All Ireland u21 football championship 2015

Started by giveballaghback, February 16, 2015, 09:57:34 PM

Quote from: time ticking away on April 20, 2015, 10:35:57 AM
Whatever the rights or wrongs of who did what to whom, Roscommon didn't seem to have the knowledge (football intelligence) or more importantly the heart for the battle on Saturday. That should be a much bigger worry to the Rossies that anything else

For all their domination, football savvy and heart for the battle Tyrone were only 2 ahead with 5 minutes to go.
Ros outscored then 12-10 over a 50 minute period despite our failings and not being at the races.
Worry about that and let us decent people get on with what we do best - being nice friendly hospitable people with nice soft gentle accents.
And we're not that bad at th'oul football either.

Quote from: reddgnhand on April 20, 2015, 10:52:05 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 20, 2015, 09:47:15 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 20, 2015, 12:21:38 AM
Tyrone ones getting very sensitive. This current under 21 team have a winning way about them. Not always the most pleasant but they have a way of getting the job done. Their senior team has been missing that for quite a while. Long may that continue.
It will until we get strong referees to implement the rules.

What do you actually mean by this
4 steps rule, no throwing, red cards for deliberately elbowing midfielers in the face at throw ins. Yellow cards for systematic persistent fouling, backroom people to be sent to the stand for constantly badgering linesmen.............
That will do for a start.

I was surprised that Ros lost this, thought they were the team to beat. What is amazing though is that Cavan have won 4 Ulsters in a row, yet were pipped every time bar one in the semi yet Tyrone, who have not been competing at this level in 5/6 years get one Ulster and straight through to the All Ireland. I wouldn't be surprised if they win it. Some teams are just great at finishing games on the big day for some reason.

reddgnhand

Quote from: Rossfan on April 20, 2015, 10:59:16 AM
Tyrone ones getting very sensitive. This current under 21 team have a winning way about them. Not always the most pleasant but they have a way of getting the job done. Their senior team has been missing that for quite a while. Long may that continue.

4 steps rule, no throwing, red cards for deliberately elbowing midfielers in the face at throw ins. Yellow cards for systematic persistent fouling, backroom people to be sent to the stand for constantly badgering linesmen.............

You can back this all up with stats?

The Black Mamba

Quote from: reddgnhand on April 20, 2015, 11:09:26 AM

Did ye Tyrone fellas watch a different game or are ye just blinkered regarding the antics of your own team?

Quote from: Syferus on April 20, 2015, 10:42:58 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on April 20, 2015, 10:35:57 AM
Whatever the rights or wrongs of who did what to whom, Roscommon didn't seem to have the knowledge (football intelligence) or more importantly the heart for the battle on Saturday. That should be a much bigger worry to the Rossies that anything else

You're not really helping yourselves trying to brush stuff like that under the rug. It's just going to come back and bite you in the long run.

That should be a much bigger worry to Tyrone than someone mentioning what happened.

And the poster trying to make out Daly instigated it - nope, and the replay you're refering to does not show anything close to the full incident.

Daly most certainly had Mcnulty held down by the throat on the ground as the first action of the whole incident. I really dont know how you can say otherwise.
Im also not sure why such a  big deal is being made of it, both players picked up bookings for their part in it and Tyrone had the game pretty much won at that stage anyway.

tippabu

Jesus Saturday was brilliant, like the cork match I really thought Dublin would have had too much for us but our lads showed great determination and skill. Our backs were outstanding and forwards worked really hard, the 2nd half and especially last 10 mins when we really pushed up on their kickouts and forced them to kick it long where we dominated was a joy to watch. poor old dessie farrell must really hate the sight of a tipp jersey. A word on the Dublin support, I know they are poorly supported outside senior but to have 500 or so there from Dublin was truly atrocious, fair play to the ones who were there but for a county who can only play championship games at croke park because they have such a big support its embarrassing that for a big all Ireland final this is all that travelled.

Sore loser or what.  The simple fact is that Tyrone played better as a unit than Roscommon and possessed better individual players.  Additionally, their gameplan was more cohesive than that of Roscommon.

Tyrone won the game Saturday. For whatever reason,the Roscommon lads just couldn't get going. Tyrone from the throw in imposed themselves on the game and on the day fully deserved the victory and were far and away the better team.

Any Roscommon supporter especially coming on here now making excuses about the referee, complaining about Tyrone tactics or some player allegedly doing something untoward would IMO be embarrassing themselves, their county and taking away from an excellent Tyrone performance and a brilliant game of football played by 2 very good teams.

Some people are never happy. 2 good teams met on Saturday in an all ireland semi final - they went at it for 60 plus minutes an put up a great show. IMO on Saturday gaelic football which has often been bemoaned recently was the winner. Take your hat off to the Tyrone lads and to the Roscommon lads who gave us a great spectacle.

Best of luck to Tyrone and commiserations to the Rossies.

All that is wrong with GAA football can be seen in this thread in the last few pages. Such sh*te been posted I never saw the likes of.

The Black Mamba

Quote from: orangeman on April 20, 2015, 11:35:01 AM
Tyrone won the game Saturday. For whatever reason,the Roscommon lads just couldn't get going. Tyrone from the throw in imposed themselves on the game and on the day fully deserved the victory and were far and away the better team.

Any Roscommon supporter especially coming on here now making excuses about the referee, complaining about Tyrone tactics or some player allegedly doing something untoward would IMO be embarrassing themselves, their county and taking away from an excellent Tyrone performance and a brilliant game of football played by 2 very good teams.

Some people are never happy. 2 good teams met on Saturday in an all ireland semi final - they went at it for 60 plus minutes an put up a great show. IMO on Saturday gaelic football which has often been bemoaned recently was the winner. Take your hat off to the Tyrone lads and to the Roscommon lads who gave us a great spectacle.

Best of luck to Tyrone and commiserations to the Rossies.
I think we're all in agreement that Tyrone were by far the better team and deservedly won, however that does not mean that their antics are not free from critique.

time ticking away

Maybe I imagined this but did the Roscommon number 6 elbow Mc Glone (tyrone no.15) in the face and then lie down himself, holding his own face.
Maybe the centre half back has northern relations
canavan is the man canavan is the man ee aye adi ooh.......

Lads we're in our first AI final for a long time so let'd enjoy it and not be adding to the already bad press we get on here. IMHO yes read it but don't reply at all as it just snowballs
Of course we are always gonna get a tough time for the way we play and I'd say Tipperary would much rather have met Roscommon as it wouldn't have been such a war of attrition.
When is the venue announced?

Anyway on a totally different note
What was that patter on the back of the Rossie shirts?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0418/695006-roscommon-v-tyrone/

Shrewdness

I'm afraid, my fellow Rossies, if we want to know the reasons we lost this game, we need to look in the mirror. Yes, the ref was suspect, but that's the way it goes. Yes, Cathal Mc Shane could have been sent off, but so could Cathal Kenny.. We were responsible for our own downfall. A number of our 'leading' players didn't perform on the day. We know who they were.. We were often weak in the tackle with Tyrone players brushing us aside. Our defence was poor, giving too much space away. How many times did Tyrone switch play from one wing to the other and find a Tyrone player unmarked in yards of space? Plus, we didn't have any visible game plan.

Knock Yer Mucker In

Quote from: The Black Mamba on April 20, 2015, 11:12:31 AM
Quote from: reddgnhand on April 20, 2015, 11:09:26 AM

Did ye Tyrone fellas watch a different game or are ye just blinkered regarding the antics of your own team?

How did the Rossie player who completely emptied the tyrone player with a elbow to the face at the sideline get away with that. In front of a blind linesman. The only genuine attempt to carry the head of aplayer in the game.