Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Mourne Rover

The commentator on Cork's 103 FM said it was a goalkeeping mistake. As we saw from the TG4 coverage tonight, it was actually the corner back who slipped and give up possession for the second goal. We know that McVeigh is a top class keeper, but he does not often vary his kick-outs when our midfield goes through one of its periodic struggles. However, it was clear from the tv footage that our full back and half back lines were just as full of gaps as they were in our two games against Cork last year.

Ambrose's fitness problems a full 18 months after his cruciate injury are a huge concern as we could really be doing with him against Kerry. Gordon will almost certainly switch to full back to mark big Donaghy, and there is a strong case for bringing King back at full forward to take the pressure off Benny. That would probably leave a midfield of Turley and McArdle, so a third physically strong player at wing half forward would be important for us in what will be a vital match.

Leo

Fierce tame altogether

NP 76

On the one day you needed big men both Gough and Ambrose were sitting at home listening to it in Destination Newry !!

southdown

Sounds like there was a disagreement, anyone shed any more llight?

extra time

dont know about gough, but ambrose was told in the carrickdale just before setting off to cork that he wasent in the match panel.

Mid Down Gael

Quote from: extra time on February 14, 2012, 11:46:04 AM
dont know about gough, but ambrose was told in the carrickdale just before setting off to cork that he wasent in the match panel.

So the management leave two natural midfielders at home and secect Aidan Brannigan at 9 who has been an out and our defender since starting with Kilcoo under 8s over 2 decades ago and has never played midfield at any level. Baffling.
Serious year ahead and as i posted at the turn of the year, i believe we will struggle big time. The 10 or so players from last years squad are serious losses and the players that have came in by and large bar a few are not up to it at county level.
Darren OHagan has also opted out to add to the list of absentees of McComiskey, Murtagh, Big Pete, Colgan, 2 Clarkes, Mooney, Alder, Murphy while Rafferty and Rooney seem a long way of a return. Thats a lot of talent that we simply have not replacements for.

Mourne Rover

It would be good to hear something definitive about Ambrose's absence in Cork, but it's pretty clear that he is struggling to get back to the level of fitness required. He was replaced in the two McKenna Cup games he started, even though the pace was fairly sedate, and did not feature when it got more serious against Derry in the semi final.  He did not look himself when he appeared for the last quarter of the opening league game against Donegal and he was not involved at all last Sunday. It is quite possible that he needs  a fair amount of recovery time between games, and taking him all the way to Cork to give him a late run out may not have been sensible. He remains a vital player for us, and we all want to see him back at his best well before the championship.

Gough is a different case, as, although he displayed some promise in the McKenna Cup, he is probably a year away from being a championship prospect. Many Down fans will share MDG's surprise over the placement of Brannigan in and around midfield, but very few of the absentees he lists can be blamed on our management.

Murphy was out of sorts when he got his chance in the qualifiers last summer, while Murtagh looked reasonable in the league but made little impact in the championship. Alder is a decent keeper but is up against strong rivals, while McComiskey will be expected to return before long. Fitpatrick, Colgan, Mooney and Martin Clarke are all unavailable down under. John Clarke was treated harshly last summer, but may have been coming to the end of his county career anyway. Hopefully, O'Hagan, Rafferty and Rooney will all be back when fully fit.

here comes 6

In a nutshell we are in trouble. What a different 18 months makes!  Instead of pushing on we are progressively moving back very quickly.  Ive read and listened to what people have had to say but how are we going to win anything with Anton McArdle Owen Costello Damiam Turley The Branigan Brothers Conor Laverty.  Ialso think that Daniel mccartan and Breandan MeVeigh have their best days behind. Gordan doesnt care and Coulter is so frustrated at whats going on.

This might sound strong buti ts time for Aidan o'rourke (we all know hes not their for the good of Down football) till go and for Down to go back and play football the Down way

dundrumite

dodgy umpire

Quote from: here comes 6 on February 14, 2012, 11:04:05 PM
In a nutshell we are in trouble. What a different 18 months makes!  Instead of pushing on we are progressively moving back very quickly.  Ive read and listened to what people have had to say but how are we going to win anything with Anton McArdle Owen Costello Damiam Turley The Branigan Brothers Conor Laverty.  Ialso think that Daniel mccartan and Breandan MeVeigh have their best days behind. Gordan doesnt care and Coulter is so frustrated at whats going on.

This might sound strong buti ts time for Aidan o'rourke (we all know hes not their for the good of Down football) till go and for Down to go back and play football the Down way

Put away the laptop and join the circus
The Boys in Red and Black are back

here comes 6

Quote from: dodgy umpire on February 15, 2012, 06:20:01 AM
Quote from: here comes 6 on February 14, 2012, 11:04:05 PM

Put away the laptop and join the circus

There is the problem right their.  When people dont like what they hear they brush/laugh it off.

Brick Tamlin

Do ye know what really sickens my shite something shockin?
The well-coined phrase "The Down Way".
Forgive me, but what a big fuckin hape of steaming horse shit i never heard the likes of.
Ive only noticed it creeping its way into the media this last 4/5 years or so.
WHO THE F**K IS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT.WHAT DOES IT MEAN. SILLY ROMANTIC NOTION THAT WE ARE THE ONLY COUNTY IN IRELAND TO PLAY THE GAME AS IT SHOULD BE.

supersub

I see dan is lined out at midfield for ulster. Hopefully he can put in a good performance and stay there for down. McVeigh Hughes Poland and Coulter also to start

Brick, unfortunately there is a romantic notion rampant in our county that there is a "Down way", which seems to involve beating the opposition by scoring them off the park, through an all out attacking game revolving around 6 forwards who play their positions.

I say unfortunately, because the only way in hell this "way" has a chance in the modern game is if you happen to have three Eoin Cadogans in your full back line i.e. three players who can have the attributes to out pace, out last, out muscle, out field and out think top-class inter county forwards. For the Down "way" leaves gaps at the back, and quality forwards love gaps.

Even then I don't see it working, but it's all irrelevant as Down don't even have one player of this ilk, or genuinely close to this ilk. If anything, the current Down team needs 6 defenders who play their position, and forwards coming back to help at every opportunity. Not the other way around.

Attack is the best form of defence  Wobbler. When Half Forwards retreat to help out defence, they bring attacking Half Backs with them, into scoring positions.