Author Topic: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification  (Read 57331 times)

BennyCake

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
    • View Profile
Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification
« Reply #510 on: September 26, 2020, 09:35:45 PM »
Interesting one tonight...

A Kingscourt player caught ball above his head cleanly, but man was holding him, and he couldn’t raise his hand in time to signal he was taking the mark. Referee blew him up for overcarrying.

Was that the correct call?

Should a player also be able to shout ‘mark’ in such instances?

PadraicHenryPearse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification
« Reply #511 on: September 26, 2020, 09:47:20 PM »
i didnt see the replay but i believe the pass was from inside the 45.... not sure why it was a free out though.

Rossfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16922
  • Ballaghaderreen CO ROSCOMMON
    • View Profile
    • Roscommon County Board official website
Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification
« Reply #512 on: September 26, 2020, 09:53:26 PM »
McConville corrected himself eventually after a major rant earlier.
Faulkner hadn't much luck with the ref right enough.
I'd imagine the free was for standing still with the ball in his hands.
Still Connacht Champions

BennyCake

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
    • View Profile
Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification
« Reply #513 on: September 26, 2020, 10:35:03 PM »
i didnt see the replay but i believe the pass was from inside the 45.... not sure why it was a free out though.

So if the ball was played from outside the 50... what’s the verdict?

twohands!!!

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
    • View Profile
Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification
« Reply #514 on: September 26, 2020, 10:53:17 PM »
Interesting one tonight...

A Kingscourt player caught ball above his head cleanly, but man was holding him, and he couldn’t raise his hand in time to signal he was taking the mark. Referee blew him up for overcarrying.

Was that the correct call?

Should a player also be able to shout ‘mark’ in such instances?

Yet another addition to the long list of poorly drafted GAA rules.

The current rules say
Quote
The player shall signify to the Referee if he is availing of the free-kick by immediately raising his arm upright and then taking the kick himself from the hands.
That's all there is about a player claiming a mark.

The powers-that-be could have made life easier for everyone by adding a single extra line to the rules.

[In the event that the player is not able to raise his arm upright immediately, he can avail of the mark by calling out "mark"]

BennyCake

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
    • View Profile
Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification
« Reply #515 on: September 26, 2020, 11:12:51 PM »
In a crowded, noisy stadium, he might not be heard calling ‘mark’ though. Also, if another/same opponent has his hands across his mouth, he can’t shout it either.

Maybe he could stamp his foot twice to call a mark.