Quote from: LCohen on June 03, 2015, 10:42:26 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 29, 2015, 04:27:18 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 29, 2015, 04:20:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 29, 2015, 12:35:32 AM
Quote from: LCohen on May 28, 2015, 10:25:36 PMYour brain is for thinking. Your gut is for digestion. Your soul is for fiction writers.

I like this.

So are we just floating atoms and molecules?

Quote from: Hardy on May 29, 2015, 04:23:19 PM
Em, what's the word "so", doing in that sentence?

As a continuation and conclusion from having no soul.

Its just not possible to attach credibility to the existence of the soul. Surely its just the made up name of the made up bit of you that goes to the made up after-life place?

That's one way to stop a thread in its tracks...

topcuppla

Near time, it is like listening to Eton educated politicians trying to do right for the working class, whom they know absolutely f**k all about.

LCohen

Quote from: omaghjoe on June 03, 2015, 11:08:26 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 28, 2015, 10:25:36 PMYour brain is for thinking. Your gut is for digestion. Your soul is for fiction writers.

I like this.

Its just not possible to attach credibility to the existence of the soul. Surely its just the made up name of the made up bit of you that goes to the made up after-life place?

you hardly need me to confirm to you that you are made of physical matter

Quote from: LCohen on June 06, 2015, 05:16:39 PM

I like this.

LCohen

Quote from: omaghjoe on June 06, 2015, 08:00:28 PM

I like this.

What else is physical matter made of?

Jaysus lads, go read some university-provided Genetics 101 courses!

Quote from: LCohen on June 06, 2015, 10:22:24 PM

I like this.

So are we only the physical matter of atoms and molecules?

LCohen

Quote from: omaghjoe on June 07, 2015, 04:53:40 AM

I like this.

Yes - you (and all them things you can see around you) are physical matter and physical matter is made up of atoms and molecules. What bit are you struggling with?

Quote from: LCohen on June 07, 2015, 06:52:11 AM

I like this.

Yes - you (and all them things you can see around you) are physical matter and physical matter is made up of atoms and molecules. What bit are you struggling with?

So where would that leave all those things that are "nonphysical" such as relationships, thoughts, emotions, morals, society,.... souls?

LCohen

Quote from: omaghjoe on June 07, 2015, 07:25:49 AM

I like this.

So where would that leave all those things that are "nonphysical" such as relationships, thoughts, emotions, morals, society,.... souls?

I was working on the presumption that it was accepted that the human brain was made of physical matter. And that the brain had the capacity for processing thoughts and emotions etc. Just like the brains of other evolved species

Quote from: LCohen on June 07, 2015, 08:25:57 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 07, 2015, 07:25:49 AM

I like this.

I was working on the presumption that it was accepted that the human brain was made of physical matter. And that the brain had the capacity for processing thoughts and emotions etc. Just like the brains of other evolved species
So the nonphysical things such as those mentioned above are just concepts created by the brain? They aren't actual real things because they aren't physical?

LCohen

Plenty of great things are non-physical. But the non-physical things created by or experienced through the brain do not out-live the brain.

Maybe to go beyond the questions are you arguing that there is such a thing as a soul? If so, have you any evidence for its existence?

First up I do believe we have a soul so I'm probably biased, but I have a very open mind and I was trying to get to the bottom of what your reasoning that we do not. I don't believe that the soul is physical so it is not physically possible to prove or disprove its existence, (that's convenient you might say ;)). However some would argue that the soul is a combination of all these nonphysical concepts in a person, so that would be your evidence. I'm not arguing its existence per se I just trying to reason it out.

In highlighting the nonphysical I was trying to make you aware that there are things in this world that are non physical and they have a huge influence in the physical world that we live, in fact you could maybe even argue these non-physical concepts are our perception and influence of the physical. But then thats the other the thing isnt it.. if you break the physical world down to its basic level of floating atoms ( which have never been actually physically proved to exist ie observed, tho the evidence of their existence would appear to be hugely their favour, so only an eejit would deny atomic theory) then did anything in human history actually physically happen at all or was it was just a jumble of atoms?

Also these non physical things do outlive the brain, the most obvious thing being society itself. But also we have expressions, ideas and movements that are passed down through generations.