Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Milltown Row2

Quote from: Smokin Joe on April 06, 2025, 09:38:09 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2025, 09:07:13 PMThe new rules say that a solo and go can be taken within 4 metres of where it was awarded.
The player then can't be tackled within another 4 metres of that spot.
So a player can't be tackled within 8 metres of where they were when the mark is awarded.
Basic rule of thumb for players is if the whistle goes for a mark and play goes on, give the opposition 10 metres.


A mark is not the same as a solo and go. It is 4m from the mark.  Your 8m is correct from a free kick, but not a mark.
[/quote

It's only 8 meters if they take 4 steps (no bounce) and solo, if they solo straight away, then they only have 4 meters
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Smokin Joe

Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2025, 09:48:42 PM
Quote2.5 (a) A free kick, other than a penalty kick or a 45m free kick as prescribed in Rule 2.8, or a free kick awarded for a Mark, may be taken from the hands or from the ground or by means of a Solo and Go.

Quote2.5 (c) Where a Solo and Go is availed of, it must be taken from a position within four metres of where the foul has occurred and must be taken immediately after the free has been awarded and without undue delay unless the referee has stopped play for any purpose such as to allow for attention to be given to an injured player or to deal with a disciplinary issue.


QuoteA player taking a Solo and Go may not be challenged within four metres of the position where the Solo and Go was taken.



So all this means that if a player makes a mark it is effectively a solo and go. OK?

So if a midfielder catches a mark and bounces the ball he can be tackled immediately after that.
But if he solos it then he gets another 4 metres after his solo before he can be tackled.
And if he is tackled before he moves the 4 metres he gets it advanced 50m because it is deemed that he was solo and going but he was tackled before he executed the solo.

Genuine question: I wonder how many players know that bouncing after a mark is treated differently to soloing after a mark?

Lucifer

Quote from: Smokin Joe on April 06, 2025, 10:44:49 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2025, 09:48:42 PM
Quote2.5 (a) A free kick, other than a penalty kick or a 45m free kick as prescribed in Rule 2.8, or a free kick awarded for a Mark, may be taken from the hands or from the ground or by means of a Solo and Go.

Quote2.5 (c) Where a Solo and Go is availed of, it must be taken from a position within four metres of where the foul has occurred and must be taken immediately after the free has been awarded and without undue delay unless the referee has stopped play for any purpose such as to allow for attention to be given to an injured player or to deal with a disciplinary issue.


QuoteA player taking a Solo and Go may not be challenged within four metres of the position where the Solo and Go was taken.



So all this means that if a player makes a mark it is effectively a solo and go. OK?

So if a midfielder catches a mark and bounces the ball he can be tackled immediately after that.
But if he solos it then he gets another 4 metres after his solo before he can be tackled.
And if he is tackled before he moves the 4 metres he gets it advanced 50m because it is deemed that he was solo and going but he was tackled before he executed the solo.

Genuine question: I wonder how many players know that bouncing after a mark is treated differently to soloing after a mark?

Genuine Answer: None. Not one. Because you've misinterpreted the rule. There is no solo & go from a mark.

Milltown Row2

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Saffron_sam20

Was at a game today fella scuffed a free with the wind but it bounced over the bar without a touch. 2pts or I heard ones complaining g that a bounce is 1?

JoG2

Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on April 07, 2025, 12:22:38 AMWas at a game today fella scuffed a free with the wind but it bounced over the bar without a touch. 2pts or I heard ones complaining g that a bounce is 1?

2

theticklemister

Quote from: JoG2 on April 07, 2025, 12:32:43 AM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on April 07, 2025, 12:22:38 AMWas at a game today fella scuffed a free with the wind but it bounced over the bar without a touch. 2pts or I heard ones complaining g that a bounce is 1?

2

Unless touched by another person's is worth 1

GTP

MR2 I am sure you are correct in practice when you wrote "It's only 8 meters if they take 4 steps (no bounce) and solo", but the part of the rule stating the mark "must be taken immediately after the free has been awarded and without undue delay", should rule out anyone taking steps then a solo and go. The steps should be seen as an undue delay and or not immediately taking the solo and go.
I'm pretty convinced I won't understand what is happening on a football field again.

AustinPowers

Houl  on - a player catches the ball   from the kickout, and  if he plays on, nobody can tackle  him for four seconds?

Milltown Row2

Let's just look at the Mark rule from the keepers kick out..

Player collects ball cleanly past the 45, ref automatically blows whistle, the player can put hand up as normal and claim a mark, from that point he must take it as a mark, which is a free as such, or he can continue in play and is afforded 4 steps before he can be challenged, that hasn't changed from his it's introduction.

Here's what's been added or changed, if challenged within the 4 steps it's then moved 50 meters, that takes it to the 20m line at least, he can chose to shoot from the 40 arc and get 2 points or shoot from the 20 and get one, as with the mark he's claimed it but I'm in the dark as to whether if challenged he then can give a team mate the opportunity to shoot or does he have to take it, still learning lol..

Another thing has changed also is that if a mark is claimed and the resulting kick is caught by an attacker inside the 20m line then he also gets a mark, whereas before there was no double mark, now there is.

There is no solo and go in any mark, he doesn't get "8 meters" that is only when a free is given he takes 4 steps, solo's and from that solo he has his extra 4 steps.. this can only happen as cleanly as that if, the player starts his solo from the spot of free, should he be beyond that put he must come back for normal free

Clear as mud!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: AustinPowers on April 07, 2025, 07:00:12 PMHoul  on - a player catches the ball   from the kickout, and  if he plays on, nobody can tackle  him for four seconds?

Was always the case
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Lucifer

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 07:02:04 PMLet's just look at the Mark rule from the keepers kick out..

Player collects ball cleanly past the 45, ref automatically blows whistle, the player can put hand up as normal and claim a mark, from that point he must take it as a mark, which is a free as such, or he can continue in play and is afforded 4 steps before he can be challenged, that hasn't changed from his it's introduction.

Here's what's been added or changed, if challenged within the 4 steps it's then moved 50 meters, that takes it to the 20m line at least, he can chose to shoot from the 40 arc and get 2 points or shoot from the 20 and get one, as with the mark he's claimed it but I'm in the dark as to whether if challenged he then can give a team mate the opportunity to shoot or does he have to take it, still learning lol..

Another thing has changed also is that if a mark is claimed and the resulting kick is caught by an attacker inside the 20m line then he also gets a mark, whereas before there was no double mark, now there is.

There is no solo and go in any mark, he doesn't get "8 meters" that is only when a free is given he takes 4 steps, solo's and from that solo he has his extra 4 steps.. this can only happen as cleanly as that if, the player starts his solo from the spot of free, should he be beyond that put he must come back for normal free

Clear as mud!

The original rule was that when a mark was moved forward then anyone could take it (it has now become a regular free rather than the mark.) I haven't heard this has changed nor would it make any sense to place such a restriction on a team who were just impeded. No idea if this is stated clearly in old or new rules, but that's how it was played previously and I have seen it played that way under the new rules also (i.e. Thompson got a mark in first half and Rogers tackled before the 4 steps and Murphy pointed the subsequent free.)

It didn't help in commentary that Niblock called that scenario incorrectly. He referred to Rogers tackling after a solo and go which is possibly where a lot of this confusion may have arisen now I think of it! FRC should have given commentary teams a crash course, it would help the audience and certainly the more casual observers who are only seeing this in big games on TV.

Milltown Row2

Yeah it's what I've allowed but was questioned on it the other day and I was, hmmm I think it's now a free so allowed free taker to take it. Few other ones which are possibly less beneficial, if a player collects the ball and crosses the halfway line, it's a free from the halfway line, if a players is over 4 meters but not interfering is a free in front of goal?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Lucifer

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 08:33:17 PMYeah it's what I've allowed but was questioned on it the other day and I was, hmmm I think it's now a free so allowed free taker to take it. Few other ones which are possibly less beneficial, if a player collects the ball and crosses the halfway line, it's a free from the halfway line, if a players is over 4 meters but not interfering is a free in front of goal?

Yeah that's my interpretation also.  I think both are sensible amendments to the original rule.  The 4m gives a player a chance to rectify his mistake and in all honesty if he is anywhere near 4m and gets back asap then I'm not sure it'll be picked up that often ... it just gives refs and players a small bit more leeway.