Donegal v Mayo NFL Final

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, April 15, 2007, 06:12:48 PM

redhandluke

Good writeup in the Mayo blog, positive spin before the U21 and Senior games made me laugh as follows :

Before U21 game on Sat : We should win today and maybe tomorrow too  :(
Before Senior game on Sun : U21s lose but we can still win today  :(
After Senior game : déjà-vu all over again  ???

Still a good blog though

MrC

What a day!!!! To hear 'The Hills' being blasted out in Croker and see the green and gold faithful going mental was something really special. Delighted for Brian McIver and his backroom team as well as the players. Particularly pleased for the likes of Sweeney, Roper and Michael Hegarty. 'Eddie' came in yesterday and showed his worth with a fantastic score and wee Ropes played likes a tiger. What a day too for Mickey Hegs to cap off his 100th appearance for Donegal!!

Three super scores to win it for us after looking like we might just throw it away yet again. Kavanagh, Eamon McGee and Eddie's points were sublime.

Was in the Abbey last night - mad craic in there. Place was jam packed. Was a great turnout to welcome them back home.

Away now for a pint!!!  8)

Tir Chonaill Abu!
'Sam's For The Hills' - Anthony Molloy, 20th September 1992

MrC

QuoteYou may talk about Atlantis, how it's lost beneath the sea
Or the grave of the unknown soldier and the cry of the old banshee
Who was the man in the iron mask, was Jack the ripper set free?
But ask them all where's Donegal, and it's still a mystery

And if I could I'd build a wall around old Donegal
The north and south to keep them out, my god I'd build it tall
Casinoes, chicken ranches, I'd legalize them all
We'd have our own Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal
Yeah!! Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal

Lay by clubs and all night pubs, black jack and roulette
Mel Gibson, Brigitte Nilsen, Mike Tyson having a bet (bite)
Iniseoghain would then be known for it's multi-millionaires
Where Donald Trump would have a chunk to live in solitaire

To stand on top of fairy hill would give me such a thrill
I've heard them say in Dublin there's gold in them there hills
So don't despair, 'cos if you dare, the answer lies with me
There's a wall that's steep and it's going cheap somewhere in Germany

I see our oul mate bannon was up to his oul tricks again yesterday, making up new rules. nallon has the ball in midfield and rounds his marker and about to drive it inside. he's pulled by the jersey but tears on a few steps and miscues his kick. whats bannon's verdict? free where the ball lands!

Maximus Marillius

Great to see Donegal finally break there losing final streak. Enjoyed the game, the final three points were superb coming at the stage they did. Donegal are a well organised team now, with a strong panel. A real big test is coming in a short time, and boy do they owe it to themselves to put one over Armagh. Well done Mc Ivor

WJP11

Thanks for the comments on the blog, Redhandluke.  Part and parcel of being a Mayo supporter is to max out on optimism in advance, with crushing reality dawning after the event! I did think we had a good chance in advance of winning both games and while Laois pulled away easy enough from us in the U21s (after a portly ref from your part of the world had done his worst!) we had more than enough ball to win yesterday's final.  The deja vu reference was both to failure (once again) in a final and losing to Donegal by three points (again).

aodhruadh

Hey Mr C

Did the team come back to the Abbey with the cup last night? Have they stopped drinking yet ?

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on April 23, 2007, 10:55:20 AM
First of all congrats to Donegal, I thought you were just about worth the win yesterday. The break came at the right time for you and you never looked back after that. My initial reaction after the game was things aren't looking too good for us for the summer. Despite what people say, the result wasn't as important to us as it was to Donegal. We won the league in 2001 so we don't crave that cup too much, what was important was a performance and that's what disappointed me. We had far too many players who either underperformed or else aren't good enough. Ger Brady was shocking yesterday, played well below his best even though I don't think his best is good enough anyway at this level, certainly not at CHF. What was encouraging from a Mayo point of view is the way we gave supposed All-Ireland contenders a damn good game with a 2nd/3rd string midfield, no Ciaran Mc (please please get fit), a full back who had to go off after 20 mins, captain who wasn't fit to start and then there is T Mort who would have been useful on a day like yesterday. Donegal weren't far off full pelt bar Devenney so I'm struggling to see how they are genuine All-Ireland contenders at this stage given how they performed against a depleted Mayo team. As for Mayo players ratings, I thought Andy Moran was outstanding, I counted 4 different Donegal backs who had a go at marking him and none could do it. K Higgins was generally good and tried hard all day, Devenney once again is getting harshly critcised, thought he looked the part yesterday, he was the only half back that performed on the day. Jimmy Nallen rolled back the years and had a fine hour until he tired, Heaney was pretty good too, and both gave us a better platform at midfield than I was originally expecting, that was thanks also to Pat Harte who won a lot of ball and broke everything down to Devenney. That was pretty much it though, Conroy was anonymous..... again, Dillon couldn't keep his feet, what studs was the lad wearing?? G Brady, nightmare! All in all we've been getting away with it the last few weeks, especially against Galway last week and finally it caught up with us when we bumped into the best team in the league. Maybe I'm wrong about Donegal, they might have an All-Ireland in them but they have an awful lot of improving to do.
Hard to see an All-Ireland in that Mayo team but if we get all our players back, and we will need all of them, who knows we'll probably be in the shake up again. Roll on Galway in a few weeks time, that's when it starts!

Would have to agree with everything you say; Keith Higgins was solid all day, Andy Moran outstanding, Enda Devenney a player who i have critisied in the past was our best half back today and showed what he has to offer,long may it continue. James Nallen, what can be said about this man, he looked fitter than some of the younger lads, Heaney was solid and make one great block in the second half and that shoulder...the poor lad from Donegal! On the other hand Conor Mortimor excellent with the frees in the main but goes to ground too easily and the refs have coped on to this...also bring back Trevor at least then Conor might pass it to someone!! Ger Brady again proved he is not up to this standard,3 balls were turned over by Donegal whille Ger was in possesion and two scores were got by them on the quick counter attack. He didnt tackle one back coming out of defence yet again,missed a goal and his kicking style makes it to easy to block down.Roll on Galway.....

Msgr. Horan

In fairness, C Mort did pass to Harte yesterday for his point.

The difference in the game, Donegal brought 3 fellas off the bench who scored points when the fat was in the fire. Mayo didnt.

Ahh jezuz my heads throbbing..!!!  :-\ 8) ;)

MrC

Quote from: aodhruadh on April 23, 2007, 02:24:40 PM
Hey Mr C

Did the team come back to the Abbey with the cup last night? Have they stopped drinking yet ?

Yeah there was a couple of thousand to greet them at the square in Donegal Town. Great night was had by all. Men like Damien Diver, Shane Carr and Ray Sweeney were all in attendance and Tir Chonaill greats like Tony Boyle in savouring the atmosphere. Players have couple days off and then it's time to focus on Armagh!!!

Fishead_Sam

GalwaySham

Mayo Fans,

What did ye think of Nallen last sunday? I didnt think he played well at all but was talking to a few people who were very impressed with him

Redgreenery

Nallen played as well as he could and he isnt expected to perform as well as he does because of the years he has put on, so for his age I'd have said he played as well as he could which is very impressive.

dodo

Quote from: Redgreenery on April 24, 2007, 09:45:01 PM
Nallen played as well as he could and he isnt expected to perform as well as he does because of the years he has put on, so for his age I'd have said he played as well as he could which is very impressive.

Had to read this a few times to make sense (well you know what I mean) of it. Punctuation please.