The Ryder Cup 2014 - Gleneagles

Started by laoislad, September 02, 2014, 01:55:10 PM

Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2014, 10:20:08 AM
Ryder Cup,Liverpool v Everton ,All Ireland Final...
If Carlsberg did weekends...

Chicago Bears v. Green Bay Packers.

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: muppet on September 26, 2014, 09:12:51 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 26, 2014, 08:28:30 AM
Quote from: Orior on September 25, 2014, 11:41:57 PM
Bubba/Simpson vs Rose/Stenson - USA Win
Fowler/Walker vs Bjorn/Kaymer - USA Win
Spieth/Reed vs Gallacher/Poulter - USA Win
Bradley/Mickelson vs McIlroy/Garcia - Europe Win

The USA typically win the foursomes but looking at the top and bottom groups I could see 2.5/1.5 (USA) or 2/2 by lunch. It will be interesting to see can Poulter find his Ryder Cup form on demand, again.

I thought the foursomes were on in the morning.  ::)

Disregard any further comments on golf from me.

Home captain's choice.

Rose and Stenson win 5&4

Poulter and Gallacher playing like a couple of high handicappers.  6 down after 11.

Anyone here ever play a fourball? I'm wondering what the strategy would be. Would the first lad try and hammer it as far down the fairway/land it as close to the hole as possible, or would more subtlety be required?

Quote from: deiseach on September 26, 2014, 11:46:25 AM
Anyone here ever play a fourball? I'm wondering what the strategy would be. Would the first lad try and hammer it as far down the fairway/land it as close to the hole as possible, or would more subtlety be required?

I know feck all about this deiseach but I'll have a go!  The strategy should be to keep both players "in the hole" i.e. in with a chance??  If one hits a decent shot anyway close to the flag then the other boy can have a rip at it but they should be giving themselves as much chance as possible.  Bernard Gallacher saying that his nephew has been out of the hole (not in contention too many times).

Sidney

An absolute farce that Luke Donald is sitting at home while Stephen Gallacher hacks his way around Gleneagles. Poor captaincy from McGinley already costing Europe.

Foursomes:

1.15pm: Jamie Donaldson and Lee Westwood v Jim Furyk and Matt Kuchar
1.30pm: Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson v Hunter Mahan and Zach Johnson
1.45pm: Rory McIlroy and Sergio Garcia v Jimmy Walker and Rickie Fowler
2pm: Victor Dubuisson and Graeme McDowell v Phil Mickelson and Keegan Bradley

Was that Jim McGuinness standing behind Garcia on that last shot

That looked fierce like Jimmy McGuinness behind Sergio after he just hit that shot out of the fairway rough there!

What we have learned this morning - Poulter is shite

Quote from: Orior on September 26, 2014, 12:48:49 PM

Poulter might improve tomorrow.

But I suspect one or both of himself and Gallacher will be at the bottom of the order on Sunday.

Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2014, 12:48:08 PM

I believe the Donegal squad is over there.

Bjorn and Kaymer lose 2 of the last 3 holes to finish A/S.

Quote from: AQMP on September 26, 2014, 12:50:25 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2014, 12:48:08 PM

I believe the Donegal squad is over there.
They are all meeting up with Rory tomorrow to watch the Hurling.

Quote from: muppet on September 26, 2014, 12:49:57 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 26, 2014, 12:48:49 PM

Poulter might improve tomorrow.

But I suspect one or both of himself and Gallacher will be at the bottom of the order on Sunday.

Watched a bit of it there from the front 9... from what I can see only for Poulter playing half decent it would have been 10 & 8! Gallacher missed every fairway and green going!

Poulter couldn't have kept bailing him out all the time it's just not possible!