Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

andunabu

Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 04, 2007, 05:30:04 PM
Quote from: Leo on December 04, 2007, 05:16:14 PM
Neil collins may be fresh in your mind but McKay was definitely better but Slim Donnan was best.

Although I dont remember McKay playing, I have heard many stories so I cannot really make a comment on him, but I clearly remember both Pat Donnan and Neil Collins and Collins was a better keeper in every way. I said in an earlier post that Collins will be mostly remembered for that penalty save, although he made many excellent saves besides that one, for me Donnan will only be remembered for that goal in `86.
Neil Collins has to be the all time Down No. 1.

Sorry lads, couldnt get logged on for ages. 

Have to totally disagree.  Collins was an excellent but also the luckiest keeper in that era.  In my opinion the 4 best goalies in the late 80s early 90s were Neil Patterson (Bosco), Eamonn Connolly (Warrenpoint) Paddy Kielty (Dundrum),& Declan Murdock (Burren).  All agile, great shot stoppers and above all super kick outs with direction.  Collins' kickouts weren't in their league.  I watched 91 final before the Rugby World Cup final on TG4, some of the kickouts weren't good. :o

PS I am not An Duin Abu (i'm the original)

andunabu

Just read the other posts.  Terrible news about Brendan McCann.  May he rest in peace.

Leo

Quote from: An Duin Abu on December 10, 2007, 06:13:53 PM
. From the point of view of accountability if that is where you are angling at I can only say that I have to trust the officers of the County Board to do what they were/are elected to do and I certainly have no evidence of any wrong doings. Apart from viewing the audited accounts like every one else I cannot see what other form of transparency can be provided, if we elect these people to do a job then let them get on with it.

No-one has suggested any wrongdoing but everyone knows that the account summary presented at convention does not go into the simple detail of the following:
How many clubs have paid?
How much has each paid?
Were these amounts paid off the debt upon recipt?
What was the debt 5 years ago?
What is it today?

I cant get any of this info from my club.
Fierce tame altogether

An Duin Abu

Point taken Leo. I can only advise you again to push for clarity through your club if you feel it necessary. I know from previous meetings and conventions etc that Pairc Esler seemed to be a bottomless pit at times. To be fair to the officers concerned it was probably a case of income being offsett against liabilities which would have left it near impossible to break it down in the way that you require. I firmly believe that the powers that be were always aware of who the 'defaulters' were and they tried to save them the embarrassment of being named. However as I said in a previous post they were named at a county board meeting, I'll not name them on this site but if you speak to your delegate they can tell you who they are. They will also be able to tell you what sanctions were discussed if these clubs continued to default but that is till to be determined as the matter is ongoing and should be reported back to the first county board meeting in the new year. What I can say is that with the sale of Bryansford pending clubs will no longer be liable for this contribution and that the Pairc Esler debt will be paid off once and for all. There may even be a chance of a cash back windfall to all those clubs who did pay!
ps: The long and the short of it really is that some clubs could not afford it, how that compensated those who did struggle to pay however I don't know...?

southdown

Whats the latest with the county squad?

Has it been cut ahead of the McKenna Cup?  Surely it will have as some of the players I have heard were involved are very ordinary footballers IMHO.

Is La Manga still going ahead?

Leo

Quote from: An Duin Abu on December 12, 2007, 05:44:04 PM
. I firmly believe that the powers that be were always aware of who the 'defaulters' were and they tried to save them the embarrassment of being named. However as I said in a previous post they were named at a county board meeting, I'll not name them on this site but if you speak to your delegate they can tell you who they are.

To be fair An Duin I am not concerned with a witch-hunt against defaulters but everyone is enitiled to knowledge for why would anyone continue to contribute to paying off a debt if the money is being "rounded off" and not used for that purpose. At leastthis time round Club Down apparently made sure that all money received for this phase of Pairc Esler went to that project and clearly they had ggod reason for insisting it be done their way. We all want to move on - but with knowledge and not in ignorance.
Fierce tame altogether

goldenyears

stephen kearney is a huge boost for saval for next season; a quality player that will now shine at the right level.

rumours abound re: managers....

rostrevor have spoken to wee james and cathal o'rourke, both turned them down i hear

paddy is not taking the burren job.

bridge have the same team back

annaclone did the dirt on cathal murray; new manager rang him to tell him he was offered the job!

jerome johnston to take drumgath

anything else happening?

T O Hare

lads would any of yous have the down v galway 1968 semi final.. i cant get it anywhere
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

cloneman

Quote from: goldenyears on December 13, 2007, 10:18:56 AM
stephen kearney is a huge boost for saval for next season; a quality player that will now shine at the right level.

rostrevor have spoken to wee james and cathal o'rourke, both turned them down i hear

annaclone did the dirt on cathal murray; new manager rang him to tell him he was offered the job!

anything else happening?

This is a rumour that has been doing the rounds latley but I can assure you that Annaclone did not do the dirt on Cathal Murray.  It was decided at committee level that we needed a change and Cathal was informed of this before anyone else was approached. 
Our new manager is now Steven McVeigh which should be a very good appointment.

Flat Hedgehog

Brendan McCann was a very active member of the Carryduff club and will be well known to those on this board involved in juvenile football. And hurling. RIP
Knowledge only brings fear.

Pipe bomb is found at GAA ground 

A pipe bomb has been found at a GAA ground in County Down.
It was discovered during an overnight alert at the ground on the Ballela Road outside Banbridge.

Police have described the device as "viable" and it has now been removed by the Army.

The alert began at about 2100 GMT on Wednesday after a telephone warning. A male caller said a device had been left at the ground.

SDLP assembly member Dolores Kelly said the incident was despicable.

"Children and young people often go to the playing field for a kick around or a puck, and could have very easily come across this device with disastrous consequences.

"The entire community will strongly condemn this incident, and those responsible must desist in this type of threatening attack on a community facility," she said.

Police have appealed for anyone who saw any suspicious activity in the area on Wednesday evening to contact them.

>:( >:(
words fail me on this one

spiritof91and94

Down Secretary rang all clubs late last night to pass on a PSNI warning that all clubs need to be vigilant following the Ballela incident.

goldenyears

cloneman that was a bit naughty of me i know, but was passing on what i had heard. story has got out that players had a meeting with new manager before even cathal murray knew he was gone....and supposedly that came from cathal murray! but i know how these things get completely distorted..

will be interested to see how s mcveigh goes. i think he has been slightly lucky with the teams/players he has had in recent years. much like jody gormley getting lucky winning a macrory, then ending up in the antrim job. there is no doubt tho that annaclone should be top 4 for the entire year next year in div2

RONAN

Following a request by the family of the late Emon Coleman, a special day of celebration to mark the life of the man himself is currently been organised for Saturday 7th June 2008, the first anniverasry of his death. On the day there will be a game between Derrys 93 All Ireland winning team and an Irish select of past and present players who played for and against Eamon.

Later in the evening an Informal Dinner will take place in a specialised marquee on the premises of St Treas Ballymaguigan Co Derry, which of course was Eamons home club. Cost of this event is £1000 per table, but in the event that you may not wish to avail of a table a donation of any kind would be very much appreciated.

The charities being supported which were close to Eamon are: Marie Curie Cancer, GOAL, Adoption UK, SMA and Foyle Hospice.

To book a table or make a voluntary contribution you can contact myself on 07875 400 839 or email me on: ronan@moltools.co.uk, or contact Jim Crozier on 07841100141 or email: jimgcrozier@msn.com. Jims address is 246 Shore Road, Magherafelt, Co Derry, BT45 6LH.

Any contributions via cheque can be made out to "Eamon Coleman Memorial Fund"

Many thanks.

spiritof91and94

Quote from: cloneman on December 13, 2007, 09:45:54 PM
Quote from: goldenyears on December 13, 2007, 10:18:56 AM

anything else happening?

This is a rumour that has been doing the rounds latley but I can assure you that Annaclone did not do the dirt on Cathal Murray.  It was decided at committee level that we needed a change and Cathal was informed of this before anyone else was approached. 
Our new manager is now Steven McVeigh which should be a very good appointment.

Enda Kilpatrick and Terry McCann are taking Burren apparently - a very expensive package indeed - it is worse than England getting Cappello all these outside Managers!!! Are there not enough in Down to take these teams? Donnelly didnt exactly take the Bridge much further than Mickey!