Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Quote from: Armagh18 on February 03, 2025, 11:16:44 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 03, 2025, 10:45:27 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 03, 2025, 10:24:52 AM
Quote from: BigGreenField on February 03, 2025, 10:16:49 AMIf a keeper gets a black card (or red) does another player become the designated keeper for the purposes of the new rules or do all 14 players remain "live" at all times for passing?
Would assume u need to either sub on a keeper or an outfielder needs to put on the goalie jersey. Good question.

I had wondered the same thing.
Also, what is the implication of changing positions? So lets say I move the corner back into goals and the keeper out into CB. Do they have to change jersey's or will a free be conceded of someone passes the ball to the keeper now playing in CB? Hypothetical scenario, but in theory there's no reason why a manager wouldnt change players position during a game, including the keeper especially if an outfield player is selected in goals.
It'll be the man in the goalie jersey, don't see refs being bothered with that shit. You'd have to change jersey.

This was covered in the FAQ's. The man in the keeper jersey is the keeper for all rules. e.g. he must either take the kick out or be in the small rectangle when it's being kicked. So I don't think it matters where they line up.

donelli

Watched 4 matches cross the weekend, 1 in person.
Each of the games was very watchable, so rules seem to be bringing positivity to them. Everyone seems to be entertained!

However, have to take issue with the 'extra man'- goalkeeper rule. It is making 1 position a lot more important than others. It gives a huge advantage when the goalkeeper takes the ball, as being an extra man, they has lots of time to square up a shot and shoot. T

I would amend the ruling in that they can only receive the ball from their teammates when inside the opposing 45m, rather than half. That way the defending team can close them quicker. It may also discourage it as it would be greater ground to make up in the event of a break.

The changes are positive and badly needed. The kickouts are now a great joy to watch. Some great fielding on display again. 
Didn't see the dissent rule used this weekend, but still think at club level it could cause havoc as open to too much interpretation.   

Interesting one about the keeper only getting inside the far 45, would really make it risky then. Although surely you would identify the weaker ball player and let him be the free man and put a defender on the likes of Morgan/Beggan/Rafferty?

Quote from: donelli on February 04, 2025, 03:50:30 PMWatched 4 matches cross the weekend, 1 in person.
Each of the games was very watchable, so rules seem to be bringing positivity to them. Everyone seems to be entertained!

However, have to take issue with the 'extra man'- goalkeeper rule. It is making 1 position a lot more important than others. It gives a huge advantage when the goalkeeper takes the ball, as being an extra man, they has lots of time to square up a shot and shoot. T

I would amend the ruling in that they can only receive the ball from their teammates when inside the opposing 45m, rather than half. That way the defending team can close them quicker. It may also discourage it as it would be greater ground to make up in the event of a break.

The changes are positive and badly needed. The kickouts are now a great joy to watch. Some great fielding on display again. 
Didn't see the dissent rule used this weekend, but still think at club level it could cause havoc as open to too much interpretation.   

Explain?

smort

Think I'm a fan of the new rules in the main, although one I would like revisited is the kickout going beyond the 40m arc.

I understand why this was brought in, to create more contests for possession, but with the keeper now unable to receive possession in their own half, I believe this is enough to stop the 'short kickout, quick pass to the corner back on the loop, and straight back to the keeper' play that we were seeing so much off, which led to a lot of slow build up play.

I think its fair that teams have an option of retaining possession from a short kickout, as a lot of what I've seen in the first 2 weeks, is 50/50 out to midfiled. You could argue that teams need to come up with new strategies of creating space and runners, but with a now condensed area in which a kickout can be received, i don't know if this is viable. Although maybe I've just become conditioned to possession based football.

Another aspect is that with the kickout going longer in most cases, the opposition forwards, who are standing off their men a few yards, are first to the breaking ball. I can see spells of where teams just can't get out from their kickout. Say the opposition goalkeeper is pressed up, the defense are trying to keep a bit of shape and offer themselves short around the 40m arc, the forwards are on the break side of the defender awaiting a long kickout...the team that has just scored/wide is at too much of an advantage, and this is before we take into account wind conditions.

Also, I'm not sure how well it scales to Junior or youth football

Happy to hear opposing views

Quote from: smort on February 05, 2025, 02:39:45 PMThink I'm a fan of the new rules in the main, although one I would like revisited is the kickout going beyond the 40m arc.

I understand why this was brought in, to create more contests for possession, but with the keeper now unable to receive possession in their own half, I believe this is enough to stop the 'short kickout, quick pass to the corner back on the loop, and straight back to the keeper' play that we were seeing so much off, which led to a lot of slow build up play.

I think its fair that teams have an option of retaining possession from a short kickout, as a lot of what I've seen in the first 2 weeks, is 50/50 out to midfiled. You could argue that teams need to come up with new strategies of creating space and runners, but with a now condensed area in which a kickout can be received, i don't know if this is viable. Although maybe I've just become conditioned to possession based football.

Another aspect is that with the kickout going longer in most cases, the opposition forwards, who are standing off their men a few yards, are first to the breaking ball. I can see spells of where teams just can't get out from their kickout. Say the opposition goalkeeper is pressed up, the defense are trying to keep a bit of shape and offer themselves short around the 40m arc, the forwards are on the break side of the defender awaiting a long kickout...the team that has just scored/wide is at too much of an advantage, and this is before we take into account wind conditions.

Probably answered one of your own questions, you are probably conditioned to watching possession based football, the long kick out has to be won by someone, and if teams pressed all time the kick outs old rules would still mean them going longer so no change there, teams need to work on how they retain possession from the kick outs, that's on them not the rules. The pitches are fairly wide, why kicking it down the throat of the center will condense that area. Again that is of the tactics of the coach

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2025, 02:53:24 PM
Quote from: smort on February 05, 2025, 02:39:45 PMThink I'm a fan of the new rules in the main, although one I would like revisited is the kickout going beyond the 40m arc.

Probably answered one of your own questions, you are probably conditioned to watching possession based football, the long kick out has to be won by someone, and if teams pressed all time the kick outs old rules would still mean them going longer so no change there, teams need to work on how they retain possession from the kick outs, that's on them not the rules. The pitches are fairly wide, why kicking it down the throat of the center will condense that area. Again that is of the tactics of the coach

Fairly wide yes, but teams will just station a man out on each side as we've already seen. There is now a very limited amount of real estate to work in so it's pretty much a 50/50 most of the time . Come provincial championship rounds 1 and 2 some smaller counties will struggle for possession for large parts, hemmed in / overturned

I'm enjoying the rules on the whole, but I've a feeling this one will be amended

It's kinda funny as teams now know they don't need to press as much as it needs to go more than 40m, but they all just trudged out in Kildare v Sligo. But then there were a few where a defender did offer up an option just outside the arc. Although they did get pinged for one inside.

The better keepers and managers will think of something, but I like that even the short ones need to be longer than usual.

The two games I was at were very enjoyable and the midfield battle is great. But, I would like it with Kevin Feely playing for Kildare!

Even the breaking ball had more bodies around and there were good fights for it too. Paul Conroy was chatting Tommy Rooney and he loved it. That's because he is a big unit who has lots of football in him.

These lads can all play football, but some have it coached away.

Quote from: marty34 on February 06, 2025, 10:24:48 PMProbably not the correct thread but....

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0206/1495134-gaa-report-revenue-rise-despite-fall-in-attendances/

More money with less people attending matches.

Yes won't need to ask anyone why do they increase ticket prices.

People asking why don't All Ireland Finals get pushed back to September again also got an answer.

QuoteThe stadium hosted a total of six concerts in 2024, with Coldplay playing four nights in the autumn, with Bruce Springsteen and AC/DC performing at the venue earlier in the year.

Related to this, stadium rental income jumped over €5m to a total of €14.2m for 2024. Food, beverage and meetings and events' income reached €24.1m, a jump of €10m.

JPO

If players are unable to catch a ball from a kickout at least sometimes  then they shouldnt be playing gaelic football. Soccer would suit them better where they can talk about " pressing" , strategies" etc.

Lucifer

Quote from: JPO on February 06, 2025, 11:22:23 PMIf players are unable to catch a ball from a kickout at least sometimes  then they shouldnt be playing gaelic football. Soccer would suit them better where they can talk about " pressing" , strategies" etc.
If players cannot stop their opponent catching a ball from a kick out, at least sometimes, then they shouldn't be playing Gaelic Football.

Quote from: Lucifer on February 07, 2025, 11:16:42 AM
Quote from: JPO on February 06, 2025, 11:22:23 PMIf players are unable to catch a ball from a kickout at least sometimes  then they shouldnt be playing gaelic football. Soccer would suit them better where they can talk about " pressing" , strategies" etc.
If players cannot stop their opponent catching a ball from a kick out, at least sometimes, then they shouldn't be playing Gaelic Football.

The devil is in the detail

I see the Ulster league has started.

Anybody been at any of the games? I presume it's with the new rules?

Not really about the football but just wondering how the referees are doing? Not giving out but just wonder how they are coping.

Brendan

Quote from: marty34 on February 09, 2025, 08:49:12 AMI see the Ulster league has started.

Anybody been at any of the games? I presume it's with the new rules?

Not really about the football but just wondering how the referees are doing? Not giving out but just wonder how they are coping.

Watched one this afternoon, 3v3 was completely ignored and I don't blame the ref tbh. Was 1 chatting back incident which was punished in the first half so looks like that is having the desired effect