Wicklow v Offaly AIQ R1

Started by fearglasmor, June 10, 2014, 08:31:15 PM

fearglasmor

What can ya say ?

Whats the point.............

There is a point for us fear. I'm no fan of the qualifiers but when you're in them you have to make the best of them, and our lads need a championship win. It will be tough in aughrim but if we can get a win it will help our young lads a bit.

They'll ate yis without salt.  Shudder.

They'll do that anyway. The game might be closer.

Has any county had as many home games in the qualifiers as Wicklow?

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2014, 03:12:56 PM
Have any Counties got a worse record in them? Laythrum? Waterford? Carlow?

Quote from: Rossfan on June 11, 2014, 03:28:55 PM

Offaly? Our record in qualifiers is brutal.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 11, 2014, 03:31:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 11, 2014, 03:28:55 PM

Offaly? Our record in qualifiers is brutal.

Wicklow's record is not too bad is it?

Since 2009 this will be Wicklow's 12th Qualifier game - they have won 5 drawn 1 and lost 5 previously. This will be there 7th qualifier game at home, they have play 4 away from home and one at a neutral venue.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2014, 03:53:03 PM
Since 2009 this will be Wicklow's 12th Qualifier game - they have won 5 drawn 1 and lost 5 previously. This will be there 7th qualifier game at home, they have play 4 away from home and one at a neutral venue.

And just to contrast that Kildare have played 5/17 at home since 2008.

Offaly's qualifier record

2001 - v Louth in Navan .Lost.
2002 - v Limerick in Limerick. Lost.
2003 - v Clare in Ennis. Won. v London in Tullamore. Won. v Roscommon in Mullingar. Lost.
2004 - v Kildare in Newbridge. Won. v Wexford in Wexford Park. Lost.
2005 - v Carlow in Carlow. Lost.
2006 - v Laois in Portlaoise. Lost.
2007 - Not allowed enter.
2008 - v Down in Tullamore. Murdered.
2009 - v Wexford in Wexford. Lost.
2010 - v Clare in Tullamore. Won. v Waterford in Tullamore. Won. v Down in Tullamore. Lost.
2011 - v Monaghan in Tullamore. Won. v Limerick in Limerick. Lost.
2012 - v Tipperary in Thurles. Lost.
2013 - v Tyrone. In tullamore. Massacred.

So.
Total. Played 18. Won 6. Lost 12.
Home. Played 7. Won 4. Lost 3.
Away. Played 9. Won 2 Lost 7.
Neutral. Played 2. Won 0 Lost 2.

The Biff

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 11, 2014, 04:16:30 PM
Offaly's qualifier record

Total. Played 18. Won 6. Lost 12.
Home. Played 7. Won 4. Lost 3.
Away. Played 9. Won 2 Lost 7.
Neutral. Played 2. Won 0 Lost 2.
Now you can see why the OP said "What's the point?"

AZ, that's an awful lot of bad statistics that you've dug up about our Faithful County.  But sure this year's draw could have been a lot worse for us.  There would be little more shame if we were to lose in Aughrim than how we are already shamed (no disrespect to Longford). We probably have less expectation now than before that match. So it is as close to "nothing to lose" as we can get.

That's why we're gonna win by 2 points.  Woohoo!   :o
Never argue with a fool; He'll bring you down to his level and then beat you on experience.

Ah yeah, but it's there to be played, so there's always a point.

Our record is dire, but there are a few good performances there too in fairness. Monaghan in 2011 was a good win, as was Kildare back in the blood sub controversy. (I think that was that game). That next game in Wexford was very disheartening. The losses away to Limerick and Carlow were low points as well.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 11, 2014, 05:02:51 PM
Ah yeah, but it's there to be played, so there's always a point.

Our record is dire, but there are a few good performances there too in fairness. Monaghan in 2011 was a good win, as was Kildare back in the blood sub controversy. (I think that was that game). That next game in Wexford was very disheartening. The losses away to Limerick and Carlow were low points as well.

Nope 2006 was the blood sub. 2004 was when Kildare unleashed the machine that was Willie Heffernan for the first time.

I genuinely amn't saying it with any malice but the Offaly team we met in the league was incredibly unfit. You see teams that aren't talented but at least are committed and work hard.

Offaly looked like a rabble that assembled for a pub soccer league game. There seems to be so many basic things wrong that surely any manager (not even a good one) could at least improve their fitness.

Even at our lowest ebbs we at least had a core of lads that put everything of themselves into the team, I'm really saddened that a county with as good a historical record as Offaly are being plagued by such a lack of effort. The players won't always be there but the effort not being there is unforgivable.