Club Gyms

Started by The Bearded One, October 19, 2014, 12:35:58 AM

But how many clubs would actually do plyometric work, focussing on the landing phase in order to decrease likelihood of injury, especially to the ACL?

and to be honest, if players cannot do an unloaded overhead squat they should be going nowhere near back squats. Now front squats, thats a different matter

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 01, 2014, 09:45:30 AM
But how many clubs would actually do plyometric work, focussing on the landing phase in order to decrease likelihood of injury, especially to the ACL?

and to be honest, if players cannot do an unloaded overhead squat they should be going nowhere near back squats. Now front squats, thats a different matter

All my players do front squats. I've given up on GAA players and other amateurs sports for back squats. Technically you have to be standing beside them to get the lift right . Plus once they start loading weight the technique crumbles.

Dead lifts with hex bars far safer and just as effective IMO.

Simple equipment like  box jumps and mats can cover most club players plyometric needs. Provided as you say they know the exercises involved.

Any wall handstands for shoulder stability? great exercise.

I'd fed up of hearing about lads pulling a generic program off the internet (usually structured like a body building program!), or young lads being prescribed a few inappropriate exercises by a manager who then provides absolutely no coaching in those or supervision to the young lads (often lads playing rugby)

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 01, 2014, 10:36:16 AM
Any wall handstands for shoulder stability? great exercise.

I'd fed up of hearing about lads pulling a generic program off the internet (usually structured like a body building program!), or young lads being prescribed a few inappropriate exercises by a manager who then provides absolutely no coaching in those or supervision to the young lads (often lads playing rugby)

Agreed but there are best practice lifts I would encourage for GAA players that technically could be described as generic

I try and educate the players as to what each lift actually does. And the muscle groups required for Gaelic football. Most of it being lower leg strength and core while providing a strong and stable upper body with power rather than wads of muscle being key.

Diet as well is vital. 6 packs are not always condusive for being a gaa player. It depends on your metabolism. You can't be depriving yourself of carbs if you're training 4-5 days a week

Max Payne

Quote from: INDIANA on October 31, 2014, 10:49:54 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 31, 2014, 04:06:13 PM
QuoteDumbells can be used for more than bicep curls!! I'm very sure they have their place in most gyms!

We'd use them every session and have yet to do a bicep/arm curl and they have plenty of functionality with them.

Exactly, we would be the same, we have a small collection of 'free weights' and our gym program is based around that.
a few dumbells, weight plates, a squat bar , medicine balls, and some weighted vests.
A gaelic football specific session can be based around theer few peices of equipment alongside a few otehr exercises using just bodyweight etc.

Any S&C coach who says dumb-bells are "beach weights" isn't an S&C coach.

Gaelic Football gym programmes are straightforward. It's called push and pull.

If you're not pushing or pulling then it's utterly useless for Gaelic Football as an exercise.

I'd be very wary about Olympic lifts unless the execution is spot on. If you have the technique absolutely perform them.

If you don't - do something simple. Outside senior inter county football there is no absolute requirement to be doing Olympic Lifts.

Plenty of other exercises easily as good if you're not sure on the technique.

They are not an S&C coach because you say they are not? The coach who I am referring to is one of the best in Ulster at the minute.

Regardless my point, maybe poorly conveyed, was that I have found that body weight exercises and dynamic and functional movements has worked better for me than relying on the likes of Dumbbells and medicine balls.

bodyweight exercises done effectively can be the best training anyone could do.
it's just that most people do them very badly or are more easily motivated doing weighted exercises.

Quote from: Max Payne on November 01, 2014, 05:20:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 31, 2014, 10:49:54 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 31, 2014, 04:06:13 PM
QuoteDumbells can be used for more than bicep curls!! I'm very sure they have their place in most gyms!

We'd use them every session and have yet to do a bicep/arm curl and they have plenty of functionality with them.

Exactly, we would be the same, we have a small collection of 'free weights' and our gym program is based around that.
a few dumbells, weight plates, a squat bar , medicine balls, and some weighted vests.
A gaelic football specific session can be based around theer few peices of equipment alongside a few otehr exercises using just bodyweight etc.

Any S&C coach who says dumb-bells are "beach weights" isn't an S&C coach.

Gaelic Football gym programmes are straightforward. It's called push and pull.

If you're not pushing or pulling then it's utterly useless for Gaelic Football as an exercise.

I'd be very wary about Olympic lifts unless the execution is spot on. If you have the technique absolutely perform them.

If you don't - do something simple. Outside senior inter county football there is no absolute requirement to be doing Olympic Lifts.

Plenty of other exercises easily as good if you're not sure on the technique.

They are not an S&C coach because you say they are not? The coach who I am referring to is one of the best in Ulster at the minute.

Regardless my point, maybe poorly conveyed, was that I have found that body weight exercises and dynamic and functional movements has worked better for me than relying on the likes of Dumbbells and medicine balls.

Bodyweight exercises IMO are fine and should be in every programme. Pull ups, weighted press ups, RDL's,SL squats, calisthenics are a must for any Gaelic Footballer.

Time is the key factor. If you have access to the players over a lengthy period you can just opt for the programme you outlined.

It takes a lengthy time to be able to do a bodyweight programme exclusively properly.

It's all individual for me. Some will be suited to bodyweight and plyometrics- others won't though and dumb-bells are perfectly fine for bend over rows etc.

Bicep curls and all that shite are as you say- are beach weights.

WeeDonns

Have any of your clubs installed outdoor gym equipment?
They seem to be popping up in parks all over the place

I see Harlequins have installed one, the guy in the vid mentions awards for all funding paying for it if your club meets the criteria
http://www.ulsterrugby.com/domestic/News/TabId/340/ArtMID/798/ArticleID/3030/Outdoor-gym-installed-at-Belfast-Harlequins-RFC.aspx

Anyone have a good training program for of season training. We have a gym but it's under utilized. Myself and a couple of others were going to start going twice a week but it would be good to have some program to follow. It's a relatively basic weights room. Bar bells, medicine balls, kettle bells etc all free weights with a few (Very old) machines. If anyone had a link to a plan or could PM me one it would be greatly appreciated.

ose 14

some good stuff on here on weights etc. id love to see where gregory gets his information that a good gym and programme will decrease a clubs injury rate. you should take that ground breaking research up to ulster rugby as their lads are now are on average 10lbs heavier and their traumatic injury rate per player has increased. all them big powerful men causing a lot of damage to themselves and each other. i see olympic weights outside gyms are now the rage both have been used for years by the kerrymen gaelic football is about 4 things jumping running kicking catching. you can take all the gurus that are getting paid a fortune up and down the country and they can talk about specification bodyweight form/function functional assessments prehabilitation cryotherapy and gyms with dumbells barbells kettlebells or even cowbells all they want but if it aint specific to those 4 areas your wasting the clubs money.

2 dumbells a high step a gym ball a piece of resistance tubing room to run. £20 per man 40 men in a squad £800

versus a fitness specialist with an ology and a degree 6-10 000 grand (make a bad player and a manager look good)

versus an all singing dancing gym £10-50 000

remember just because something costs a lot dosent mean its quality or relevance is guaranteed.

a good plyometric program can be as effective as anything else, once the players have the base strength to the do the movement

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 22, 2014, 03:29:00 PM
a good plyometric program can be as effective as anything else, once the players have the base strength to the do the movement

To a point. It's not entirely sufficient.  To develop power throughout the human frame you have to do a certain amount of lifting as well.

Plyometrics is important alright.