only reason.

Nihilist

So who's left ?

Clarke, Hennelly, O'Malley
Harrisson, Keane, Hall, Cafferkey, Higgins, Cuniffe
Boyle, Coen, Durcan, Keegan, McHale, Feeney
Parsons, B Moran, SOS, Vaughan
A Gallagher, McLoughlin, AOS, Doherty, Dillon, DOC
Freeman, Ronaldson, COC, A Moran, Sweeney, Conroy

Others
Drake, Lyons ...... who else ?

Nihilist

Quote from: Nihilist on February 23, 2015, 11:31:21 PM
So who's left ?

Others

2 more i think of - COS and Regan
Brings total to 35

maigheo

Darren COEN is about 23 years old.Thought he would have made the break thro in 2013 but after been taken off  at HT in the connacht final that year never really appeared again

So who's left ?

Others

Thought I saw on FB that Adam G was 'released to the U-21 panel' with Morgan Lyons.

Would probably have made more sense to name the actual panel as opposed to those dropped or injured.

QuoteCurrently Injured/Recovering from injury and unavailable for Sunday
Evan Regan
Chris Barrett
Tom Parsons
Brendan Harrison
Andy Moran
Alan Dillon
Mickey Conroy
Jason Gibbons

The Following players have been released back to their respective clubs:
Gavin Duffy - Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Peter Dravins - Breaffy

http://www.mayogaa.com/news/353111/Update_Mayo_Senior_Football_Panel

Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2015, 11:56:03 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on February 23, 2015, 11:36:33 PM
So who's left ?

Others

Thought I saw on FB that Adam G was 'released to the U-21 panel' with Morgan Lyons.

2 more i think of - COS and Regan
Brings total to 35

Chris Barrett, Jason Gibbons are on the injury list so I presume that they should be considered as squad members.

I think this is the current state of play - 35

Barrett,Harrisson, Keane, Hall, Cafferkey, Higgins, Cuniffe
Boyle, Coen, Durcan, Keegan, McHale, Feeney, Drake
Parsons, B Moran, SOS, Vaughan, Gibbons, COS
McLoughlin, AOS, Doherty, Dillon, DOC
Freeman, Ronaldson, COC, A Moran, Sweeney, Conroy, Regan

Of those 35 the injured/missing 8 are
Regan, Barrett, Parsons, Harrison, A Moran, A Dillon, Conroy, Gibbons

Kirby played against Clare I read - is he gone again or was he ever there!?

Quote from: Tubberman on February 24, 2015, 08:52:51 AM
Kirby played against Clare I read - is he gone again or was he ever there!?

I was just going to ask that, Neil Douglas also had some game time.

GrandMasterFlash

Hoganstand has Dillon in line for return, Mayogaa has him on the injury list..

Hopefully Darren Hughes will return for us as he was badly missed in mid-field for the Cork game. Finlay done well in mid-field the last day too (well for 55/60 mins) so I would like to see this pairing, with Neil McAdam dropping back to CHB. I think the full back line of Drew and Ryan Wylie and Conor Boyle should remain as they done well the last day, despite O'Neill scoring 2.something of young Wylie.

I reckon it will be tight. Monaghan are more consistent and don't exhibit the same fear of the bigger teams of late. If they get their tempo right from the start Id be hopeful that they can shade it..

It's well poised for both teams in fairness; 2 pts and safety is looking a lot more likely, 0 pts (and two back to back losses) and the headlight of the oncoming relegation train starts to appear brighter!

As GMF says, it's a big enough match in terms of where you go in the league after this – win and you're probably safe and maybe looking at a SF spot, lose and you're getting close to the relegation battle.

Monaghan are a good side and I'd say are reasonably confident about Ulster this year considering the draw. If they win that, they'd be looking at a chance in the SF to make up for letting Kerry off the hook a few years back (06 or 07?). For me they're the side most likely to come out of the "pack" this year and challenge Dublin / Kerry.

Not very confident about this but it'll be interesting to see how we setup against what will presumably be a fairly defensive Monaghan team (albeit not to the same degree Tyrone were). I wouldn't like to see us playing too defensively, I don't think that would play to our strengths. I'd like to see us move the ball faster and have more movement in the FF line maybe with the option of having a big man in there at some stage just to mix it up a bit – no point in doing that though unless we're playing in the right kind of ball at the right time rather than just aimless punts when a move has slowed down completely.

COC will presumably be back so that should be worth a couple of points to us, a lot will depend on what support he has on that front.