107 (46.5%)
I don't have a vote but would vote "No" if I did
26 (11.3%)
I don't have a vote and haven't decided how I would vote if I did
9 (3.9%)

Total Members Voted: 230

Quote from: LCohen on May 27, 2015, 04:18:36 PM
I'm not dancing around anything. Tell me the motivation that someone had for voting No and I will tell you if I think it was homophobic

If you think that you are open to the possibility of someone presenting you with an argument for voting No that you don't think is homophobic, you are fooling yourself.

I'm not a homophobe, but I probably sound like one because I'm a homophone.

Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2015, 04:42:46 PM
I'm not a homophobe, but I probably sound like one because I'm a homophone.

Can we just call you Homer?

You can call me anything you like, as long as it's not to account.

(Sitting in for John Hurley today.)

Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2015, 04:52:20 PM
You can call me anything you like, as long as it's not to account.

(Sitting in for John Hurley today.)

Ah yes, you are sorry, and accept responsibility, except the bit about the part where things went wrong.

LCohen

Quote from: deiseach on May 27, 2015, 04:24:03 PM
I'm not dancing around anything. Tell me the motivation that someone had for voting No and I will tell you if I think it was homophobic

If you think that you are open to the possibility of someone presenting you with an argument for voting No that you don't think is homophobic, you are fooling yourself.

Ah go on try me.

Quote from: deiseach on May 27, 2015, 04:22:27 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 27, 2015, 04:16:27 PM
Why do they believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman?

"Oh because that's the only thing that's natural. The gays are not natural therefore they should not be allowed to marry people of the same sex"

Hmmmm that's quite homophobic.

"How dare you I'm just religious so therefore cannot be homophobic."

That's not even getting into the other nonsense spouted on here about abuse of Children with same sex parents... children will grow up to be gay if they have same sex parents which is all homophobic.

I admire your candour. Are you so blunt with people out in the real world?

Well yeah if I'm asked my opinion or involved in a discussion I would be. Generally any reason people give for thinking homosexuality is not natural can be debunked except for the "some guy who 'talked to God' said it was unnatural over 2000 years ago!"

Then religious eejits try and say Leviticus blah blah blah sodomy blah blah blah and when I say that they shouldn't touch pigskin lest they become unclean they say "Yeah but you can't take it all literally" and round and round we go!!!

I'm not sure I don't believe in God but I think the Bible is 90% a load of drivel and surely he doesn't believe that I should deny people the right to get married no matter who they are ... love one another etc. etc.

Quote from: LCohen on May 27, 2015, 05:13:08 PM

Ah go on try me.

Nah, it can't be right to encourage someone to lie to themselves.

LCohen

Quote from: deiseach on May 27, 2015, 07:33:57 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 27, 2015, 05:13:08 PM

Ah go on try me.

Nah, it can't be right to encourage someone to lie to themselves.

The list of excuses for avoiding the presentation of a non-homophobic reason for voting no in the marriage equality referendum is growing.
The list of non-homophobic reasons for voting No is not growing. It remains firmly fixed at Zero despite repeated invitation. Telling.

As for lying to onself was it not yourself who calimed a few posts ago that they knew people who had voted no and that they would be happy for the  constitution of the land to prevent them getting married to the person they loved and wanted to marry. Without getting personal I genuinely think you were lying

Quote from: deiseach on May 27, 2015, 04:12:28 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 27, 2015, 03:53:44 PM
So those people would expect the constitution of the land to prevent them getting married to the person they loved and wanted to marry?

'Those people' believe marriage should be between a man and a woman. If that makes them homophobes then people who voted No in the Presidential age referendum are, uh, youthophobes because they don't believe in equal rights for those under the age of 35.

The thing is, if you really think that anyone who voted No is a homophobe, have the courage of your convictions to say as much rather than dancing around it.

Some People believe marriage should be between a man and a woman because the Bible states quite clearly that homosexuality 'is an abomination in the eyes of God' Does that make them homophobes just because they do want want to go against their Gods words?

Since you cannot answer the question at hand I will answer it for you, you think that there is no excuse for anyone to vote no because if they do, in your eyes they are homophobes!!!!

See, that wasnt that hard!

Would homophobic people be born homophobic, or do they decide to be homophobic? Like is it always a nurtured phobia or can it be that some people have a innate phobia.

Irrational phobias exist, I've a friend who practically starts crying and freaking out if a banana comes anywhere near him. We thought it was a joke at first and so would lob one at him in University but turned out he was serious. Couldn't explain why....no being trapped in a rooms full of bananas situation or assaulted with one reason ect....

Was in the Supermarket earlier...waiting to go to self scanner...two lads ahead of me started shifting...like less than 1 meter from me..courtside seats.
The wasn't one change in thought process in the frontal lobe of my brain...other than...there's two lads shifting...meh. Any chance ye can hurry on lads...need to get home and cook me tea.

So say if you were a homophobic person, I reckon that would have been a very uncomfortable few moments....

Quote from: stew on May 27, 2015, 10:12:14 PM
So those people would expect the constitution of the land to prevent them getting married to the person they loved and wanted to marry?

'Those people' believe marriage should be between a man and a woman. If that makes them homophobes then people who voted No in the Presidential age referendum are, uh, youthophobes because they don't believe in equal rights for those under the age of 35.

The thing is, if you really think that anyone who voted No is a homophobe, have the courage of your convictions to say as much rather than dancing around it.

Some People believe marriage should be between a man and a woman because the Bible states quite clearly that homosexuality 'is an abomination in the eyes of God' Does that make them homophobes just because they do want want to go against their Gods words?

Since you cannot answer the question at hand I will answer it for you, you think that there is no excuse for anyone to vote no because if they do, in your eyes they are homophobes!!!!

See, that wasnt that hard!

Who, precisely, wrote that?

Quote from: stew on May 27, 2015, 10:12:14 PM

Do these people adhere to everything else in the bible just as rigidly? What about all the other abominations in there?

Quote from: T Fearon on May 27, 2015, 11:47:54 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/letters/equality-quango-can-expect-our-full-opposition-31252183.html

This is what all catholic priests should be saying.

This?

Northern Ireland women pay these men for sex

Gigolo John: Northern Ireland women pay this man for sex
A Co Antrim grandfather reveals the ups and downs of working as a male escort - and says business is booming across NI

John is a grandfather but says he enjoys his escort work too much to ever settle down again
24 MAY 2015

Meet the unlikely Northern Ireland gigolo who claims he is providing women with the perfect dating experience.

ALSO IN THIS SECTION
Gay cake row: Ashers Bakery limits offerings after Sunday Life request replica of Support Gay Marriage cake
North West 200 horror crash woman says it's a miracle she is alive
Shopping meets sport at Victoria Square game day
Carrick man's starved spaniels like 'walking skeletons'
Co Antrim man John, 57 (who preferred not to give his surname), openly advertises his services as a male escort online.

And now John — who caters exclusively for women — has told Sunday Life about his experiences giving women what they want.

John says there has been a huge change in society's attitudes towards the sex industry — and women are increasingly willing to pay for company and sex.

JOHN

This balding, middle-aged Co Antrim grandfather wants to change the public's image of the male escort business.

The 57-year-old insists it's a "lifestyle choice" and that female company is his motivator for selling his escorting services to women.

"I'm not into bodybuilding and trying to make myself something I'm not," says John.

Instead he feels he has something "unique" to offer women.

"I have more respect for what I'm doing and the way I'm doing it. I didn't go into it for sex".

John insists he "wanted to meet people".

"There's nothing better than walking into places with a nice woman on your arm. It makes me feel good," he says.

He believes escorts are becoming more acceptable in Northern Ireland.

"It's been going on for years, it's not a new thing, it's not just a 21st century thing.

"Today there are a lot of women who are single and don't want to remarry and there are the businesswomen who need company when they are in Belfast for a function and don't want to stand out like a sore thumb."

Old friends have noticed his swagger since he took up the escort game.

"My friends say I remind them of a teenager, my confidence has improved. I'm not ashamed of who I am. We are all adults and have the right to choose our path."

Grandfather John does not let his nerves get the better of him when he is booked for the evening.

"I look at it as a job. I can talk to most people about anything. With my client I behave as if we are friends."

Clients can be guaranteed John will remain on his best behaviour.

"I wouldn't order a T-bone steak. I drink from a glass when I order beer and stay away from the shorts — the mad stuff!"

John has been requested for his services by males, but he protests he does not "swing the other way".

"Some men have requested me to have sex with their partners while they watched. I'm really not into that.

"Women know what they want — it makes my job easier. Women are very simple creatures — body language is important, women aren't a bit of meat. Remember it's some man's daughter or sister, so treat them right.

"Growing up my Ma would have given me a clout over the head if I did not treat a woman right."

He claims that he is helping marriages by providing an outlet for women in lonely relationships. He also says he wants a partner but doubts he could change his ways.

"I'd like to meet a partner but I like my freedom. I'm stuck in my ways," says John.